We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
cork ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“thanks again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Once again the Lake Hotel has come good and delivered that all important mix of good non threatening service, and relaxation. We visit the Lake to relax and get balance back into our busy lives and always come away refreshed. The "old" staff are great and the newer staff are obviously well trained in customer service. Thanks as always and cant wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Lake view is well worth it for anyone who benefits from soaking in nature in all its varied aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely way to put it that the Lake Hotel allows you to put balance back into your busy lives. We are very lucky here at the lake with the beauty of the nature that surrounds us at every angle. Looking out at the Lough Leinn, the Mc Carthy Mór Castle and the mountains and surrounding nature is enough to lift the spirits and relax the soul of all who view it. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel who always go the extra mile to ensure that our guests get well looked after during their time here with us. I will pass those on to them. It is the ultimate compliment for us when a guest returns to visit us again and again to spend their special holiday time with us and we thank you most sincerely for this. I hope that we can welcome you back soon again.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    344
    91
    26
    11
See reviews for
362
1,190
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Three years ago we ventured down here as a trip to get away from the city for a relaxing few days. Now on our second trip I feel the place has actually exceeded our inflated estimations of it three years ago. On the first night we had a beautiful three course meal, while looking out over the beautiful scenery from the restaurant. The soothing scene of mountains rolling into picturesque lakes. The room (while not exactly cheap) had a luxurious four poster bed and again idyllic views of the lakes and mountains. But what really made the trip stand out was the incredible staff. All had welcoming smiles and a bit of banter. From the receptionists to the bar staff and the managers all five star customer service.
An ideal place to go to recharge the batteries, and a place that will always remain very special to my fiancée and I.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note of thanks for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. It is always a great pleasure for us to welcome our guests back on repeat visits and we take it as a huge compliment that they choose to return to us to spend their special holiday time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the quality of food that you received during your visit I will pass these on to Noel and his team in the kitchen who always produce the very best local cuisine for our guests to enjoy. I particularly appreciate your kind comments about our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud. We are extremely lucky to have a team of dedicated employees who often go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that our guests have a holiday to remember and make memories to treasure during their stays with us. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and that we can continue to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My girlfriend and I recently returned to the lake house again a year after our first visit and our stay once again surpassed expectation. An initial stay for two nights quickly turned into a third as we once again quickly recognised the comfort and tranquility of the place. For us, this is the top hotel in Killarney. Having stayed in all the other five star hotels in the area, the lake house matches them all. From the friendly and flawless staff to the excellent bar staff and constant presence of one of the Huggard brothers as managers, the hotel has an effortless class that places you at constant ease. The surroundings are simply stunning and as far as retreats go, we will be making this an annual trip from our galway home. We ate in the bar and the food was really nice along with the breakfast which easily tops those offered in Muckross house and others. For a hotel that does not treat you like simply a number, go to the lake house. Thanks to Brenda in reception, the managers and the excellent staff in general who simply facilitate your every need. We will be back and look forward to it.

Ronan and Noelle, Galway

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lake Hotel and for choosing the Lake Hotel for your holiday to Killarney. What a lovely comment that your stay surpassed your expectations that is very kind of you to say. There is no greater compliment for us than for a guest to actually extend their stay during their visit as they are enjoying themselves so much. Thank you for your lovely compliments regarding the standard of food during your visit I will pass these on to our new head Chef Noel and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in providing top class local cuisine for our guests to enjoy. We appreciate you saying that The Lake Hotel does not just treat you as a number which is the case in so many hotels these days. We aim to provide a home away from home feel for all of our guests so that they can feel welcome and relaxed during their time with us. And it is lovely to hear that our guests pick up on this. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again and thank you most sincerely once again for such a lovely report.

Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have stayed at this magnificent hotel twice now. Both stays were absolutely perfect. The first stay was in November and the second was on Valentines weekend this year. There's something really special about this place that sets it above all the rest. The location has a lot to do with it I guess but that's not all. Waking up on a frosty November morning to take some of the most beautiful landscape photographs I have ever taken, right from the comfort of our own private balcony, was one of the highlights of my year! Seeing the deer walk across the lawn is a tiny bit magical too. The staff are so welcoming and helpful.The food and service is top notch. Breakfast is excellent. You have so much choice! Afternoon Tea is just a delight. Highly recommended after a long walk in the National Park. I could go on and on.. Just go! Stay here for at least two nights..One won't be enough, trust me! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Four Poster Deluxe is just right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebear519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lake Hotel and for marking us so highly on your report. It is always a great pleasure to welcome repeat guests back to the hotel and we are very lucky to be able to build up a great relationship with our clients over the years which with their feedback enables us to continue to improve on what we offer to our guests here at the hotel. I’m glad to read that you got some great photos during your visit as you will see from around the hotel and on our face book page I am a big fan of photography myself and I really feel there is no better location for the scenery, wildlife including our deer and natural beauty than the lake. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud I will pass those on to them. Thank you also for your comments regarding the quality of food that you received throughout your stay I will pass those on to our new Head Chef Noel and his team in the kitchen who are doing a great job in continuing to provide top class locally produced cuisine for our guests to enjoy. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again and thank you most sincerely once again for such a lovely report.

Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just back this evening from The Lake Hotel Killarney. Two night stay to relax and unwind and that's exactly what we both did ....heaven on earth would be my caption for The Lake Hotel,The care and attention was top class.Food was excellent both morning and evening,Staff very friendly and gave 100% attention to each and every person.gym was great the view was superb got the job done,hot tub and sauna fantastic very well run and immaculate clean,Rooms where very comfortable and welcoming..slept like a log,we will be returning to The Lake Hotel soon thank you to all the staff for making our stay a fantastic weekend for us .....Don t waste time book and try heaven on earth

Room Tip: hotel a nice drive down from entrance.....no traffic noise unlike most hotel's all on roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lake Hotel and for marking us so highly on your report. It is such a pleasure today responding to our most recent guest reviews since we re-opened and hearing how happy our guests were with the products and services that they received during their visits to us. What a lovely caption to give us Heaven on Earth thank you so much for this high praise. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the quality of food and service that you received during your stay. I will pass those on to our team who do a fantastic job in ensuring that our guests get a holiday to remember during their stays with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again and thank you most sincerely once again for such a lovely report.

Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Wow the LAKE HOTEL is the place for an relaxing time and to be spoiled ,, Food is really nice ,, best breakfast in a hotel ever congrat;ates for a delightfull breakfast buffet ,, sitting in the hot tube outside with that wonderfull view of the lakes and mountians u feel as if ur in an other world ,, we stayed in the deluxe rooms , lots of space , the views fr the double doors wow ,, Thsnk you so much for a very relaxing treat ,, trish

Room Tip: THe deluxe is so amazing with ur own jazzcui in bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lake Hotel and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely compliment that the breakfast that you enjoyed here was the best hotel breakfast that you ever experienced, the kitchen will be very pleased to hear this remark. It is always a pleasure for us to hear that our guests left after their stay feeling happy and relaxed and willing to come back to us again at some point in the future. I’m glad to hear that you also enjoyed our outdoor hot tub which is a lovely relaxing spot to enjoy the beauty of the lake, surrounding mountains and nature all around you. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again and thank you most sincerely once again for such a lovely report.

Niall Huggard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with a friend shortly after it opened for Spring. What struck me about this hotel is that it is almost the exact opposite of a soulless modern hotel. It is a family run hotel where you can feel the connection with the past. The staff were all incredibly nice and friendly and the bedroom was massive with a great view of the ruined castle on the lake. Just sitting in the lounge area in front of the fire watching people come and go was great. Dinner and breakfast were really lovely. I will come back!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hotel-kinda-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lake Hotel and for marking us so highly on your report. Thank you for choosing the Lake Hotel for your holiday in Killarney. I am so glad to hear that you picked up on “the difference family run” ethos that we have here at the lake hotel. We aim to have a relaxed and welcoming feel for all of our guests who visit us so that they can experience a home away from home feeling during their stays with us. I’m pleased to read that you were happy with the room that you were allocated during your visit and of course the views from the window of your room. The lounge is indeed a great place to just sit back, relax and enjoy the beauty of the lake outside and watch the world going by. Thank you also for your kind comments about our team who are like extended members of our family their dedication to ensuring that our guests have a great holiday with us is what makes our hotel really special. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again and thank you most sincerely once again for such a lovely report.

Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing