We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cahernane House(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,418)
Filter reviews
2,418 results
Traveller rating
1,854
406
113
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,854
406
113
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour postercastle ruinscastlelough restauranthuggard familymaster deluxe roomred deerjacuzzi bathnew wingnational parkposter bedring of kerrylough leaneold worldmain restaurantrelaxing breakmuckross housetorc waterfall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,488 - 1,493 of 2,418 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful views and a great location on a lake and bordering a national park. Minutes from downtown Killarney and Muckross House so the location could not be better. Met the GM whose grand mother founded the hotel and had a great personal conversation about the hotel as well as other must sees around the Southwest of Ireland. The Bar and restauarant were quiet and well done, perfect for a day after sightseeing with no touristy or bustling feel. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the hotel for you, but it is great for kids or a family needing a good night sleep after seeing the Ring of Kerry or the Dingle Penninsula. Killarney would be a great location as a home based for the southwest and I fully recommend this hotel as a great option.

Room Tip: The lower rooms closest to the lobby have a roof partially blocking the view. I believe they upcharge about 10 euro/night for a full view. Up to the customer whether or not it is worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is lovely to hear that you were so pleased with your recent stay with us. The lake is indeed a great location from which to base yourself for many of the fantastic tours in Killarney and the wider Kerry area. Our team here in reservations and front desk are a wealth of knowledge on Killarney and the surrounding areas and are more than happy to help our guests plan their tours during their stay with us. I do hope that you availed of our free Lake Hotel Maps during your visit to us also. Thank you for your kind personal comments I appreciate that and of course your comments on the quality of the food and service that you received in our bar and restaurant here at the hotel. We really appreciate you recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers thank you most sincerely for this. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed at the Lake many times over the last 30 years and it is consistent in high standard. This most recent visit was delightful. The room featured a 4 poster bed which was unexpected. Only down side was the tv was on a case so that the viewing from bed was blocked by one of the bed posts. But who was watching tv anyway with such a beautiful lake view! The whirlpool bathtub was a treat.

We ate both nights of our stay in the hotel...the first in the Castlelough and the second in the sun lounge. Both evenings the food was exceptional and we especially enjoyed the salmon with cream sauce and asparagus.

As always the staff was helpful and welcoming. Nice to see some familiar faces and share memories.

Just can't wait to go back to the paradise that is the Lake Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a view of the lake. The vistas truly make the stay.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is so lovely to welcome back so many familiar faces each day here at the Lake Hotel and to have the pleasure to continue our family’s long tradition in Irish hospitality. Thank you for choosing the Lake as your special holiday location in Killarney. We really appreciate your kind comments about the quality of the room and the dining here at the hotel that you experienced during your stay. I will pass your comments in particular regarding the Salmon with cream sauce and asparagus on to Noel and his team in the kitchen. What a lovely comment to make that the lake hotel is paradise thank you most sincerely for this. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the lake hotel. The hotel was in a great location - within walking distance of the town center, but away from the hustle and bustle. The staff were very helpful and friendly, as were our fellow guests. The room was great, large Jacuzzi and a fabulous view with a nice balcony. The restaurant was excellent as was the hotel's pub.

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake and with a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicago821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is so lovely responding to these Trip Advisor reviews today to know that our guests went away after their holiday feeling happy, relaxed and pleased with the service that they received during their visit here to us. We are indeed blessed with our location here on the lake with the beauty of the lake, surrounding mountains and the nature all around us. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud I will pass those on to them. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.

Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I are just back from another trip to the Lake Hotel and again it was another fantastic experience. We were greeted by Niamh in Reception who made us feel most welcome. The view of the lakes from our room was breath taking and the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. We dined in the bar and David was our waiter for the evening and couldn't have been more helpful. Everyone is the bar was friendly and helpful which ensured our stay was all the more enjoyable. The food was delicious and very plentiful. Both Niall and Joe Hubbard made every effort to ensure our stay was perfect and couldn't be more obliging. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning there again in the months ahead

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lakeside view!! Breathtaking
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is such a pleasure for us here at the lake to be able to welcome guests back to us time and time again on repeat visits. We take it as a huge compliment that our guests choose to spend their special holiday time here with us thank you most sincerely for this. Thank you for your lovely comments about members of our team in particular Niamh, David and my brother Joe I will pass those on to them. We are very lucky here at the hotel to have a team dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests have a fantastic holiday where they can make memories to treasure while they are here with us. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.

Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a night on our honeymoon. We booked the roman themed room. The room looked absolutely unbelievable but the smell of smoke of the room was disappointing. I couldn't see if it was supposed to be a non smoking room or not but I can only assume the previous occupant had smoked in it. The room also had an absolutely huge jacuzzi bath, but the hot water never worked properly and took us nearly an hour to get water warm enough to even have a shower. The same happened the next morning again. We did let the hotel know that night and the morning upon checkout but they didn't seem overly concerned even though it did put a dampener on our stay here and we both agreed we wouldn't stay there again just because of that.

The food in the hotel restaurant was very good, as was the service and the views from the hotel are breathtaking and probably some of the best you will ever have from any hotel in the world.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank djcacs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for choosing the Lake Hotel for your holiday in Killarney. Firstly congratulations on your recent wedding I hope that you had a fantastic day out and that you have many happy years to come together. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the quality of food and service that you received in the Castlelough Restaurant and of course about the beautiful views from the hotel. I’m very sorry that you got a smell of smoke in the Roman Theme Room which is a beautiful room and great for romantic occasions such as honeymoons as it offers a real touch of luxury. All of our rooms here at the hotel are non smoking as per legislation. Unfortunately a previous occupant of the room must have smoked in the room and I apologise for that. I will bring this to the attention of our accommodation team to ensure that all rooms are well aired out should they get a smell of smoke at any stage in the future. Thank you for taking the time to report this to us once again and congratulations again.


Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews