We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly bad - avoid like the plague.”
Review of The Cherry Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cherry Tree
Ranked #98 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad - avoid like the plague.”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This guesthouse is terrible. We were put in an awful downstairs room which was small, old fashioned, dowdy and depressing. We were constantly woken by noises from upstairs, from plumbing, from guests coming in in the middle of the night, and from 7 on from the kitchen, next to us.
There seemed to be no
soundproofing whatsoever.
Breakfast ( continental only) was a joke - like a scene from a student
flat in your youth. Bits and pieces lying around - I was in disbelief that anyone would offer this level of service to the public and charge 65 euro plus. Random maps are stuck up crooked in the hall - it is bizarre. One girl on hand to serve tea and take payment etc. No owner to be seen. We were almost overcharged and had to provide evidence of our online booking to get the rate we booked. An embarrassment to the guesthouse community in Ireland who - on the whole offer an excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evemonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    20
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
28
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We payed 50 euros for a double room. There was no one up to serve us breakfast but we found some bread and marmelade in the kitchen. The room was sloppy and there was no hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Room was in basement - smelled of mold and was cold and damp. Bathroom smelled like a train station toilet, towels were thredbare and shower took 10 minutes to warm up and had hair in it. Bed was dirty. Breakfast was insufficient for cost of room.

Location is easy walk to downtown - where you'll want to stay all night to avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaxmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I Stayed here with my friends and we were happy with what we got, its in a perfect loaction so close to town. Staff are friendly and helpful and left us lie in for a extra hour, perfect for wkends in Killarney

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Myself and my boyfriend booked in for one night, as we were unsure whether we would be staying the next night.

We were arriving late, so we called in advance to let them know we would be, which they were fine with. On arrival, we were showed two rooms - one was a double, the other was a triple. The man who showed us told us that the double room was nicer, but that there was no key(!) We said we would take the other room, WITH a key.

ROOM: Room was dark, there was make up marks on the sheets of both beds, carpets seemed dirty and there were various dirty markings and dents in the walls. Bathroom was tiny, and the shower floor looked dirty. There were tea and coffee making facilities.

BED: I would not really be one to complain - but the bed was awful. Besides the dirtiness, it creeked at the SLIGHTEST shift of body weight. I woke up 5 times during the night because I had perhaps rolled a little etc. Trust me - I usually sleep like a log!

BREAKFAST: We arrived downstairs around 9am, and took about 15 minutes before an employee came to ask whether we would like continental or an Irish breakfast. We opted for the Irish. The fry actually wasn't bad, but the breakfast room was dim and unhomely. When we were paying at the end, we were told it was an extra €10 for the breakfast. We refused to pay this as at no point were we told there would be a surcharge. We would have paid it had we been satisfied with our overall stay, and we are not usually complainers. But this was taking the mick.

LOCATION: Good. About 3 minutes walk into the centre, and on the main Muckross Road which leads the other way to the Gap of Dunloe, Torc waterfall etc.

PRICE: It was €60 for one night. And they tried to charge us an extra €10 for breakfast. It is good value at first sight, but not for what you are getting. We did stay an extra night in Killarney - but I immediately went online and booked for €79 a four star hotel (Dromhall) down the road (exc breakfast, which we didn't have), which was like a palace in comparison. Saratoga would only accept cash as well, which seems pretty dodgy to me.

I would avoid at all costs - pay an extra €10 or €20 and stay elsewhere and get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_L86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#29 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#72 of 139 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#39 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree

Property: The Cherry Tree
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherry Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cherry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing