We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic hotel in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here with my fiancee at the weekend and it was a wonderful experience. We stayed in the deluxe roman room. An amazing room and a real treat. The only thing is that it does not have a view of the lake (it overlooks the carpark) but we knew that we would not have a lake view so we weren't disappointed.

All the staff were very friendly. We had lunch in the bistro which was delicious and breakfast was very nice the next morning.

The grounds in the hotel are stunning. We can't wait to go and stay there again although next time we will definitely book a room with a lake view.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma12092014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Congratulations on your engagement and I hope that you enjoyed your romantic weekend at the lake. The Roman Deluxe room is a beautiful room that is great for a special occasion or a romantic break, that particular room does not have the lake view but is done up the majestic and beautiful Roman style to make up for this. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the quality of the food you received throughout your stay I will pass these on to Noel and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in making sure our guests get a great dining experience during their time with us. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the grounds around the hotel, they area great place to spend some time taking in the beauty of the views and the nature that surround us. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    338
    91
    26
    11
See reviews for
342
1,157
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We first visited in September 2013, and found we couldn't stay away so returned for Easter 2014. The hotel remains in our top ten of all time. Our Deluxe Lake View room was spacious and comfortable, and well worth the premium. The top tip if to wake up early and look out towards the lake for excellent red deer sightings.
The hotel is full of old world charm, making a lot of its interesting history with displays of old pictures and documents which brings to life the historic appeal of the place.
The food was excellent. The main restaurant for dinner is luxury dining, but is good value, and we appreciated the dedicated vegetarian menu. - A few changes to the menu would have been welcome over a 4 night stay. The food in the bar area is also high quality and reasonably priced, so we saw no need to head into the town where prices looked similar.
The weather was kind during our stay, but regardless of rain or shine the outdoor hot tub and the sauna were well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely comment to say that you couldn’t stay away we really appreciate this compliment. We are indeed extremely lucky here at the lake to be blessed with the most beautiful views and I have to agree that it’s a top tip to pull the curtains open early in the morning and look out at the deer grazing on the lawn, the mist rising off the lake, the beautiful Mc Carthy Mór Castle and scenic mountains in the backdrop complete the scene. I’m glad to read that you found the historical element of that building and the memorabilia that we have throughout the hotel added to the appeal of the hotel. The hotel dates back to 1820 and it is lovely to have this history to share with our guests. I’m pleased to read also that you availed of our specialist vegetarian menu which we introduced last year and has proven to be a big hit with our vegetarian and non vegetarian guests alike. Our team here in the kitchen work hard to ensure that all dietary groups are well catered for during their stay as we recognise that this is a very important part of our guest’s overall enjoyment of their stays. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our first trip to Ireland. We rented a car, and took our time exploring the scenic back roads of the beautiful Irish countryside. We had no itinerary, so when we decided to stop, we just found a place to stay each night. We came across the Lake Hotel - and found an incredible gem! Our room was spectacular - overlooking the tranquil, gorgeous lake. It was impeccably clean, with our own private veranda. We had a delicious dinner in the pub that evening, and a most amazing breakfast buffet the following morning. The grounds were beautifully manicured, offering well kept paths to stroll through out the property. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and accommodating.
We would love to come back to the area again soon - and can't wait to stay at the Lake Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely holiday being able to explore the beauty of the Irish countryside and pick your favourite spots to stop and stay a while spontaneously. It is lovely to read that you were so pleased with your stay with us and that you were so happy with the standard of your room. Many of our rooms have their own balconies and they are a lovely place to sit and take in the beauty of the nature all around you. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the standard of food that you received here at the hotel I will pass these on to Noel and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in producing top class, locally sourced cuisine for our guests to enjoy. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again if you choose to come back to us here in Ireland and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This place has a wonderful relaxed and quiet atmosphere about it. Perfect for a true getaway. Now I would say that I think the rooms could do with a bit of a revamp and the walls are paper thin! But there are some 5 star hotels in the area that could not hold a candle to calm ambience this place just naturally posses. Excellent breakfast and lunch. We were delighted with its location to the killarney park and an amazing view of the lake. In fact ,on our first night we had the pleasure of watching a dear leisurely pass by as we drank our coffees admiring the beautiful view of the lake which was the highlight of our stay. It would appear that a more mature guest is drawn here which in my opinion only adds to it's appeal.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for choosing the Lake Hotel for your holiday to Killarney. The Lake is indeed a great place for a true getaway and a great place to just kick back relax and forget the everyday worries of the world. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend it so highly to others we really appreciate this. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the standard of the food that you received at breakfast and lunch I will pass these on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in ensuring our guests get the very best local produce cooked with creativity and flair. I’m glad to read that you got to see the wild deer during your stay they are here on the lawn this morning also grazing by the early morning sunlight at the edge of the lake and I can see that our guests are looking out and enjoying the beauty of it all. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobh, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

What can one say about Killarney, so many wonderful places to go and take in, but over the years one try, I am so glad to have been to various places within the Killarney region, and all superb, yes, such places like the Lake Hotel has all what is good in the area, it has such views and walking places that is breath taking if not to walk but to just switch off and let the out side be forgotten about, you should try it,

Room Tip: April is a month in which one can have all seasons in the one day, but just a wind breaker would do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Yes we are very lucky here in Killarney to be blessed with a wealth of beautiful places and great things to do and see for our guests. I do hope that you availed of our free Lake Hotel Maps and information brochures during your visit as they outline some of our recommendations of not to miss hidden gems to see and do during your visit. Our team here at front office are a wealth of information on Killarney and the wider Kerry area and are only too happy to advise our guests on the must sees during their visits. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

You should consider staying here for the location. The lake is beautiful and the opportunity and paths for walks or runs in the surrounding woods is ample. The hotel is aged and not always in the best way. The rooms are cramped and unfortunately furniture has been crammed into them. The price is a bit high for the accommodations.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for choosing the Lake Hotel for your holiday to Killarney. We are indeed blessed here at the Lake with the views that we are spoiled with. Looking out the windows here no matter what the weather is sure to lift the spirits and relax the soul. The hotel is indeed an old building dating back to 1820 and is decorated with this in mind which we feel gives the hotel part of its charm and links it to its history which is important to us as its sets us apart from some of the more modern hotels. All of our rooms have all modern conveniences and services for our guests to enjoy. I’m disappointed to read that you found your room cramped, It’s a pity you didn’t contact front desk about this during your stay as we would have been more than happy to show you some other rooms that would have better suited your needs. We always strive to offer the very best accommodation to our guests and make them as comfortable and relaxed during their stay as possible so that they can enjoy their stay to the full so please don’t ever hesitate to contact our team on front desk or any member of our team if you have something that you want addressed. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFORD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a mid-week break recently. It is such a relaxing and beautiful place. The grounds and view is out of this world. The hotel itself is old fashioned with loads of history about the owners around the place which I found very interesting. We arrived on a Tuesday and had the roman deluxe suite booked.... This room is unreal the only drawback with it is it has no view of the lake!! Next time I go there I will book a lake view room. We ate in the bar on Tuesday night and it was lovely we sat by the window and took in the beautiful views, this was followed by a lovely stroll around the grounds. On Wednesday we walked down to killarney national park which is only a few mins away and a must!!! We had beautiful weather on the days we where there so when we got back from our walk we played tennis outside which was good fun. We then sat outside the bar enjoying the views and weather. Breakfast both mornings was lovely they had everything we wanted. All the staff we came across where lovely and friendly. I can't wait to return we really had a super stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ANNERS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. That is the life sitting out on the Lake Shore with a nice drink and taking in the beauty and tranquillity that surrounds us here at the lake. Thank you also for posting your lovely photos of our Roman Room and the views from the hotel for Trip Advisors to see. We are indeed very lucky here at the lake to be only a stone’s throw from some of the most popular and scenic attractions in Killarney yet lovely and secluded at the same time. I’m glad to see that you visited Muckross House and got some lovely weather to enjoy during the few days you were here. Killarney is a great place that way so much to do and see your only problem is where to start. We really appreciate you kind comments regarding your stay and for recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely review.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing