We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be beaten”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have stayed at the Lake hotel on several occasions. It had been a number of years since our last visit, so we were dying to get back. Our most recent visit was as nice as ever. Firstly, the scenery is breathtaking. If you pay a bit extra for a superior lakeside room, you really have done yourself a huge favour. The hotel is on Lough Leane, and the stunning mountains are a wonderful backdrop also. The hotel was busy on our stay because there was a party of around 100 hillwalkers staying there for a full week. This meant that the main restaurant was booked out, and other guests ate in an anteroom at the back of the restaurant, or were served restaurant food in the bar. Anyway, it didn't matter. The service was still as efficient and cordial as ever. Nothing is too much of a problem for the staff here. They are so polite and obliging. As for the food in the bar (bistro) and the restaurant, it was stunning. I had a rib eye steak from the restaurant and it was beyond compare. I ate every pick of it. My wife was also very impressed with the food. The breakfast service is great too and the food lovely. For our three nights B&B including one dinner for two, it came in at around €450. It's not cheap, but most of Killarney is pricey. On this trip, we decided to have fun on one of the rainy days by taking a mini tour of other hotels in Killarney. We had a cup of tea or a soft drink in about 7 other hotels. Some of them were nice, but none of them are as nice as the Lake Hotel. No hotel can boast the stunning view or the old world charm that the Lake Hotel boasts. Needless to say we shall return, and will be encouraging our friends to take advantage of a little piece of heaven too

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms are lovely. They are not much dearer than the rooms that face into the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Wow what a lovely report, it is just so nice to read that our guests are so happy with their stays. We always love to welcome guests back to the hotel and to provide a home away from home feeling during their stays. We are extremely lucky to have a team that will do their very best to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful time while here at the lake. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the standard of food that you received here at the hotel. It sounds like that rib eye went down a treat. Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen use only the very best locally produced products to ensure a top class dining experience for our guests. I’m glad to read that the lake remains number one on your list following your mini tour of the other Killarney hotels we appreciate your loyalty. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you for choosing the Lake Hotel and for recommending us so highly to others.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from staying in this lovely hotel for one night. Wish we stayed longer.. Best views in all Killarney, lovely walks around the lake. Staff very friendly! The deluxe room with the lake view is way to go! Looking forward to going back already and jumping back into outdoor jacuzzi bath!

Room Tip: lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makita_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. The deluxe lake view rooms are a real treat alright as you can see from the lovely photo you included with your report. What a beautiful view to look out on and to just take in the nature all around us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud I will pass those on to them. It sounds like you enjoyed our outdoor hot tub a lovely relaxing way to spend a while just chilling out and enjoying the beauty of the mountains and the lake outside. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and perhaps we might be able to stay a bit longer with us on your next visit.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stay here every year wouldnt stay anywhere else. The staff are great especially the bar staff :) room was lovely as always we stay in the roman theme room a bit extra price wise but worth every penny. The food was outstanding I am a coeliac and there was no issue with options one of the reasons I love the place.And last but not least the grounds are to die for well maintained great for pictures a relaxing spot for that extra special break x

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank donna7645360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely thing to say about our hotel “A piece of heaven in Kerry” thank you so much for these kind words. We are indeed extremely lucky with the beautiful views that we have here at the lake. You could never tire of looking out those windows no matter what the weather every vista has a unique charm all of its own. We always love to welcome our guests back on repeat visits and we really appreciate you choosing to stay with us for your special holidays. The Roman Room is beautiful alright and very popular with our guests for special occasions. I’m glad to see that you found our Coeliac options suit your needs, Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen are very conscious of special dietary requirements as we know how important these are to the enjoyment of our guests stay. We want to make sure that all of our guests get a top class dining experience during their stays with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you for choosing the Lake Hotel again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Superb large lake view room with big jacuzzi bath. In the morning opened the curtains to see the stunning view complete with deer roaming across the path. Stunning.
The staff were very helpful. Worth getting a local taxi into Killarny so you can enjoy some of the many pubs in town!
It is also worth taking a walk in the grounds and perusing the exhibits around the hotel. Very interesting history this hotel has.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. There is indeed no nicer view to pull the curtains open to in the morning than the beautiful Lough Lein outside your window with the deer grazing peacefully down by the old Mc Carthy M¬ór Castle and the mist rising from the lake with the morning’s sun popping up over the mountains to greet you. Thank you for your kind comments about our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud I will pass those on to them. Killarney town itself which is only a few minutes from the hotel is a great place to do a little shopping or to visit some of the local pubs and listen to some music in the evening. We also have our own Devil’s Punchbowl bar here at the hotel which has live music on selected nights for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel’s history which is very important to us. The hotel has a history rich in stories and folklore and we are only too pleased to share this with our guests. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Visited in early April 14. Impressed by marvellous staff particularly well anchored by Catherine at the Front Desk - full of local knowledge, facts & directions from the habits of the local Red Deer to history of the hotel & immediate area. Efficient staff, interesting fun clients. Great location. Wonderful beautician Kristen who knows her subject. Happily recommend this hotel. Colette.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridor result in just 1 neighbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColetteOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on you report. It sounds like you had a wonderful time during your visit to Killarney. We are very lucky here at the lake to be blessed with some of the most beautiful surrounds in the world and to have the wildlife at our doorstep including the beautiful deer, the white tailed eagles and many more. Our team at front desk are indeed a wealth of knowledge on Killarney and the wider Kerry area and are delighted to be able to help our guests plan to get the very most out of their trips to Killarney. We also have specially made Lake Hotel maps and tour brochures available free of charge to our guests so make sure and avail of these during your stay. I will pass your compliments on to Catherine on front desk and Kirstin our beautician as you mention them in particular in your report both of them are fantastic members of our team and we are always making sure that our guests have a wonderful experience during their stays with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned home from our third fantastic visit to The Lake Hotel, this time we stayed for three nights. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the location is fantastic. Food is excellent in both the bar and the restaurant and you have to experience the spa and a treatment with Kristen, she is the best! I am very happy to recommend this hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: We were disappointed with the Superior bedroom so we upgraded to a Deluxe bedroom which I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philomena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on you report. It is so nice to be able to welcome our guests back to us on repeat visits and we take it as a huge compliment that you choose to spend your special holiday time with us here at the lake. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud. Thank you also for your kind words about the quality of the food in both the Lake side bistro and our Castlelough restaurant I will pass those on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen who do a great job producing top class locally produced food for our guests to enjoy. I will also pass your compliments on to Kirstin our beauty therapist as you mention her in particular in your review. Kirstin is a fantastic member of our team and is a wealth of knowledge for our guests on all things wellness and beauty. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Visited in March 2014 to celebrate above. Was treated royally.
Returned again last week (April). This is a fab hotel, family run and has the best customer service I have come across. Great location, great food and great service especially from Annette in reception.
Anne (cork)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on you report. Congratulations on your retirement and I hope that your birthday break was made all the more enjoyable by staying with us here at the lake for the celebrations. Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding our team here at the hotel we feel extremely lucky to have such dedicated and loyal employees here at the hotel and it is lovely to know that our guests pick up on this too. I will pass your special mention on to Annette in reception who only joined us this year and is already blended into the hotel like she was here for years already and doing a wonderful job looking after our guests. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,387 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,629 reviews
1.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
3.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £99 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing