We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in quality”
Review of Randles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Randles Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
N.C.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed in quality”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed here for one night in July 2013 while on a business tour. Upon checking into my room, I went to make myself a cup of tea, only to find the tea mugs dirty with brown drips down the outside. Went into the bathroom to wash the mug, but the sink stopper handle came off in my hand. Worst was being awakened at 3:30 a.m. by my next door neighbors who spent the next hour thumping, loudly walking around, and throwing things. The walls are very thin and sounds carry. The old fashioned key to your room is difficult to use, and as a female traveling alone I really didn't want to stand there and fiddle with a key in the hallway. If I have a choice on my future tours, I will ask not to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    292
    86
    29
    25
See reviews for
218
553
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I traveled with a tour group staying in 4 hotels over the course of our trip. By far, Randles Court was my & my traveling companions' favorite! If you are looking for a modern feel, then don't look here! It is old world styling down the the key used to unlock your door. It was a conveninet walk to town. The desk staff was very pleasant. I overheard various people asking for suggestions on where to eat & the young woman at the desk took the time to ask what the person had in mind & gave different reponses to each person that asked. For us, The Porterhouse. We had the 25 euro prix fixe menu, which is served between certain hours, and it was the best meal & value we had our whole trip! So much delicous food!! Someone else went to an Italian resturant she suggested & thought it ironic that the best Italian food they had was on a trip to Ireland!

Our group had dinner one night at the hotel, as well as breakfast 2 mornings. The food and service were wonderful.

My only minor complaint is that the windows open by either tilting in slightly from the top or they can be unlocked to swing open from the side, which provides much more airflow. The weather was warm & we did ask that someone open them using the side position. We were told no because it could be a danger for children. My party consisted of 4 people aged 55 yrs. & over so no issue there. Still, the request was not acccommodated while it was for other rooms.

Suggestion for an evening activity: The Original Killarney Ghost Tour. It was a fun & informative 2 hrs. Cost: Twenty euros. Not for little children but age 12 and up would enjoy. The front desk made the call to reserve our spot, which was kind of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hubby and I have just returned from a short stay in Killarney at the Randles Court Hotel. The hotel is situated just on the outskirts and well within easy walking distance to the town itself and far enough to ensure you get a nights sleep. We had a signature room and were able to look out over the main road and get a glimpse of life in Killarney. Rooms were spacious and well serviced. We were on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were substantial and fresh. Our thanks to the staff who made the stay so much more enjoyable - their customer services are exceptionally high - without exception but special thanks to Natalie, & Laura and so many more whose name we didn't quite catch. We ate at the Dromhall Hotel - I believe a sister hotel to Randles and the food was fantastic. It is a busy setting both with locals and visitors and that is always a good sign. Again thanks to Stephen and Kevin and to all the others who served us with a smile and service. Killarney is a lovely place but the service of the staff at Randles and Dromhall made the stay just that bit more special. Thanks to all and this is definately worth visiting.

Room Tip: We stayed in a signature room and we did have partial view of the mountains. The room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twohappytravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed in Randles for 1 night in June. Really loved the rooms - bit of an old world feel to them which they pulled off well. I was leaving very early the following morning and was facilitated with a nice continental breakfast. Reception were also really helpful in organising a taxi. Hotel is situated on the Muckross road and in walking ditance to town. Very Good

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

3 of us stayed here recently for 3 nights and we had a lovely stay, the room we stayed in was a triple room and it was very spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was also nice, it had a lovely shower too. The bar and reception areas were very comfortable to sit and have a drink and outside there was a lovely patio which we used in the evening, the breakfast was really nice with plenty of choices and the staff were very friendly and helpful in every part of the hotel, the next time we come to Killarney we will definitely be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I booked a car group into the hotel for a 2 night stay. I was very impressed that the family owners took a great personal interest in our welfare and enjoyment and went above and beyond my expectations in their attention to our party. i would certainly go back there. Well done!.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ax60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel - the rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious; wi-fi worked great, breakfast was just right, and location was perfectly situated to walk to and from the nicest parts of town. Front desk was pleasant, organized and efficient, and staff in breakfast room were very attentive. Would definitely stay here again when in Killarney.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBBatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randles Hotel

Property: Randles Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Randles Court)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Family Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Randles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This deluxe family run Killarney Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes stroll from Killarney’s Town Centre and near the INEC (National Events Centre). The original building dates back to 1906 but now offers guests the luxury of an world class hotel. Spacious guest rooms, leisure club & spa, offering a choice of restaurants, terraced gardens plus much more awaits in this Killarney gem. Ideally suited for weddings catering from 10 to 130 people and is fully registered for Civil ceremonies. The Randles court is a special and intimate wedding venue. Ideal for business also for events and conferences that require extra attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Randles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randles Court Killarney
Hotel Randles Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing