We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, friendly knowledge staff.”
Review of Randles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Randles Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymore Eustace, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, friendly knowledge staff.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed just one night, wish we stayed a second night. Great service, friendly staff who provided information and shared their experiences of places to see/visit/dine and even a drink or three!!!. The room was very nice, comfortable, spotless, and easy to access as it was just around the corner from the elevator. The fires were all lit around the lobby which made it very inviting to sit, relax and even enjoy another beverage. Shane and Didier in particular stood out, you want to know about golf then Shane is your man for sure. Didier directed us to a little French bakery that was fantastic!!!! This hotel is located 5 to 7 minutes walk from the Main st. Susan Randle who is in charge of Sales even took the time to stop and introduce herself, gave us a little history on the property and showed us the sister property next door. She cared about making sure that we were really enjoying our stay, something I must say is sadly missing from the hotel industry in Ireland. We would strongly recommend this hotel and will send all our clients.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    298
    89
    29
    25
See reviews for
223
568
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and myself enjoyed a recent stay at the Randles Court. We were pleasantly surprised at the level of comfort in the room in particular the comfortable bed, we had booked a standard room. Generally I find hotel beds too hard but this bed was great and the rooms we discovered later, had been recently refurbished.
Breakfast was nice and generous, not the usual steamed hot Irish breakfast found in many an establishment, why can't all places cook it to order like here??
We enjoyed the fireside reading area and the papers after breakfast, a luxury we don't often get to appreciate with young children when at home.
Location was a short stroll from Killarney town, which we found great for enjoying our evening out, no need for a car or even a taxi if not too late.
A beautiful little hotel with lovely staff, and Kayne's next door was nice for lunch a pint and watching the rugby match.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRdinnerjacketandtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The best thing was the staff. Everyone was really nice to us. We felt like home. The rooms are cozy, clean, big windows, the bed was really confortable. The bathroom was new. Breakfast was delicious.

Internet acess wasn't that nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the front view of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marianadpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Over St. Patrick,s weekend my husband and I were once again enjoying the delights of Kerry, its scenery and the friendliness of the people make it iresistable to us and travelling 5 hours from Meath never puts us off.We have stayed in the Randles Court on a number of occasions and love its old world charm combined with style and comfort.On Sunday 16th March my husband drove to Dingle while I browsed the shops in Killarney. We were not staying in The Randles Court this time,we were in a different part of Kerry. We had, however, agreed to meet in The Randles Court some time later. Having been recently ill I was glad to reach the comfort of the sitting room in the hotel and rest. Unfortunately when I stood up at one stage I collapsed. While not quite unconscious I was very unwell and unable to communicate well.Within seconds a staff member was kneeling beside me,taking my pulse while issuing instructions for blankets,pillows,water and to call a doctor.He spoke continuously to me to keep me semi-alert,reassured me I was alright and managed to get some medical details from me.This gentleman,his name is Didier, never left my side until a doctor arrived some time later.In the background,a lady, whom I later learned was Mrs. Randles, quietly assisted him and comforted me. Nobody panicked and everything continued around us, this I was only vaguely aware of. Didier took care of me with the expertise of a very efficient medical consultant, writing notes each time he checked my pulse and noting my fluid intake etc.Having managed to contact my husband they reassured him that I was alright and a doctor was en route. Fortunately, by the time the doctor arrived I was beginning to come round, thanks to the speedy intervention of Didier, Mrs. Randles and the rest of the staff who helped out. When my husband arrived he was given tea and refreshments after consulting with the doctor.I didn't require hospitalisation because of the prompt and wonderful care I received from the staff in the hotel. When I felt able I was also given tea and refreshments, kept wrapped up in blankets and eventually brought to our car in a wheelchair they provided.Having been in a couple of A&E's recently the government would do well to visit The Randles Court to see an example of real care and attention,and what can be achieved very quickly with prompt intervention.We cannot thank Mrs. Randles and her staff enough,in particular Didier.It indicates further the genuine care and attention they show in every aspect of this very lovely hotel. I am recovering,Thank God,and I look forward to staying in The Randles Court in the coming months when I can thank everyone personally, and enjoy the delights of the hotel from a vertical position!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've never come across with such a terrible value for money situation. They must have hired a really top notch photographer in order to make this horrible establishment look attractive. There is a serious case of false advertisement here. The room photos up on booking.com have nothing to do with reality. I should have read the negative comments here before going on and booking a room with them. The pool hours are limited and the advertised 32sq meters of the rooms is a LIE. A V O I D. Rooms were NOT AS ADVERTISED on website - no luxury what so ever. Breakfast is also poor and limited not worth paying that extra 15euro for it. We were there for our anniversary and this spoiled our plans completely. Icing on the cake, they tried to overcharge us on our way out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Siobhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixthecat99, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you Martha, John & Siobhan for your multiple reviews on Trip advisor, Facebook & Booking.com.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and I apologise if we did not deliver your required service levels. Unfortunately we did not have your booking in our system on arrival and Laura our receptionist on duty endeavored to get you checked in as quickly as possible and checked you in to room 224 - one of our Signature bedrooms. Laura expalined that online bookings are not received immediatley hence that was the issue - our mistake. Our process for processing online bookings has been reviewed and changed

The bedroom in the website & bookings.com for Signature bedrooms is room 222 and is virtually identical to room 224. The online images for Signatures are a very accurate representation of reality which can also be seen from tripadvisor reviewers "actual images". The room offers non standard extras like IPOD docking stations, pillow topped Mattresses, DVD Players, Partial views, large comfy armchairs, Walk in Power Shower, deluxe Amenities etc,etc.. These rooms are very popular and we receive a lot of excellent feedback as can be seen from previous reviews.

Our walls are not paper thin and they are actually additionally insulated with special soundproofing material. There also was no baby staying on that floor on the evening in question. Could be the demons.....

You say that our breakfast was poor and limited. We have replied to you looking for further clarification on this. Our breakfast menu offers a cold Buffet with an option of 10 additional hot dishes cooked to order from our Kitchen including your traditional Cooked Irish, Pancakes or French toast.

On checkout there was an incorrect charge on your bill which once advised of we immediately removed.

I fully accept that we made an error on your arrival and there was an incorrect charge on your bill on checkout but I do feel that your comments are overly harsh - Poorest 4 star in the world- horrible establishment - false advertisement - torture-chancers-overpriced.

I also think your point in relation to 70 year olds is a little unfair - there are plenty who are online and very up to speed. We are delighted to accept people of all ages from new borns to those in excess of 100. We had a 100 year old lady stay here last year with her family for her birthday. I don’t know if she was on line but she was a nice singer

If you look at Tripadvisor where we score 88% of Booking.com where we score 89% your comments would not fully comply with general opinion.

Certainly we get things wrong at times and when it happens we do our utmost to fix the issue. When you threatened us with Social Media we could not react with what you wanted to issues that were not really there.

Thank you

Tom Randles
General Manager (not a chancer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here in February and the view of the snowcapped mountains at the front of the hotel made it feel like an alpine resort. The fires were always lighting in the 2 lounge rooms and the service was excellent. We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast for €152 which was really good value. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and really comfortable. There's a sense of peace about the place and there's free peanuts with your drinks!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gav94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixthecat99, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks Gav 94 for your reccommendation. The mountains are lovely especially when snowcapped. Nice to sit bu a cosy fire when it is chilly outside.

Look forward to welcoming you back and we will have the peanuts ready

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My family and I stayed at your lovely hotel during the midterm in February,. Really enjoyed your hotel, Small critic the plaster falling off the walls in the pool? PS:- Your staff are a credit to you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixthecat99, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Gina

Thanks for staying with us and we are having the plaster issue resolved ASAP.

Thank you

Tom R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
867 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randles Hotel

Property: Randles Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Randles Court)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Family Hotel in Killarney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Randles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This deluxe family run Killarney Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes stroll from Killarney’s Town Centre and near the INEC (National Events Centre). The original building dates back to 1906 but now offers guests the luxury of an world class hotel. Spacious guest rooms, leisure club & spa, offering a choice of restaurants, terraced gardens plus much more awaits in this Killarney gem. Ideally suited for weddings catering from 10 to 130 people and is fully registered for Civil ceremonies. The Randles court is a special and intimate wedding venue. Ideal for business also for events and conferences that require extra attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Randles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randles Court Killarney
Hotel Randles Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing