We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KILLARNEY B&B”
Review of The Cherry Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cherry Tree
Ranked #117 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“KILLARNEY B&B”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nice clean affordable B&B in an excellent location to downtown Killarney. A little light on personnel as the cook also does all of the cleaning and check-in and management.

She did an excellent job and made us feel right at home. This B&B is right down the street from the offices for the bus tours to The Ring Of Kerry and The Dingle Peninsula. Only one block
to the downtown shopping district.

Nice, normal Irish breakfast served by the same efficient employee.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room in the rear. Street noise can be annoying noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us Wayne, hope to see you again, best of luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
17
30
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in November. It is perfectly located just a few minutes walk to Killarney town centre. The breakfasts were delicious. We just loved the coffee machine, Delicious! ;-)
We found the room to be spacious, clean and tastefully furnished. Dahlia and Danny were very friendly and helpful.
We'll stay there again!
Bob and Sarah

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi Bob & Sarah thanks so much for kind review, we hope to see you again, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this BnB for 3 nights in November. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and the staff, Danny and Dahlia, were delightful.
Danny was especially helpful with recommendations on places to eat and visit.
We had a great time, and we are looking forward to returning.
:-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

good for the price, needs updating but comfortable. good cooked breakfast to start the day and quite close to the lovely town of Killarney, great night life too. the lakes are a must visit. lots of jaunting traps.

Room Tip: very close to town and all amneties
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We will continue to improve our offering with January renovation plan 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Skye and Danny are amazing. Skye does all he can to ensure you have a comfortable stay. I stayed her for 8 weeks got to know Danny, Skye, Dhalia,and the Leanes. Wonderful people! This little B&B is just a 5 min walk from town. It's walking distance to the outlet mall, restaurants, grocery stores, shopping, train and bus station. Be aware most tore close around 6pm. They are in the process of doing a bit of updating and the pictures do it no justice. I would absolutely recommend this place for anyone looking to visit Killarney.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JessicaNicoleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Manager at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you Jessica, we really enjoyed your long stay with us, you are welcome back any time! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here last summer, am only getting the chance to write this now. Service was terrible, the owner was out partying the night we stayed there and couldnt help us when we had a problem
with our room key.
The bed sheets hadnt been changed from the previous guests!!!
When i had a problem with my room key i had to go into the back kitchen to try and find a spare
key and found the place to be untidy and dirty. (Thank god we werent having breakfast there!!)
In that kitchen there is a blackboard on the wall with descriptions of the guests so that the asian lady who comes in the morning to cook breakfast knows who is who. Descriptions like 'germans cheapy cheap' and my boyfriend and i were described as 'love couple - kiss kiss'.

THIS IS THE WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED!!!! HOSTELS ARE BETTER THAN HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGirl509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Texas, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and I was made feel very much at home. Skye one of the guys who worked there was very helpful and gave me great advice on what to do and see. The breakfast was very tasty, had different one eeach morning, full Irish breakfast, pan cakes and fruit and another morning I had mexican Huevos Rancheros with eggs and cheese. The place has being refurbished and is colorful cosy guesthouse

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasjack10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Manager at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you, We renovated the dining room in January 2013 Thank you for appreciating the fine art from local artists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#34 of 141 in Killarney
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#71 of 141 in Killarney
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gardens B&B
The Gardens B&B
#51 of 141 in Killarney
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#45 of 141 in Killarney
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#35 of 141 in Killarney
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Fairways Bed and Breakfast
#104 of 141 in Killarney
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree

Property: The Cherry Tree
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherry Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Cherry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing