We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Casita Mexicana

Casita Mexicana
Ranked #21 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very tasty food. Good portions. It seems there is a lot of organic and local produce on the menu, the salads where certainly fresh and organic, very good. I am vegetarian and had a very good meal, was very happy with the food, normally it is hard to find good vegetarian food outside of big cities. My partner eats meat and was very happy with food also. Staff where very friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend to a friend for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanzi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    65
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Thoroughly recommend this restaurant, up a side street from Killarney's main street. Lovely ambiance to the restaurant, and very helpful and polite staff. Food was great, I had enchilada with mexican hot spices. It was good and spicy- just the way I like it. My wife had the chilli con carne, it was lovely too. All in all a very pleasant experience. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank malcb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
646 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“Great but there is better!!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Had to try this place. Very tasty. Not the best Mexican I've ever had but well worth a try. The waitress was fantastic, very chatty acomadating and knowledgeable. The craft beer was delish. I will have to try hotter next time tho!

Helpful?
Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Found this wonder by chance. Atmosphere excellent once it filled up (we were very early). Staff very helpful, welcoming and efficient. Food is tops. Fillet steak was out of this world. Chili con crane was spot on. I chose medium hot and it suited me. Nice kick. They do a lot hotter but they were more than happy to guide you depending on your taste. It's off the street and somewhat shabby location ( it was pelting rain when we found it) but looks authentic, and inside is spotless and I would say cosy. Even a few benches outside to smoke or possibly eat if the weather was good . Found prices to be reasonable. Portions did not look huge that was something of an illusion as we came away well satisfied. Definitely have to revisit when I am next in killarney.

Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Found this by accident while loking for a short cut and even though we liked the look of the menu we were reluctant to go in as it did not seem inviting
We got lucky though and decided to give it a try
It is a wonder
Fantastic food--only tried the tapas this time but would go back to Kllarney especially to eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casita Mexicana also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Casita Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing