We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Killarney Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I spent three days here, in January, with my mother. We were given two large rooms and were made welcome from the moment we stepped out of our car. Sitting in the extensive lounge area with the roaring fires was a pleasure and we also enjoyed the breakfast which was very well prepared.

I have stayed in 5 star hotels throughout the world and many of them could learn from the service we received here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    133
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
285
614
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This wonderful five star hotel is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World group that gives you an idea of its standing,

We have been visiting this hotel for about ten years, and usually make two yearly visits. It really is a wonderful spot. Winter time is especially nice as the hotel has roaring open fires in the lobby area and in the dining room. Ask for a table by the wall if you wish to avoid over heating at the dinner / breakfast table!!!

If you book a Junior Suite there are two interior design styles available. Some are filled with beautiful antique furniture and many look out on to the drive into the hotel. In December the Christmas trees are up outside and inside the hotel. From our Suite we could look out and see the twinkling lights of the trees as we sat beside our fire place with gas fire. Wonderful!! The other suites are very contempoary, brillant also. Jacuzzi bath with T.V. in the bathroom. Small balcony and views out over the hotes extensive grounds modern gas fires also.


The standard of the food is of the highest calibre. The breakfast will set you up for the day. Wonderful fresh fruits, juices and even shot glasses of prune or carrot juice on the buffet tables. The cooked breakfast is lovely and served to your table. Service is of the highest order and nothing is too much trouble. Dinner is a must but do take plenty of exercise in the meanwhile!!! The Chief has daily specials and you have a wide choice of meats and fish to select from. Tip if you do not like the soup option inquire what is being served in the Bar and if you rather that not a problem. Wine list good average price for an Italian white would be about thirty euro.

Do check out the pool and Canadian Tub when there. Early morning the best time. We usually aim for 8.30 ish and have had the pool to ourselves!! Also sit in the outdoor Canadian Tub and watch the sun rise it is really special.

Enjoy when you get there. One tip aim for a time outside of the summer peak. Room prices at their highest then, double December / Easter rates. Also note if you do book on-line and need to cancel you will not get your deposit back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsrob26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Killarney Park Hotel is right in the town of Killarney and therefore easy walk to town, park, shopping and restaurants. It is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff. Our room was very spacious!!!! I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on business, hotel is lovely, breakfast area very well laid out and serviced, dinner in the bar was fresh and tasted great.
One thing I must commend is the focus staff have on customer service, from reception, bar, breakfast, waiter/waitress staff.
Room and bed very well sized and comfortable
Bathroom clean and spacious
Would recommend and would stay here again

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank murtdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been going there for the past five years or so, never had one complaint to make. Staff from front desk to bar , restaurant , all over just SUPERB. Breakfast freshly coked every time.. worth waiting for.

Room Tip: Good all over, suites are superb, bit pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH-Kerry, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate all feedback that we get here at The Killarney Park Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you had yet another enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you here at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Killarney Park over the New Year break 2013 - 2014. It was for our belated honeymoon and we both had an amazing time. Didn't want to leave. The staff upon arrival were very helfpul and friendly. Good advice was given as to where best to explore around town. The food in the hotel was top notch, among the best we had tasted in a long time. Even the eggs at breakfast tasted amazing. You should also try the "whiskey tasting" offered in the Garden Bar, as it is very informative and given by Eoin, who has a great knowledge of Irish Whiskey.

The staff throughout the hotel were so welcoming and not afraid to enage in conversation, which made the stay even more pleasant. The hotel offers a 5 star experience in a relaxed environment, without shouting about it. It felt like being in a home from home, which is very comforting, while a touch of class was all around you.

The hotel being located so close to the town centre is an ideal location to base yourself while in Killarney, and you will not be disappointed. Up there with the best hotels I have stayed in, not because it is a 5 star hotel as sometimes the 5 star badge means nothing to the experience gained, but because it is a great hotel, full-stop.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!! and we both plan on returning many more times when the oppportunity arises. My wife will tell you I'am very fussy about staying in hotels but the Killarney Park ticks all my box's. Go on treat yourself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas for a romantic break with my new husband. Very nice looking hotel, nice junior suite, food was great and staff friendly and attentive but... Not a place for a romantic break...too many children, sometimes felt like being in the middle of a crèche at breakfast time or in the common areas of the hotel. The bar is too small, unable to get a table for lunch or early evening dinner without reservation. No little extras included, e.g. No nibbles available at the bar, no chocolate left in room after turn down service. Glass of wine €8 at the bar..bit expensive. Upon requesting room service after 9pm was told that there was no kitchen staff on and that the only available option were nachos with dip for €7.50! Why offer a room service menu from 9pm to 7am if you are just going to tell your guests they can't actually order from it!! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MPD211213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Property: The Killarney Park Hotel
Address: The Park Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing