We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didnt want to go home”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“didnt want to go home”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

myself and my boyfriend stayed in the four poster bed delux suite and were more then impressed. The view from our room was breath taking and really relaxing and chill. The staff were more then helpful and informative. we didnt eat in the hotel but everyone we heard from were impressed. the bar is so elegant and posh which im not use to. it was so romantic sitting beside the fire sipping on a beavey.the deer roaming the grounds are a great treat as well.
my boyfriend also treated me to a message in the spa which was the best.
i would recommand this hotel to everyone and will definitly be back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimerickHolidaycrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,614
    357
    98
    27
    13
See reviews for
380
1,260
46
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

My boyfriend and I treat ourselves to a visit to the amazing Lake Hotel once a year. The hotel is located 10/15 minutes walk from Killarney city itself but it is well worth the extra distance.

It is located on one of the beautiful Killarney Lakes and you cannot put a price on the unspoiled views from the lakeview rooms. On many occasions we witnessed the deer that live on the land grazing outside our bedroom window or running through the shallow part of the lake. There are Castle ruins on the land also as well as a trail that leads from the Hotel through the woods to the beautiful Muckross House.

There are many room types and the hotel has been renovating recently. The rooms in the new wing are very luxuriously decorated. In the original building, we have stayed in three different room types: the Lakeview Superior (amazing views across the lake and castle ruins and a jacuzzi in the bathroom), the Roman Room and the Medieval Room (Medieval or Roman themed rooms with jaccuzi in the BEDROOM!). The themed rooms are beautiful but I didn't think they were worth the sacrifice of waking up with the lake views each morning!

The hotel is elegand and the huge windows mean that the view can be enjoyed even while dining. The food at the hotel is always top class. The buffet breakfast is delicious and has everything you could want from the full irish breakfast to fruit, cereal, breads and pasteries. Dinner offers an excellent choice of good fresh local produce cooked perfectly.

The staff are very friendly and efficient and make the whole experience all the more special.

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing break in one of the prettiest places in Ireland, The Lake Hotel has everything from characterand charm to panoramic views. Don't forget to check out the outdoor hot tub while you're there - even in the miseralbe Irish weather it is a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We had a 5 day stay for our honeymoon and just found it the most relaxing place to be. We could have just looked at the view from our balcony across the lakes all day. The staff were helpful and efficient, the breakfast buffet was superb. The room was of a very high standard. Killarney itself is a lovely town. we truly can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazaessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Great hotel in a beautiful setting. we had a 3 night stay here in a standard room. The room was excellent and couldn't be faulted. Buffet breakfast and evening meal were of a fine standard. We would highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Cannot fault this hotel. We Stayed one night in one of the deluxe rooms with the Jacuzzi bath in the bedroom, room also has seperate bathroom with shower etc. The jacuzzi looks out over the beautiful view. The room was so cozy & beautifully decorated. The room had a kingsize bed & flatscren t.v. We had had dinner in the resturant which was very nice as was breakfast. Overall a wonderful stay. Staff are amazing. Very professional.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deekdeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

For our Wedding Anniversary we decided to stay in the Lakes for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time. Stayed in a master deluxe room which was very clean and had the added benefit of a jacuzzi. Balcony overlooking the lake providing us with the opportunity to see red deer in the morning and the odd glimpse of a sea eagle. Service in the restaurant was good with a wonderful breakfast to start the day, slightly disappointed with the evening meals. Preferred eating in Killarney where their was a variety of choice of restaurants available.
Staff were very helpful and friendly which added to the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Would not hesitate in returning to The Lakes in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LemonMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The new hubby and I treated ourselves to a weekend here to recover from the honeymoon blues. We stayed in their Master Deluxe room which was worth every penny! It was a very spacious room, spotless and has a gorgeous king size bed with a Jacuzzi in the room but it is the view from our balcony that really makes this the perfect romantic room to hide away in. The lake just really is the WOW factor of this hotel and it is so lovely to walk around in the evenings as you most certainly will spot a deer or two. The hotel staff were lovely, can’t do enough for you. The bar is great place for a drink as it looks onto the lake. The restaurant has the same view but was actually a bit disappointing giving the standard the rest of the hotel has. The service was slow and disorganised and the food was average but expensive, with Killarney town only a few minutes away it would be better to eat elsewhere. Overall though this is the perfect hotel for our escape and we hope to go back really soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
4.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
933 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing