We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bliss!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“bliss!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, infact we got married here!! It is luxurious and homely with amazing staff. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated and spotless. The junior suites are total luxury with Tvs at the end of the bed, in the bathroom and living area. Its most relaxing to sit back by the fire in the living area. Food in the dining room for both dinner and breakfast is delicious, with the fire blazing and a pianist playing in the background. The bar and lobby areas are cosy and welcoming. The spa, swimming pool and outdoor hot tub are a real treat. Above all its the staff that make this hotel. They are extremely friendly and helpful, this is the case from the owner, managers and to the other staff. The hotel is located in a quiet area in the centre of killarney, therefore the town and national park is on your doorstep and the beautiful sights of killarney are just a short drive or cycle away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!! and plan on returning many more times.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    137
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
322
663
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The Killarney Park is a fabulous hotel,ideal for a special occasions or for those who are seeking some genuine Irish hospitality and sheer relaxation.

Location

The hotel is centrally located a few minutes walk from the town centre & national park although you wouldn't be able to tell from inside the hotel as many rooms face out onto a quiet green area.

Room

Extremely comfortable & spacious room. Our room had an area where we could lay out and watch TV on a couch, a DVD player complete with DVD library available at reception, a bath and a powerful shower (separate) & a door which blocked the bedroom from the corridor so as no noise could be heard at any time. The room had in built American plug adaptors as well for those travelling from the US. The toiletries provided were nicer than usual,even for a hotel in this category. Exceptional cleaning staff & a friendly lady who would call around mid afternoon offering a turn down service / complimentary waters etc.

Food

The breakfast is made to order exactly how you would like. If you're not feeling like a traditional fry on any given day there are pancakes, smoked salmon, bagels etc. The service was impeccable: efficient & very friendly. We also ate dinner at the park restaurant which boasts a great selection of wines & a varied traditional menu (steaks,fish,venison,rack of lamb etc). The food was really excellent with,yet again, the most welcoming & friendly service. The maître d even remembered our name throughout our entire stay. Nice touch.

Facilities

Every public bathroom boasts listerene, face wipes, hair spray etc. The pool & spa area were quiet,well managed & very relaxing. The bar was quiet in the evenings however the staff were polite & willing to make any drink you could think of. The room service menu is good and includes a movie experience package where you can order popcorn,chocolate, soft drinks etc to your room if you are watching a movie. The big open fires located all around the hotel are also most welcoming.

Overall - great location, well above average staff, spacious & comfortable rooms, relaxing spa and five star food made for an experience we certainly want to repeat.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The 9 members of our party were well looked after during our 3 day stay and enjoyed all the hotel had to offer.,Reasonably priced great location and excellently trained staff well done to all. At your service D & T.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMonkiesDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were back again for our third visit to the hotel between Christmas and the New Year. Once again, everything was excellent, great room, a suite with couch, separate t.v. and gas fire, it opened on to a small balcony. We eat in the hotel two nights, great dinner served at a nice pace and the staff so attentive. Breakfasts are teriffic, everything freshly cooked and the wonderful buffet of juices, fruits and breads are difficult to pick from. We eat down town the third night and went to Foleys restaurant (which I have reviewed separately). Again, this is a first class hotel with lovely friendly and professional staff. We will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0yp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just returned from having spent 2 nights in Killarney in a Junior suite. On arrival we had a few issues with the fire in our room and the room was icy cold. I was disappointed as it was a very special birthday weekend but we eventually warmed the room up and had a drink in the foyer. The foyer area was a little chilly too, I think given that the hotel was closed until 27th it might have meant the heating wasn't on? Anyway from that point onwards we had a wonderful experience, the junior suite is roomy, luxurious and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and spacious. The food in the restaurant was tasty and the menu varied, the service was excellent. Breakfast was great, a great layout meant that the buffet was placed in a separate area from the tables so you didn't feel there were people wandering all over the room. A very relaxed atmosphere indeed, the service at breakfast was excellent also. It was served until 11am too which lent itself the the very pampering feel to the weekend. Check in was friendly and efficient. The housekeeping staff were extremely friendly. The soundproofing was excellent, there was no noise from lift shafts or people walking in the corridor and we couldn't hear the bar or outside noise - a rare thing for me to compliment in an Irish hotel.

A couple of very small things that might improve...
-we arrived for our dinner reservation but our table was not ready. No problem for us, we were asked to wait in the foyer but we were there at least 20 mins and I felt we could have been given a wine menu and our wine brought out to us or been offered a pre dinner drink. We felt we had been forgotten about and we went in to the restaurant and asked for a wine list. Note the manager did not appear to be there that night
- there are no hooks in the bathoom for robes or towels
- it was pretty miserable to arrive on a cold winter evening to a freezing cold room. the fire didn't work (batteries) and the radiators were turned off
- the outdoor hot tub was not turned on while we were there and so it was too cold to get into. By the time it had heated up we had finished in the pool area. We had been looking forward to sitting in it!
- The pool and jacuzzi area doesn't feel very luxurious, there are no hooks for robes and very few loungers/places to sit - take note of places like sheraton fota Island resort or agahdoe which seem much more relaxing to visit and are also 5 star (the pool guy however was very friendly and nice)

I would definitely go back to the Killarney park hotel though and would recommend it also.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardigan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH-Kerry, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear the you found the hotel a little chilly on arrival and we will certainly take note of that. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, especially our late breakfast, it is nice to not have to rise early when your away for a break and give guests a chance for a little more “me time”.

Thank you for your honest review of the improvements that you feel we could make here, we will certainly do our very best to address these issues to prevent them happening again.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back here at The Killarney Park Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O’Shea,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Had the wonderful company of great friends, Christmas ambience, warm and welcoming staff, delicious food what better way to spend an evening ... Love it every time :-) we dined in the bar comfortable surroundings relaxed atmosphere hard to leave its like a home from home ... Well done !!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maroconn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH-Kerry, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel. We really appreciate all guest reviews that we get.

I am delighted that you were able to soak up a bit of the Christmas atmosphere here this year, we do our utmost to create a beautiful Christmas atmosphere around the hotel. We pride ourselves on being a "home away from home" for people and I am delighted that you were able to feel comfortable in the hotel and experience this feeling.

We look forward to welcoming you back here at The Killarney Park Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Killarney has many, many hotel choices but there is still only one clear winner: The Killarney Park! The rooms, service, meals, atmosphere, etc are all top notch. Cannot think of anything they can do better! We hosted a business party and they did everything just right ... such a fantastic team of professionals. Someday I will return with my family and introduce them to my favorite Killarney hotel!

Room Tip: My room was perfect ... loved the small touches like the fireplace and the pop up TV at the foot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH-Kerry, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel. We really appreciate your kind comments about your stay here and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments will be passed onto our staff here an no doubt they will be met with great appreciation from them. We do our best each day to meet all of our guests needs and ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay.

I hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back here to The Killarney Park Hotel where you will be able to really relax and enjoy all that the hotel and town has to offer.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Property: The Killarney Park Hotel
Address: | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing