We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2010

have stayed in this hotel four or five times, but this particular time I stayed I was just put on short time and also had hurt my knee. I just wanted to totally relax and this I did. I had loads of magazines with me and after a beautiful breakfast each morning I relaxed in the lounge and read. there was a lovely open fire and very attentive staff. the food was out of this world and reasonable enough. I could go on for ever about it. I would reccommend it highly. One word I would for it is.....HEAVENLY

ps, forgot to mention the staff. They were soo soo friendly and helpful and I cant wait to go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjikerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

We spent 2 nights at Killarney Park Hotel from July 13th. Our Superior Suite was huge - separate kitchen, separate sitting room with fireplace, massive bedroom and one bathroom. The Hotel is in the center of town and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. It's also about 10 minutes drive away from MUCKROSS FARM, which is a fun place to visit, especially with young children. There is complimentary internet service in the rooms and a cozy alcove downstairs with complimentary wireless. The staff at this property are all extremely friendly. We had a few special requests and these were met with the utmost professionalism and courtesy, which we appreciated. Norma and her co-workers at the Front Desk were genuinely friendly and always eager to assist. Breakfast was very good and my children loved the hot chocolate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

just returned from a great stay in the killarney park. Firstly the location cannot be beaten. It is bang in the centre of town. However because it is set off the road and most of the rooms overlook gardens at the rear of the hotel it is also incredibly quiet.

decor is always subjective but personally i found it tasteful and elegant yet modern too. the room i had was large with great amenities(3 flat screens including the one at the end of the bath).

i didnt eat in the restauirant in the evening but can definitely recommend the pancakes for breakfast!

the most memorable thing about the hotel has to be the staff. There was a genuine warmth in all their dealings somthing often lacking in similar properties round the world.

all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfasttraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This hotel was perfect. The rooms were large, clean and had many ammentites. Our bathtub even had a television. Breakfast was fabulous. We missed breakfast one morning because the rooms were so quiet, that we over slept. Although we were disappointed to miss breakfast, it was wonderful to be so comfortable and relaxed. We were central walking distance to everything. The staff was so helpful. Plus it was an added bonus that there were two computers available to use in the lobby with free wifi and a printer. We were able to make some last minute changes to our flight, that we would not have been able to do otherwise. I would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This place is wonderful, right in the town centre near tyhe javis. Great hot tub, cosy restaurant - fantastic place to tour the ring of Kerry. The barman remembered our drinks order; a wonderful place to fall in love again:)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0st0nrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I had the great pleasure of taking a mid week break in this hotel recently with my mum and i have to say it was one of the best hotel break experiences i have ever had. The hotel itself is beautiful, homely, quite and very relaxing. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite which was very much appreciated after a long car journey. The room was bright modern and spotless. The staff couldnt have been more friendly or helpful.The resaurant food was divine, dinner and breakfast and the resaurant manager was full of suggestions and recomendations for things to do and see aroud Killarney which came in very handy. My mum and i loved this hotel and are planning a return visit.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank lovetotravelKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The first thing that happened was we had to let the valet park the car. ( 1st tip) The we had to let him take our bags to the room. (2nd tip) Then the windows wouldn't open more that 2 inches ( it was a very warm day) the valet explained that it was for child proofing purposes. I explained that we were both over 50 and we know how to not fall out of a window. He promised to get someone to come up and unlock the window. Though we wished to nap we waited for 45 minutes and no one came. So we put out the "do not disturb" sign . Also, because the internet was down throughout the whole town , there was no wifi in our room. Later when it was restored, there was still no wifi , but the woman at the front desk said to use the itranet wire. There was none nor was there an appropriate plug for it. The valet came up and saw that we were telling the truth but said: Actually, you get your wifi from the room next door.
This was a lie. While there were repeated promises of addressing the situation over the next two days , it never was solved. We brought out computers downstairs and used them there.
While the room was big and the bed was comfortable, it was sparsely furnished with grade b reproduction furniture - this held true throughout the hotel so one was left with the feeling that the designer of the hotel looked at a catalog and ordered 300 red sofas, 6oo red chairs and 300 desks. There was no detail anywhere in the hotel - either with magazines or books or flowers or ..well anything. The staff were all personable but so what? This was the most expensive place we stayed in our week in Ireland and we felt completely ripped off by it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamAllen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Killarney Park Hotel. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am sorry we fell short of meeting your expectations but very pleased your review highlights the quality we are most proud of, our personable staff. As a family owned hotel, a warm and genuine welcome for our guests is of utmost importance. Offering to park our guests’ car and bring their luggage to their room is a small complimentary part of our welcome, however guests certainly have the option to refuse.

We did indeed experience severe difficulty with internet access during your stay with us. Unfortunately this was completely out of our control. Our network provider needed to replace a grid that not only affected Killarney town but quite a substantial area of South West Ireland. Your frustration is understandable, this was a rare occurrence and we have received assurances that this level of disruption to our business and our guests will not reoccur.

Furnishing our hotel like a home over the last 18 years has given Killarney Park Hotel an individual style and although it may not be to everyone’s taste it remains one which we are very proud of. A complete gallery of interior images is available on our website.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back some time in the future.

Sincerely,

Niamh O Shea.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,589 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £168 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing