We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September 2012. Very friendly and welcoming staff,and wonderful lake views from our room,which included a balcony...sadly not used due to fairly dismal weather. The meals were enjoyable,though I agree skip the cumin bread!! Rooms could do with a bit of updating and better Internet access would be an asset. But a great getaway hotel,and would definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for lake view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellor60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review about our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team working here at the hotel. The hotel prides itself on our friendly and professional team who work very hard to ensure that our guests have as an enjoyable stay as possible. I know our Irish weather can let us down on occasion however looking out at the lake whether its on a hot sunny day sipping cocktails in our Al Fresco lakeside seating area or whether its on a cold and windy day when the waves are rising on the lake sitting snugly beside our wood burning stoves in our lounge it never ceases to amaze me that the view just never gets dull. As an old building we are constantly re-investing to ensure that all of our facilities meet our guest’s requirements and we will continue to do so on an ongoing basis. Only this week we are introducing a new satellite broadband service which will continue to be free for our guests to further improve our internet access in the hotel so hopefully you should find that this has greatly improved on your next visit. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future.
Mise Le meas,
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,614
    357
    98
    27
    13
See reviews for
380
1,260
46
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Im a regular visitor - best value spot in Killarney. Always enjoy it. However it needs updating in the rooms and Wifi only available beside reception which is disappointing.
Went to see rooms in Europe hotel...wow...much more expensive but when I went back to the Lake hotel it was like going from 5 to three stars.
I will go back next year to the Lake but if I could afford it I might try the Europe hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravellerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Thank you for your comment regarding the best value in Killarney. At the hotel we have some fantastic offers over the next few months which you can avail of by contacting info@lakehotel.com or by calling us on 0646631035 you will always get our most competitive rates directly from the hotel. This year we are celebrating 100 years in the hospitality industry in Ireland and are proud to continue the tradition of welcoming guests and providing a home away from home feeling for them during their stay here. As the hotel is an old building dating back to the 1820’s we are constantly re investing in the building to ensure it is at its very best for our guests to enjoy while retaining its historical feel which we feel adds something unique to the hotel and something for us to treasure. I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Mise Le Meas,
Niall Huggard- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed in lake hotel last week of august 2012. Hotel very clean and all the staff were very friendly. we found that even when we would walk past any of the staff in any part of the hotel they would smile and say hello. The staff are the hotels best asset. The hotel itself is very comfortable and a very relaxing place to stay . One of the nicest hotels i have stayed in. The only problem we had was the sauna in our bathroom didnt work properly as it was blowing out a lot of black bits like bits of rubber or plastic. I did report it and a maintenance man looked at it that day but we were told he said it just needed to clear itself out, but every time i turned it on the same thing happened. Everything else in the hotel was very good inclucing the food, both breakfast and bar food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review about our hotel. We are particularly proud of our team at the hotel who make every effort to always ensure that our guest’s requirements are met and that they leave after their stay relaxed and happy and with good memories of Killarney and their holiday here. Thank you for your very kind comment saying it was the nicest hotel that you have stayed in. It is words such as that that motivate us to continue to improve our products and services for our guests. I’m sorry that you had issues with your Jacuzzi bath in your room during your stay. I will be following this up with our maintenance team to ensure that this issue is addressed immediately and doesn’t happen again. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel again soon.

Mise Le Meas,
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Totally surprised by my experience of this place. I booked a two-night stay here because the reviews were glowing, so I thought this was a sure bet.

After an expensive upgrade to get a spectacular view of the lake (much better than the parking lot that they were trying to give us), our room was out of date and cheaply decorated. Scratchy bedding, uncomfortable mattresses, a shoddy TV that produced grainy images at best... You'd think it was 50 years old instead of just a few!

It was clean, though, and the staff was friendly. But after waking up sore from seriously uncomfortable mattress, we called to see if another room with better mattress was valuable. "They're all the same," was the bland, unhelpful response.

The dining room food was OK - breakfast was certainly passable. Dinner was mildly amusing (skip the cumin and mango bread if they offer it to you - it made my son and husband nauseated).

So my advice to the hotel is get some serious help in the looks/comfort department. This could be an amazing getaway if the owners could cough up the $$ to make it shine.

Room Tip: Get high up and stick with the lake views. It's the only way to get past the decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaomalleyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Lake Hotel for your holiday to Killarney. Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel, and our friendly staff of whom the hotel is very proud of. I’m sorry to hear that you did not like the style that our hotel is decorated in. As the original building dates back to the 1820’s it is rich in history and has many of its own unique little quirks which we think adds to its historical feel together with the antique furniture and items of interest which we have placed around the hotel for our guests to enjoy. Many guests comment that this is something that adds to their stay with us and love to look at old photographs and memorabilia belong to guests back throughout the years and events that took place here. I think that this may be a matter of personal choice and we will have to agree to disagree on this one. In regards the cumin bread I’m sorry to hear that your husband and son didn’t like it. Our kitchen supplies a variety of homemade breads for our guests each evening a mixture of traditional and more adventures flavoured breads are available for guests to choose from depending on their tastes. I will pass this comment on to our head chef for him to investigate none the less as at the end of the day at The Lake Hotel the guest is always right and if something is not to their tastes it is time for us to re-evaluate that item. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Hotel is in a beautiful area set on the side of the lakes of Killarney. The Bar and Restaurant are terrific. The service throughout the hotel is excellent. Stayed in a Lakeview Suite which was spacious and had a great view.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpo227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for posting such a complimentary review about our hotel. It gives us no greater pleasure then to know that our guests are leaving happy with the service that was provided to them during their stay with us. This year we are celebrating 100 years in the hospitality industry in Ireland and we are proud to keep the Irish welcome, good food and excellent service tradition going in the Lake Hotel. Our team throughout the hotel are dedicated to ensuring our guests have a home away from home feeling here at the hotel and that they leave us feeling relaxed and happy after their stay with us. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Kingdom again soon.

Mise Le Meas,
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Wonderful setting, great experience. Check out the specials offered by the hotel - great deals. We had woodland view which made the price better and was very nice but will upgrade to lake view next time. hoping to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyMJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about our hotel. We have some great specials at present for new and past guests. By contacting info@lakehotel.com or by giving us a call directly on 064-6631035 you can always ensure you will receive the best rate possible at every time during the year. This year we are celebrating 100 years in the hospitality industry in Ireland so it is a particularly good year to visit the hotel and sample what we have to offer perhaps even try our centenary menu specialy created to celebrate the big 100 years. I’m glad that you were happy with your stay on this occasion and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Lake soon.


Mise Le Meas,
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Bday treat from my boyfriend. Beautiful room, unreal views, extremely clean, comfy bed etc...
Staff a let down. Restaurant a disaster. Service pathetic. No friendly atmosphere at all.
Not a patch on inchydonney...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maireadmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for the review you posted recently regarding our hotel on tripdvisor. I’m glad to hear that you were happy with your room and that you found it clean and comfortable. I am very disappointed to hear that you didn’t find our staff accommodating. The hotel prides itself on our friendly staff and this comment is completely out of the norm for our hotel. The hotel is a family run hotel and the staff of the hotel are like part of the extended family many of them have been with us for several years. As we are unaware of any complaint made to us directly regarding any member of staff recently I cannot make further comment regarding this point without the full facts to hand. It is a pity that you did not contact me or another member of management on duty during your stay to give us the opportunity to address any issue you may have encountered and sort out the problem to everybody’s satisfaction if possible.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
4.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
933 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing