We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor breakfast”
Review of Randles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Randles Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The Good:

1. Located on Muckross road and only a 5 minute walk to the town centre
2. Hotel rooms are warm, nicely decorated and spacious
3. Nice views of the mountains from the hotel
4. Friendly bar tender. Only had a one pint in the bar. Bar tender was chatty and friendly.

The Bad:
1. The breakfast: just a very bad experience. Fruit salad was tasteless. Cooked breakfast was terrible. The rashers were tough as old boots, white pudding did not look to be fully cooked. Needless to say we didn't have breakfast in the hotel on the second day of our stay. Instead we opted for McKenzies cafe in the town where we had a freshly cooked breakfast for only 7 euro per person.
2. Double bed needs additional pillows.

Overall found the hotel was good value but the breakfast experience really let the show down.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saigon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomRandles, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2009

Dear Saigon 80,

I am sorry to hear your experience in relation to your breakfast, but I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the Good location, nice Bedrooms, nice views and The friendly barman in our family run hotel.

Our aim is to offer a top quality fully cooked to order Irish breakfast (not a buffet)along with a host of other breakfast items including pancakes, fish, cheeses, meats along with an extensive cold buffet. Unfortunatly your breakfast on this occassion seems to have been under par and not what we normally serve. I sincerely apologise for this.

We take our breakfast very seriously and since your report have re visited our breakfast preperation procedures. Breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day hence it is important that we do it very well.

In relation to our fruit salad we do not add sugar or syrups to sweeten as many people do like to keep it natural. We only add a hint of honey and cinamon and rely on the fruit for flavour. It is a pity that we did not have a chance to rectify breakfast on your 2nd morning as I hope that we would have improved matters.

In relation to pillows there are always 2 additional pillows in The wardrobe. There are also additional pillows if you require them, available from our housekeeping department 24 hours per day. I do apologise that you were not able to locate them.

Thank you for taking time to post your comments as it is from continous feedback that we try to improve our hotel.

If you return to Killarney please let me know where i will insure that you have the softest of pillows and a delightful full Irish breakfast cooked as it should be.

Best Regards,


Tom Randles
General Manager

tom@randleshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
There are newer reviews for Randles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2009

Booked into Randles for a 3 night stay on Sunday 26th April. Location is very good but given the service and lack of assistance by staff, we won't be staying there again nor recommending it to anyone else. There are plenty of other accommodation choices available in Killarney without having to experience poor service by staff. I will highlight that the staff were never rude but they were unhelpful.

We were informed at check in that the hotel restaurant would be closed for the first two nights of our stay but the restaurant of the sister hotel would be available. Of course the sister hotel requires one to travel externally to access same which is not ideal in bad weather! When the restaurant was open on our final night, we had booked dinner for 7pm at reception. On arriving at the restaurant, they informed us that we weren't booked in! We explained that we had made the booking which was simply followed up with a "well they didn't tell us!" response. Long gone are the days where staff were trained to look after guests. This was a small oversight by reception but surely the restaurant staff could have done what every other good host would do and hide the difficulty from the guest and simply say that they would "sort something out" and to "bear with them". It is a shame that guests are not put first - there is no need to throw the problem back to the guest; we should not have been saddled with the fact that reception failed in their duty to inform the restaurant - it was not our fault after all. We will add, once seated in a half empty restaurant (i.e. there was never any need at all to make us feel uncomfortable regarding the booking), that the 3 course dinner was superb so thankfully the evening ended well.

There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Apparently these are available on request but this information isn't widely highlighted. Notwithstanding this, we did go down to reception to request tea to the room and we were told that it was available "to purchase" in the bar so we disappointley went to the bar to buy same when we would have much preffered to enjoy a quiet cup of tea before bedtime in the privacy and quietness of our own room. We mentioned this to a family member who duly rang reception and they were informed that tea making facilties would be delivered to the room immediately. This was dutifully carried out. However, it is commically pointed out that the "facilities" consisted of a kettle and 1 cup!! Great to have to share one cup between two people in a 4 star hotel!! Not even a biscuit nor an apology accompanied same!!

All the above is far from the 4 star experience I would have expected. Afterall, when one goes away for a trip, they are paying for service and good service used be standard. We didn't complain but lets face it, the little things were what made it disappointing. I do wonder how these hotels get these stars and is it down to providing basic facilities such as getting 1 star for providing a bed, a 2nd star for the pillows and a 3rd star for a bath? Good helpful service and doing the little things that are easy to facilitate should be standard but being sent into the bar for a cup of tea having requested faciilities in the room is surely not asking anyone to move mountains!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IreMuse_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomRandles, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2009

Dear Ireanon,

Thank you for taking time to write about your visit to the Randles Court Hotel and I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your time with us. We endeavour to make all guests stays pleasurable and naturally customer service is very important.

Firstly the welcome that you received in the restaurant was not very welcoming. The information about your booking did not go from The Front Desk To The Restaurant and caught our host off guard and he did not have a table prepared for you. This is not an excuse and he should not have made an issue of this.This is not normal procedure and I hope that it did not upset you too much. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your dinner with us.

In relation to Tea/coffee trays, while thay are not in the room as standard they are readily available made up and advertised in our Guest information booklet and should be delievered within 10 minutes of request. Naturally there should have been 2 cups delievered which was an error on our side. When you asked for Tea in the lobby area possibly the individual assumed that you wanted it in the Conservatory or The Drawing Room hence the charge was incurred.

The standards for 4 star in this country are administered by TAMS and are sternly administered and the requirements are high. In addition to this we are also voluntarily graded 4 star by Tha AA which also has a very stringent list of requirements.

Both organisations carry out annual inspections that cover all aspects from reservations to check out.

Again Thank you for taking time to write about your visit and I apologise that you did not enjoy your visit. We work hard on all aspects of our hotel and my own personal motto is that "We are as good as our last Customer".

Hopefully you might visit us again and please contact me personally and I will personally take care of your booking,

Regards

Tom Randles
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I have stayed here every easter with friends for the past six years, and i find the overall service in the hotel to be top class. In my eyes randles has become a big reason why
my friends and i keep coming back to killarney at easter.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electrican1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

This is our 6th year coming back to Randles Court for a two day golf outing between 4 friends. We have been going to Killarney every Easter to play golf for the last 11 years and have tried out a lot of different Hotels. Once we tried Randles we never changed again. Top quality rooms, great breakfast and very friendly staff. Would highly recommend Randles if staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bopperCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The staff are very helpfull and friendly.
It is a family run hotel and it shows in the quality in staff trainning.
The food and table service are top class.
The location is a good base for travel in the southwest of ireland..
This is a hotel that does all the important things right..
It is a very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisCarruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I was one of a group of 100 hikers who spent Easter weekend in the Randals Court. The hotel is lovely, we had a great room and bathroom, there's a nice bar and lovely seating areas with big comfy couches, very good restaurant and the staff did a great job to look after such a large group of us on a busy weekend. It's less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre. The pool is great (not heavily chlorinated) and steam room was a welcome rest after a day in the hills.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmys152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We are just back from a hiking weekend to Killarney, staying at the Randles Court. With over a hundred in our party, the staff managed serve our breakfast and dinner with speed, grace and good humour. The food was excellent as well. Many thanks to the hotel for their hard work and for providing such good service. The only downside was that we managed to reduce their hot water tank to its murky bottom but I guess that's not too surprising given over a hundred of us all came down from the hills wet and cold. Probably unlikely to happen again!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#22 of 38 in Killarney
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randles Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Randles Court)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Family Hotel in Killarney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £98 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Randles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This deluxe family run Killarney Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes stroll from Killarney’s Town Centre and near the INEC (National Events Centre). The original building dates back to 1906 but now offers guests the luxury of an world class hotel. Spacious guest rooms, leisure club & spa, offering a choice of restaurants, terraced gardens plus much more awaits in this Killarney gem. Ideally suited for weddings catering from 10 to 130 people and is fully registered for Civil ceremonies. The Randles court is a special and intimate wedding venue. Ideal for business also for events and conferences that require extra attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Randles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randles Court Killarney
Hotel Randles Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing