We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Rooms were excellent. Service was outstanding. We had the breakfast included in the price and the breakfast was excellent. The view from our room of the lake was gorgeous. Great pub for a drunk before dinner and then a night cap also. Highly recommend this location..

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Medwards49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us here in the lake. Nothing gives us greater pleasure than to know that our guests left us feeling happy and relaxed and pleased with the service that they received during their visits to us. I’m glad to read that you were particulary pleased with the quality of the breakfast that you received during your visit I will make sure and pass your comments on to Tomas our breakfast chef who does a wonderful job in ensuring our breakfast offering gives our guests the very best possible start to their day. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you most sincerely for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    344
    91
    26
    11
See reviews for
362
1,188
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in the Lake Hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday, and had a wonderful time. All of the staff were friendly and helpful at all times, from the lady cleaning the rooms to the manager, Niall; the reception staff, as well as restaurant and bistro staff - an excellent culture of genuine customer care throughout. The 4 poster room on the 5th floor was fantastic, and everything was as I had requested by email. Breakfasts were delicious, as was food in the restaurant and the bistro, and scones outdoors on the day of our arrival. We couldn't find any fault at all - thank you for a memorable stay, and God willing we hope to return to Lake Hotel in beautiful Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It sounds like your husband had a fantastic birthday weekend to remember and I hope it was made all the more special by staying with us here at the lake. We really appreciate your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel who do a wonderful job in ensuring that our guests have a great holiday experience during their stay with us. It is lovely to read that you were so pleased with the room that you were allocated. The four poster rooms are beautiful alright and have some wonderful views of the lake, the mountains and the Mc Carthy Mór Castle here on the grounds of the hotel a perfect place to just switch off, relax and take in the beauty of the nature all around us. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding the quality of food that you received throughout your visit I will pass these on to Noel our Head Chef and his team in the kitchen who always ensure our guests get a great Irish dining experience during their visits to us. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you most sincerely for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

One of the best places we have ever stayed during a vacation. The room was perfect with a gorgeous bathroom. We were most impressed by the food and wait staff. Many have said that the Irish are the most friendly people in their travels, well they are right and the staff at The Lake Hotel have proven that!!! We have never encountered such sincere, selfless, genuine people and we are grateful to have had the opportunity to stay at this place. The view was stunning, the lake peaceful, the local things to do were abundant!!! We highly recommend this location to anyone traveling to the Killarney region. We were able to see the lakes, Dingle, and Killarney during our stay and the hotel was a great location to enjoy these areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your trip so much and after such a long trip it is only right. I’m pleased to read that you were happy with the room that you were allocated and particularly with the bathroom. Your comments regarding our team here at the hotel are much appreciated. We are extremely lucky to have a team of wonderful people from all over the world who make it their business to ensure that every guest who stays with us has a warm welcome and an enjoyable holiday experience while staying with us. It is great to read that you got to take in so many sights over your stay with us. Our team here at front desk are a wealth of information on Killarney and the wider Kerry area and are only too happy to assist our guests in choosing the very best things to do and see during their stay. I hope that you availed of our free Lake Hotel Maps which are a lovely memento to take with you after your holiday. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you most sincerely once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights last May. We loved the location and views from the property. We had a ten minute walk to the National Park or back to town. The restaurant, bistro, and bar on site were all great options for dining and entertainment. We stayed at another location the night before and received great advice from someone named Ethel there that we must dine at the restaurant, and I'm glad she insisted. The room was small but lovely, and it had a nice bathtub for a bubble bath after listening to the traditional music downstairs one evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay with us for your holiday to Killarney. The photos that you posted with your review are lovely and give other Trip Advisor readers and idea of what the hotel is like thank you for that. I’m glad that you were so pleased with the dining experience here at the hotel. Noel our Head Chef and Anthony our Restaurant Manager and their teams always do their very best to ensure that all of our guests get the very best locally sourced foods served by our friendly team to ensure a fantastic dining experience for our guests to enjoy. We are very lucky indeed to be right in Killarney’s National Park and yet only a stone’s throw from Killarney town and all it has to offer so the best of both worlds for our guests. I’m pleased to read also that you were happy with the room that you were allocated and found it comfortable to relax in. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Ga
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed in 6 hotels during our trip to Ireland and this was by far the best. Gorgeous setting, quiet, large rooms and reasonably well appointed. Most of the Killarney hotels are on this road and we were there during Bikefest which brought gridlock to this small town. Had 2 minor repair issues which were handled immediately on a Sunday. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. They are reasonably plentiful and adds to the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is so kind of you to point out that the Lake was your favourite of the six hotels you stayed in during your trip to Ireland thank you for this lovely compliment. It sounds like you had a great holiday in Killarney. The Bikefest is indeed a very busy time to visit but it is also a great time to visit as there is a great ambiance in the town itself and lots of events on in the area at that time. We are very lucky here in Killarney to have so many exciting events organised throughout the summer and winter months as these enhance our guest’s visits to us even further. I’m pleased to read that there was a quick reaction from our maintenance team to the repair issues that you had during your stay and that they were sorted out for you right away. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Would stay in this hotel at least twice a year, and have stayed as a family and as romantic weekend, the location is great right on the lake, and the deer come up to the hotel most evenings, and always a lovely view first thing in the morning with your breakfast. The food in the bar is second to none, and the service always first class. Bedrooms are traditional and beautiful. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Killarney and would only stay in the Lake Hotel from now on, great staff and a stunning hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely comment to make that you “would only stay in the Lake Hotel from now on” we really appreciate these kind words, your loyalty and you recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers. It always gives us great pleasure to welcome guests back on repeat visits and to be able to provide a home away form home in Killarney for our guests here at the lake. Thank you for your kind words regarding the quality of food that you received during your stay. I will pass this on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen who do a fantastic job in providing our guests with top class, locally sourced tasty cuisine. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic. The view from our room was one of the most beautiful we've ever had at any hotel. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very nice. The only drawback was the bedding which had very old blankets. I would think at this type of hotel, they would have updated their bedding and gotten away from nasty blankets. But don't let that keep you away. We would go back to this hotel in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. I’m pleased to read that you were impressed with our location. We are extremely lucky indeed to be situated right in Killarney’s beautiful National Park and yet be only a stone’s throw away from Killarney town and all it has to offer. The view that our guest’s pull open the curtains to in the morning is always a tonic the beauty of the lake, surrounding mountains and the 12th centaury Mc Carthy Mór Castle never fails to impress. I note your comments regarding the blankets and I’m sorry that you did not find them comfortable it’s a pity that you didn’t let us know during your stay as we also have duvets available for guests who prefer duvets and we are more than happy to provide these for our guests. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing