We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven in Killarney”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a fantastic place to stay in Killarney, hotel has so much character and history. The rooms are really nice, spacious and really comfy beds. Amazing breakfast, dinner in the restaurant was pretty exquisite and the staff could not possibly have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have stunning views. Even got to see some of the wild deer wandering around by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LyndaHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It looks like you had a great holiday here in Killarney and that you really enjoyed yourself. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel being full of so much character and history. The hotel has been welcoming guests since 1820 so we are very lucky to have a rich history full of stories and folklore to share with our guests. I’m glad to read that you were pleased with the room that you were allocated during your visit. Kathleen and her team in accommodation do a great job in ensuring that our rooms are cosy, comfortable and in tip top condition for our guests to enjoy. Thank you also for your lovely comments about the high quality of food and service that you received during your stay. I’m glad to read also that you got a chance to see our beautiful native deer who visit us regularly during your stay, they are really beautiful and our guests are always delighted to see them. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a very good hotel in a really special location.
The hotel is privately owned, and is not part of a chain.
The only hotel in Killarney situated on the lakeside.
The staff are efficient and attentive.
A lake view room is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It looks like you had a great holiday here in Killarney and that you really enjoyed yourself. Thank you for your comments about the hotel being family owned and standalone hotel making it different to the big chain hotels. Our family has been involved in the Irish Hospitality Industry for over 100 years and we are extremely proud to continue this tradition today by making sure that all of our guests experience a taste of true Irish Hospitality during their time in Killarney. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud I will pass these on to them. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel again, previous reviews are on the site, cannot add much to them. As usual excellent staff and wonderful views, rooms clean and well furnished, food in both Bistro and Restaurant is excellent with new menu and Chef. Some new staff and some 'old' faces, all are helpful, friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Many types of room to choose from, lake views are the best. Four poster deluxe have air con and exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It always gives us great pleasure to be able to continue to welcome guests back to us on a regular basis and to be able to provide our guests with a home away from home here in Killarney. Reading through and responding to our recent Trip Advisor reports today really made me so happy to know that our guests are enjoying their stays with us so much. I will make sure and pass your kind comments to Noel our new head chef who joined us this year, he has been doing a fantastic job together with his team in the kitchen in providing an exciting, tasty and locally sourced menu for our guests to enjoy. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Killarney. You should definitely get the lake view, otherwise choose another place. Every morning we saw deer wading into the lake covered with lilly pads. It is a very special place.
That being said, it does have it's problems. Many of the rooms are very dated...the first room my parents were given had a bed that was depressed in the middle, obviously very old. Their tv was the old style CRT...do they even make them anymore? Some of the furniture in our rooms was very worn and broken down. There is no air conditioning in the hotel at all! I"m
sure this is usually not a problem, but while we were there, Ireland was undergoing some unusually high temps and we had to leave our outside doors and windows opened at night to cool off our rooms enough to be comfortable to sleep in. My parents had to be moved from 3rd floor to 2nd floor due to the sauna like quality of their room, even after they brought fans up to help cool it off. Also they had a room over the bar (on first floor) that had live music playing until midnight and upon calling the front desk they were told there was nothing that could be done. My parents were not happy.
Even with all the initial disappointment upon some of the problems with our rooms, by the end of our stay, we all loved the hotel. Most of the staff were super nice, the old style of the hotel became charming, and the beautiful walks you could take around the grounds and the lakes were incredible. If we ever return, we would not consider any othe hotel.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the opposite side of the bar and restaurant Definitely get a lake side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. All the way from Pennsylvania, you had a long journey to make it to our little corner of the world here in Killarney. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the lake and what a compliment to mention that if you returned to Killarney you would stay nowhere but here we really appreciate you kind words. We are indeed blessed to have such a beautiful view to pull the curtains open to in the morning. Looking out at the Lough Lein, the Mc Carthy Mór Castle and the beauty of the mountains and nature that surrounds us always does one good. I see that you stayed with us during the very warm weather and I’m sorry to read that your parents found their room to be too warm. We do have air conditioning in some rooms but not in all rooms. We do have fans available for guest’s convenience for the rare event of such hot weather should they be needed. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud I will pass your kind words on to them. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you and your family back to the lake in the future and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel on the lake and the views from your room are spectacular! That said our rooms were very dated with worn rugs and stained furniture. Very disapponted in that.

Vicky at the front desk is a fine employee and should be commended for her attitude and helpfulness to the guests.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank mickeyanddonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay with us for your holiday to Killarney. I’m glad to read that you were pleased with the views that you experienced while here at the lake. We are indeed very lucky to be situated right in Killarney’s beautiful National Park and to be only a stone’s throw from Killarney town itself and all it has to offer. Looking out on the beauty of the lake and the nature that surrounds it will only do one good. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Vicky here at Front Desk she is a wonderful member of the team and does a fantastic job in welcoming our guests and looking after them throughout their stay with us. I will make sure and pass these on to her. I’m sorry to read that you were not happy with the room that you were allocated. It’s a pity that you didn’t bring this to our attention during your stay as we would have been more than happy to show you a selection of other rooms from which to choose. We have a variety of rooms available to suit all tastes from the more traditional to the modern and we always want our guests to be happy with their selected room. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our recent tour of southern Ireland. The location here is beautiful- right on the lake with wonderful views. The setting alone is worth the stay!

The hotel is historic- which we loved walking around and reading the history and looking at the old photographs. The bar staff was EXCELLENT, the music in the evenings delightful, and the restaurant very good. Breakfast was a buffet with many choices and everything we had was good-and the views over the lake are a perfect way to start your day. Service all around was excellent. There is lots of outside seating to relax and enjoy the scenery.

It's close enough to walk around Killarney National Park- we walked to the Muckross Abby. and we loved that there was an old part of a home on the property that's original. It's only a short drive to Killarney too.

Our room was in the older historic part and it was spacious, though a bit dated. We were also on the top floor which was quiet but our balcony was only a half- the view was there but we had to stand to really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeraldaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay with us for your holiday to Killarney. The photos that you posted with your review are lovely particularly the Al Fresco Area which is a delightful place to sit, relax and take in the beauty of the lake, surrounding mountains and the 12th Centuary Mc Carthy Mór Castle here on the grounds of the hotel. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed the historic feel of the hotel. We feel that the history, stories and folklore of the building add hugely to our guests experience and are something to be celebrated. Our team in the bar are a very capable group and never short of the bit of fun and mischief to keep our guests entertained I will make sure and pass your compliments on to them. I’m glad to read also that you were pleased with the service that you received throughout the hotel during your visit and I will pass that on to our team here at the hotel. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed recently in the Lake Hotel, Killarney, was upgraded to,a suite, which was just simply wonderful. Staff extremely helpful, couldn't do enough for you, had a meal in the bar restaurant one night, had the most wonderful sea bass!!!!! If the opportunity comes along to,stay in the Lake Hotel, it is a must. ,the scenery is just beautiful there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceptab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. I’m so pleased to read that your holiday with us was such a success. We really appreciate you recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor Readers. I’m glad to read that you were pleased with your upgrade it is lovely to be able to give these extra little touches when we can and to enhance our guest’s stays with us even further. Thank you for your kind comments also regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud as they always ensure to do their very best to deliver and exceptional holiday experience to our guests. I will pass those on to them. The Sea Bass is a great dish indeed as are many of the dishes on our menu here at the hotel. Our team in the kitchen always do a great job in sourcing and preparing the very best of local produce for our guests to enjoy during their stays with us and continue to update and refresh our menus regularly to ensure variety for our guests. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you most sincerely for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,498 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,627 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £99 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing