We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelmsford House Lakes of Killarney
Ranked #43 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We spent 3 wonderful nights .
The view in the morning left us breathless!
Breakfasts were outstanding, a very clean , homely home.
We cant wait to come back next year.
Highly recommned the Chelmsford House.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gregfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

We were in Ireland for 3 weeks in May and June of 2011, and this accommodation was the most uncomfortable of 11 B&B's that we stayed in on our trip. Basically, our displeasure was with the room size. We were traveling with another couple and there were only 2 rooms left, a rather large and comfortable one at the front of the house, and our "closet". There was no room to place suitcases, so they were against the room door and we were forever tripping on them. The bathroom (both sink and shower were very small and hard for 1 person to manuever. Also, the four of us the next day, laughingly referred to the pillows as bricks. Thankfully, my husband found 2 softer ones in the closet, while our friends in the large room made do with chair cushions. The food was very good, but after a poor nights sleep, and comparison to all of the other lovely places we stayed, it was hard to enjoy. To be perfectly fair, our friends would give this place a higher rating (so would we if we had gotten their room).

Room Tip: Avoid # 3 like the plague, upstairs, back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

excellent service, beautiful bed rooms...and the scenery is breath taking. and so close to killarney. the breakfast menu has a great variety .

pat and louise make you so welcome and arranged all our trips during our stay.
looking forward to our next visit to chelmsford house.

Room Tip: great location to visit the gap of dungloe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank toyotacorolla186630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We woke up to an exquisite view of the mountains and lakes. Pat and Louise are perfect hosts...she is a gourmet cook and we so enjoyed our bountiful breakfast. They gladly help you plan your day. Rooms are spotless and well equipped. Quiet and safe. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlabamaHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My sister and I stayed 2 nights but most of our time was spent driving around (Ring of Kerry). If you go out at night, it's a bit far from city centre when walking but location is ok. Louise was very helpful with directions and suggesting things to do. Food was excellent, room was clean and comfortable. Area reminds me of BC.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melliesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The best B&B I saw in Ireland so far.Very beautiful house,traditional and very clean.
Well appointed.The only one little defect was the tiny sink in the bathroom.
Wonderful view of the lake from the window!
We had a large and good breakfast,Pat and Louise frendly and helpful.From the house there is a short cut that bring to the centre in a few minutes.35 euro per person is very good price for this B&B.I really liked it!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank G1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

when we arrives we walk a few minutes to go to the home but it was worth the effort.
it is a very nice place,beautiful view and relax.the owns are very nice people, they are always ready to help in everithing you need, and the breakfast is delicious and abundant to can walk all the day,jeje!.we hope come again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 84goiatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
11.6 mi away
Redwood Country House
Redwood Country House
#39 of 143 in Killarney
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens B&B
The Gardens B&B
#44 of 143 in Killarney
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Robeen House
Robeen House
#19 of 143 in Killarney
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guaire House Killarney
Guaire House Killarney
#21 of 143 in Killarney
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#47 of 143 in Killarney
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmsford House Lakes of Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford House Lakes of Killarney

Address: Chelmsford House 1 Muckross View | Dromhale, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford House offers Bed and Breakfast in a no-smoking home. All rooms with private bathroom, free fast wi-fi, tea/coffee facilities in rooms, hairdryers, multi-channel TV, guest lounge , patio for guest use. Your hosts Louise & Pat Griffin & family, we look forward to welcoming you to our luxury bed and breakfast here in Killarney County, Kerry. All tours booked for you on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chelmsford House Lakes of Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing