We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had booked a couple of nights in Killarney for a concert, but on personal recommendation we decided to book an extra night and stay in the Lake Hotel. What a wonderful experience! The location is excellent, food and service were superb. We had a beautiful room with a lake view and a balcony. Saw the young deer eating in the marsh area early in the morning. Very spacious, with a jacuzzi bath, very relaxing. This hotel is just a few minutes drive from the centre of Killarney and very convenient for touring the local sights.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. I’m glad to read that you were pleased with the last night of your holiday to Killarney when you stayed with us here at the lake and that your stay lived up to the recommendation you were given by your friend. We are very lucky indeed to be blessed with the most beautiful views that one could ask for. Seeing the young deer grazing by the lake shallows is a lovely experience and I’m glad that you got to see it during your stay. It’s also nice to read that you were pleased with your room and the Jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. Kathleen our accommodation manager and her team do a wonderful job in keeping all of our rooms in tip top condition for our guests to enjoy and I’m glad you found it so relaxing. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,306)
There are newer reviews for Lake Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,303 - 1,309 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stumbled on this hotel and chose it for the location and view of the lake .... fantastic. Despite how full the hotel was it was amazingly quiet. Really enjoyed relaxing on the balcony and watching the lake and deer. We had several meals here and all were very good, exceeded my expectations. Very good staff, pleasant and helpful. We are looking forward to our next visit here!

Room Tip: We were in the 4th of 5 floors with a lake view. Awesome!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is always lovely to hear that our guests had a stay to remember and made some memories to treasure during their visit to us here at the lake. We are indeed very lucky to have a very peaceful and relaxing spot here by the lake and it is lovely for our guests to be able to relax an unwind and take in the beauty of the nature all around them during their stay. I’m glad that you enjoyed the balcony in your room they are a lovely place to sit and watch the deer grazing by the lake’s shallows, the rise of the morning sun or the setting of the sun in the evenings. Thank you for saying that you found the meals to be very good and that they exceeded your expectations that is a lovely compliment and I will make sure and pass it on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May for 2 nights at a cost of €530.

Essentially what you are paying for is the view, which in fairness was lovely, but we easily could have stayed elsewhere and popped into the lake hotel for a walk around. Overall we felt our stay was bad value for money

The Room
I thought that the room would have been very nice for that price but it was very dated and very small (We were in the old half of the hotel).
It was quite warm during our stay and the room had no air conditioning which led to one sleepless night and other with a buzzing fan that we managed to get from the front desk.

Staff were nice and friendly. Food is ok but nothing special.
Not a hotel for children as there is no pool or facilities to cater for them.

Room Tip: If you are staying here, try avoid the old half of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bogger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,



Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay here at the lake for your holiday to Killarney. Firstly I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the beautiful views here at the hotel and I’m glad to read that you found our team here at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. I’m disappointed to read that you weren’t pleased with the room that you were allocated. It’s a pity that you didn’t mention this during your stay as we are always more than happy to re allocate guests to a different room if they aren’t pleased with the one that they have. The weather has been very humid of late and only some of our rooms have air conditioning but we do provide the fans for guests comfort should they be required. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and please don’t hesitate to ask for any member of our management team during your next visit so that we can ensure that all is well with your stay and that you are pleased with everything, thank you once again for your feedback.



Kind Regards,

Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beautiful location, comfortable well appointed room, staff friendly & professional plus enjoyable meals. We had a 2 night package staying in a deluxe lake view room which included 2 breakfasts and dinners. Thoroughly recommend the package as there is no need to drive anywhere as everything is available on site with the scenic national park next door and lots of comfortable places to relax in the hotel.
Heather & Graham July 2014

Room Tip: Request a lake view room, you won't be disappointed with the beautiful view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMem0ries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay with us here at the lake for your holiday to Killarney. It is nice to read that you were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the room that you were allocated for your visit. Thank you also for your comments about the team here at the hotel being so friendly and professional, we are extremely lucky to have a team of employees who are dedicated to making sure that our guests are well looked after and happy during their time with us here at the hotel. I’m glad to hear that you found the package that you booked suited your needs and that you enjoyed spending your time here with us. It’s always lovely to hear from our guests that they found the services that we provide here suited their needs. We are very lucky indeed to be in such a beautiful and peaceful location yet only a stone’s throw from Killarney town and all it has to offer should our guests like to do a spot of shopping or sightseeing during their stay so the best of both worlds. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had been recommended this hotel by many friends, so decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The location is superb on the outskirts of Killarney with either a short drive or a 15 minute walk into the centre. The views over the lake are peaceful and relaxing. The staff all friendly and helpful. An excellent base from which to tour this scenic area. Will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking lake are advised
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. I’m very pleased to read that the lake lived up to your expectations and the recommendations of your friends and that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much. We are very lucky to be situated right in Killarney’s beautiful National Park yet only a stone’s throw from Killarney town itself and all that it has to offer. Our team here at front desk are a wealth of information on the Killarney and wider Kerry area and are only too happy to advise our guests on the very best things to do and see during their trip. We really appreciate your kind comments about our team in general here at the hotel of whom we are very proud as they always do their very best to make our guests feel welcome and at home during their visits to us and look after them throughout their stays. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in July recently - 2 adults and 2 kids at very short notice. We booked a standard woodland view room. The room was really nice, comfy and spotlessly clean. Towells smelled lovely and fresh. Breakfast was self service. Everything you could possibly want was available and very tasty and fresh. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Can't wait to come back for a longer stay. Thanks lake hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lg241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is so nice to read reviews where our guests are so happy with the products and services they received during their holiday with us. I’m very pleased to hear that you were happy with the room that you were allocated and that it suited yourselves and the children well. (I hope that you availed of our free lake hotel children’s colouring and activity booklet which is available at front desk and restaurant for the children.) Kathleen and her team in accommodation always make sure to have all of our rooms in tip top condition for our guests to fully enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for your lovely compliments about our team here at the hotel in general I will make sure and pass these on to them. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and perhaps next time we will entice you to stay a few days longer with us so that you can pack in more activities and adventures during your Killarney holiday.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful location with door windows that allowed us to walk directly out onto the path from our rooms leading to the castle and the lake behind it. Deer make a regular appearance in the evening with occasional sitings in the lake itself. Room was large, clean, and modern with bathrooms containing both a shower and bathtub (jacuzzi mode). Fast wifi. Restaurant was very affordable especially with the impressive menu which was constantly updated. 5 minutes to town centre by taxi, 15 minutes by walking. The numerous hiking trails that pass near the hotel was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is so nice to read reviews where our guests are so happy with the products and services they received during their holiday with us. I’m very pleased to hear that you were happy with the room that you were allocated with the beautiful views of the lake and the deer grazing in the shallows of the lake it is in our opinion anyway a great place to relax and unwind and to forget about the everyday worries and stresses of our busy lives. It is lovely to read also that you enjoyed our menu variation and selection available in our Castlelough Restaurant and Lake Side bistro. Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen put huge energy into making sure that they provide top class cuisine using only the very best and locally sourced ingredients for our guests to enjoy. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report we really appreciate your kind words.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £107 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing