We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family invaded Ireland and they welcomed us!”
Review of The Cherry Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cherry Tree
Ranked #106 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our family invaded Ireland and they welcomed us!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The location of this place is superb. We walked from the train station in the rain and it was quick and easy to find. We were not even soaked before we found it. Danny was so helpful and pleasant, even when we descended upon him with a large extended family in Ireland for a wedding, two double strollers, and many bags. We had many rooms and four noisy happy babies- he did not seem the least bit daunted. We were given a choice of rooms when we arrived and everyone seemed happy with their abode. All had ensuite bathrooms with hot water (although the water pressure was a bit weak) and plenty of towels. Our room was one of the ones facing the street- and it is a semi-busy street- and we were not bothered by traffic noise at all. The beds were comfortable with plenty of blankets and good pillows. The rooms and public areas were a little worn but spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was very filling. We thought at first that it was a continental since the cereals, toast, juice, and yogurts were there in the morning. The waitress brought coffee and tea to each guest and then began to deliver hot full Irish breakfasts to all. I think that the people who posted their dissatisfaction with the breakfast being a cold one did not wait around long enough to see the rest of it. The kitchen also provided us with wonderful gluten free sourdough bread that toasted up beautifully and was delicious. They were careful to let us know which items for breakfast were not gluten free (the puddings) and cooked our eggs as we asked (poached separately from the other eggs). We could walk very easily to the heart of town and ate at some great local places. We booked a tour ahead online with Killarney Jaunting Cars and they picked us up right at the Guest House since they were down the road. We walked to Muckross Abbey, farms, and house and toured them all. The scenery in this part of Ireland was particularly spectacular. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will be back again to Cherry Tree Guest House. Thank you Danny!

Room Tip: There was no room on the ground floor and stairs were steep. I would not recommend this house to dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    20
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
17
28
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here for one night and it was lovely. The hosts are quite helpful especially when it comes to showing what life is like in Killarney. I was shown all the best views and the national park which was amazing. Everything was very clean and I loved the look of the entire place. When I go back to Killarney, I don't think I can stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The place is nice and cozy. We were allowed to make bbq in the back garden(sorry that we didn't offer any kebabs :D ) Staff was verry verry verry helpfull. Beds were clean and comfortable. Great location especially when u planning night out in the town. Breakfast was like at home. We had a really good time.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wolna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Ive been to this Guesthouse twice and am going back a third time this September with a few of my friends. House is perfectly located near the town. Hosts are very welcoming and very helpful. Looks to me like the house is been decorated as my parents stayed in a brand new room(first room on right of stairs). I was in a single room and was perfect for a person on a solo trip. As another reviewer said bathrooms are small but its a single room so you cant expect much. would recommend this Guesthouse to everyone. great value and great location

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

great place

the good
center of town
large rooms
2 lads that run the place are very pleasent to deal with

the bad
the bathroom is tiny cant move in it
could not connect to the so called "free wi fi"
3 stations max on the room tv

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoose4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here for one night and definitely wouldn't recommend. B and B is tired and shabby. The room itself was reasonable size but tiny bathroom, many sockets didn't work and skylight wouldn't close letting in noise and cold breeze. When I asked for it to be closed I was told it was broken and that there had never been a complaint about this before with the implication that I was unreasonable in expecting it to close! This B and B has great location but that's all.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeybee200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Close to the main amenities,very poor decoration and a bit old looking (the rooms).
The breakfast is not included,there is a charge for a very small irish breakfast.
The staff was not very helpfull.
For the same price you can find something better in the same area.

Room Tip: close to city centre but very poor decoration and old looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marga99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#67 of 140 in Killarney
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#34 of 140 in Killarney
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#30 of 140 in Killarney
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gardens B&B
The Gardens B&B
#59 of 140 in Killarney
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#12 of 140 in Killarney
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Fairways Bed and Breakfast
#102 of 140 in Killarney
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree

Property: The Cherry Tree
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherry Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cherry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing