We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We traveled Ireland with no itinerary and reservations for our first and last nights--only. By accident we found Lake Hotel; what a fantastic place. Our room was as fine as any five star in NYC--and we have stayed in several. The view was astonishing, truly. We wondered the grounds and marveled at our good luck. I only hope others have the same experience we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank paths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely way to travel with no itinerary and reservations for the first and last night a great idea on your part so as to allow you the option of picking your favourite spot to return to. We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel here being as fine as any five star in New York thank you. I’m glad to read that you were impressed with the views of the lake, surrounding mountains and the beauty of the nature around us here at the lake. It is indeed a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy Killarney’s beautiful sights. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us if your return to Ireland again in the future and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,300)
There are newer reviews for Lake Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had Sunday lunch in the Lake hotel recently and as usual the standard was very good. I have stayed here a few times; while the Hotel has a dated look about it, this is part of the charm of the place. The view from the Hotel is breathtaking but what really makes either a stay or a meal there are the staff. They are so customer focused, they want everybody to have a great experience. I had always associated the Lake Hotel as being suitable for an “older2 age group but on my last visit I was delighted to see many family groups and many young people. Word is getting around. This is a great hotel. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is always a pleasure for us to welcome back repeat customers and we take it as a great compliment that you choose to spend your special holiday time with us here at the lake. Thank you for your lovely kind comments about our team here at the hotel being such a big part of making your stay special. We are very proud of our team here who do a fantastic job in making all of our guests feel welcome and well looked after during their time with us I will make sure and pass your comments on to them. I’m glad that you enjoyed the quality of food available for Sunday lunch which is a very popular day here in our Lake Side Bistro. Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen do a fantastic job in making sure that our guests have an enjoyable and memorable dining experience during their visits to us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights June 2014.Perfect location to see all the sites. Muckross house is in walking distance.Ross castle a few minute drive. You are right on the ring of Kerry. The restaurant has a great breakfast. The bar is real nice but do not eat there! The horrible service in the bar dining area put us in a bad mood. We quickly forgot it though once we stepped outside and took a walk to the ruins near the lake. If I go back to Ireland I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwhoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Its lovely to hear that you had such a nice break in Killarney. We are very lucky indeed here at the hotel to be so close to Killarney’s most popular attractions including Muckross House, Torc Waterfall, Ross Castle, Muckross Abbey and of course Killarney’s beautiful National Park. There is never a shortage of wonderful activities to do in Killarney and our team here at front desk are more than happy to advise our guests on the very best things to do and see during their time with us and make sure and avail of our custom made free Lake Hotel maps which are available form front desk for our guests convenience. Thank you for your kind comments about the breakfast and the bar staff. I’m disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the service in the bar area as we normally get great feedback on our team in that department. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to explain this to us further. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights at the Lake Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location and you can really not get enough of the vue. The staff were very friendly.

However if you are given room 219 do not accept it. It is incredibly small and very noisy as it is above the reception (it gets the noise from all the buses that arrive and the trucks that bring amenities to the hotel). It is also above the smoking area from the bar that in addition to creating more noise the guests get whiff of smoke in the room. It was definately not worth the very steep price tag attached to it. We did ask to change rooms but were told that we would have to spend €120 extra as all the other rooms were taken.

The only saving grace was that we did not spend much time in the room.

Being in that room really spoiled our stay and our memorable holiday. It was not worth the money at all.

At checkout we were not even asked how we found our stay, which we found very rude and presumptuous.

Stayed: July 2014
7  Thank Vassilis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay at The Lake Hotel for your holiday to Killarney. Firstly thank you for your kind comments about the beautiful views here at the hotel. We are indeed very lucky to be blessed with some of the best views one could ask for. Looking out at the Lough Lein, McCarthy Mór Castle and the beauty of the surrounding mountains can only do one good. I’m disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated. I’m sorry that we didn’t have another room to move you to apart from our Master Deluxe rooms as the hotel was fully booked during your visit. We always want our guests to leave us with happy memories of their stay and wanting to come back to us again and I’m sorry that this did not fully happen for you on this occasion. We do hope that you will come back to us again in the future and give us another opportunity to look after you here at the hotel, please don’t hesitate to contact a member of our management team during your next stay so that we can ensure that you are happy and that everything is in order with your stay.

Kind Regards,

Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are just back from a trip to Killarney. Although we didn't stay in the Lakes hotel we went for a meal. The meal was excellent, however when we were in the middle of the main course (the dessert still to come) they presented us with the bill. We thought this was very rude and we won't be going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 37ANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,



Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience here at The Lake Hotel during your holiday in Killarney. Firstly thank you for choosing to dine here during your visit and for your kind compliments about the high standard of food that you received during your meal. I will make sure and pass this on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in making sure that all of our guests and visitors have a top class dining experience in our Castlelough Restaurant and our Lakeside Bistro. I’m disappointed to read that there was a mix up with the bill being presented at the wrong time. I can assure you that this was human error as it is not normal practice for us to deliver the bill in such a manner. I apologise that this happened and I hope that you will re consider returning to us in the future.


Kind Regards,

Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the Lake hotel for a weekend recently. The room had stunning views over the lake and mountains. Great food, a beautiful room and the staff were absolutely brilliant. Will definitely be back :-)

Room Tip: The four poster bedroom at the top floor has brilliant views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babyjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is a pleasure to read through all our reviews today and to read that so many of our guests leave after their stay feeling relaxed and happy with the products and services that they received here during their stays. The four poster rooms are indeed a real treat and have that extra little touch of luxury to them for sure. Of course the view that you pull the curtains open to in the morning is the extra special part and looking out at the Lough Lein, surrounding mountains and perhaps a few deer grazing in the early morning sunshine is sure to lift the spirits and give a great start to our guest’s day in Killarney. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lake Hotel and it was wonderful. The staff was all very friendly and it has some old time charm that some might not like but my wife and i enjoyed it very much. And by old time charm, I mean that you had to take two elevators to get to the 4th floor..but once you were there you were treated to some incredible views of the lake. We saw deer every morning and the breakfast was worth every penny. It is about a 25-30 minute into town which is its only downside..but perhaps that is a plus being away from the hectic city. The walk into town is easy and nice and taxis are always available. If ever in Killarney again I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: get a room facing the lake and my guess is the higher up you are the better
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank fishtacomagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely compliment to say that you would return in a heart beat if you ever visit Killarney again. I’m pleased to read that you and your wife enjoyed the old world theme here at the hotel. The hotel is here since 1820 so we feel that the furniture and décor should be sympathetic to the buildings history. I hope that you also took the opportunity to walk down to the McCarthy Mór Castle ruins here on the grounds of the hotel right by the lake during your stay as it is a beautiful place from which to enjoy the beauty and peace of the lakes. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our team here at the hotel and on the services that you received during your visit I will make sure and pass this on to them. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,356 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £107 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing