We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cahernane House(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,415)
Filter reviews
2,415 results
Traveller rating
1,852
406
112
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,852
406
112
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour postercastle ruinscastlelough restauranthuggard familymaster deluxe roomred deerjacuzzi bathnew wingnational parkposter bedring of kerrylough leaneold worldmain restaurantrelaxing breakmuckross housetorc waterfall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,482 - 1,487 of 2,415 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the lake hotel at least five times now a kept meaning to do a review, if your looking for excellent staff and a relaxing getaway look no further, the Huggard family pull out all the stops. Food in the in the bar and restaurant are excellent as well. Also a very romantic setting in the evening time at the back of the hotel ( this is where I popped the question two years ago ) on the nicely lit walk way by the lake. Can't wait for our next stay to relax in the Canadian hot tub followed by a Guinness in the Devils Punchbowl. Eric & Aine

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is always a huge pleasure to welcome guests back on repeat visits to us we really appreciate you choosing to spend your special holiday time with us. I see that you choose the lake as the location to pop the question two years ago so I hope the hotel will always have fond memories for you. We are very lucky to have the privilege of being able to help our guests make memories to treasure during their special holiday time with us. I will pass your kind comments regarding the food and the bar on to our team here at the hotel. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lake Hotel in early September 2013. It was an excellent base to explore Kerry and Dingle areas by car. Tours are also available. If you stay there, spring the extra for a lake view room. The view is spectacular: deer grazing in the evening, mountains and cloud, the sunset, and finally we were honoured on our last day there with a beautiful rainbow. We had a spacious room on an upper floor. We were torn between giving the hotel a 4 or a 5. We opted for a 4, since in places it is a tiny bit tired. Service was good, but given the large size of the hotel and the number of guests at that time of year, it did not feel personalized. We ate the breakfast buffet each morning and it was good but the atmosphere was very bustling. We also ate at the bar and the food and service there was also good. The hotel is within walking distance of Killarney town centre (about 1/2 hour walk along sidewalks at a reasonable pace). The walk is more enjoyable when it isn't raining :-). The main Ring of Kerry road and national park are a short distance from the hotel.

We would stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtravcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is lovely to hear that you were so pleased with your recent stay with us. Thank you for posting the lovely photos that you took during your visit also to show readers what the views are like from the hotel. I’m glad to see from the photos that you had a chance to see the deer during your visit who visit us on a regular basis to the delight of our guests. I do hope that you availed of our free Lake Hotel Maps during your visit to us as they outline some of Killarney and the wider Kerry area’s most popular attractions along with some hidden gems and are very handy if you are driving the Ring Of Kerry or the Dingle Peninsula yourself. We really appreciate you recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers in your report thank you most sincerely for this. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for taking the time to post your report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The view at the lake is amazing. The furniture is outdated, but it seems part of the hotel is renovated now. The room was spacious and clean. Bathrobes and slippers are provided.
I had a burger for dinner, which was good, but the breakfast was disappointing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay at The Lake Hotel for your holiday to Killarney. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the view from the hotel being amazing we are very lucky indeed to be blessed with what we feel is one of the most beautiful locations in the world. I’m sorry that you did not like the antique furniture in the hotel the hotel is a very old building and we feel that it is in keeping with our history to have the old world theme. However we realise that people’s tastes vary and we also have a modern section to the hotel so we are doing our best to try to cater to all tastes. Thank you for your comments about the room being spacious and clean I will pass this on to our accommodation team who do a great job in keeping our rooms in tip top condition for our guest’s enjoyment. I’m glad that you enjoyed your meal here at the hotel at dinner time and I note your comments regarding your breakfast. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your stay.
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful views and a great location on a lake and bordering a national park. Minutes from downtown Killarney and Muckross House so the location could not be better. Met the GM whose grand mother founded the hotel and had a great personal conversation about the hotel as well as other must sees around the Southwest of Ireland. The Bar and restauarant were quiet and well done, perfect for a day after sightseeing with no touristy or bustling feel. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the hotel for you, but it is great for kids or a family needing a good night sleep after seeing the Ring of Kerry or the Dingle Penninsula. Killarney would be a great location as a home based for the southwest and I fully recommend this hotel as a great option.

Room Tip: The lower rooms closest to the lobby have a roof partially blocking the view. I believe they upcharge about 10 euro/night for a full view. Up to the customer whether or not it is worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is lovely to hear that you were so pleased with your recent stay with us. The lake is indeed a great location from which to base yourself for many of the fantastic tours in Killarney and the wider Kerry area. Our team here in reservations and front desk are a wealth of knowledge on Killarney and the surrounding areas and are more than happy to help our guests plan their tours during their stay with us. I do hope that you availed of our free Lake Hotel Maps during your visit to us also. Thank you for your kind personal comments I appreciate that and of course your comments on the quality of the food and service that you received in our bar and restaurant here at the hotel. We really appreciate you recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers thank you most sincerely for this. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed at the Lake many times over the last 30 years and it is consistent in high standard. This most recent visit was delightful. The room featured a 4 poster bed which was unexpected. Only down side was the tv was on a case so that the viewing from bed was blocked by one of the bed posts. But who was watching tv anyway with such a beautiful lake view! The whirlpool bathtub was a treat.

We ate both nights of our stay in the hotel...the first in the Castlelough and the second in the sun lounge. Both evenings the food was exceptional and we especially enjoyed the salmon with cream sauce and asparagus.

As always the staff was helpful and welcoming. Nice to see some familiar faces and share memories.

Just can't wait to go back to the paradise that is the Lake Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a view of the lake. The vistas truly make the stay.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is so lovely to welcome back so many familiar faces each day here at the Lake Hotel and to have the pleasure to continue our family’s long tradition in Irish hospitality. Thank you for choosing the Lake as your special holiday location in Killarney. We really appreciate your kind comments about the quality of the room and the dining here at the hotel that you experienced during your stay. I will pass your comments in particular regarding the Salmon with cream sauce and asparagus on to Noel and his team in the kitchen. What a lovely comment to make that the lake hotel is paradise thank you most sincerely for this. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews