We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No issues whatsoever - great hotel and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“No issues whatsoever - great hotel and great value”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk into town certainly not 20 as one review suggests and would suggest that the price reflects that; Killarney is a bustling town and rates in the centre itself are pretty high in comparison, so found the Holiday a good compromise between location and price.
I personally was extremely impressed by the hotel - very friendly check-in, rooms a cut-above my expectations, with classic decor, immaculately clean and with additional touches like the pillow menu was a nice surprise.
The bar, given the hotel is slightly out of town, is thriving and offers a great atmosphere and complete with live music (selected nights I think) - I didn't have chance to eat in the pub, but the food looked fab.
Great complimentary leisure facilities and plenty of parking - all of which you need to take into consideration when comparing to those in the thick of the town.
Another great thing is checkout is not until 12noon, so no rushing around on the day of departure - all in line with the laid back Irish way of life; would definitely stay here again. Killarney is a great little town – loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    198
    147
    57
    21
See reviews for
221
178
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Just back from The Holiday Inn after a 4 day break with the hubby & 2 kids, had a great time, despite the weather. Kids really enjoyed the playroom & the milk & cookies went down a treat,(great big chocolate cookies every night) The staff are really friendly, it was great value for a staycasion...with lots of things to do in the area, loved the jaunting cars! Had a lovely room with separate sitting room for the kids, they even had their own TV so really went down well. Only problem was it wasnt a long enough stay but we will be back for the next holiday, thanks to all

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farbenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel is located on the outskirts of Killarney, about a 20 minute walk to town. We were with a group and as a family of 3, were placed in a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking a parking lot. It was quite warm the 2 nights we spent there and our bedroom window did not open, only the window in the living area opened where our daughter was on a roll away bed.
Everything in the room is very run down, ample use of caulk in the bathrooms to make things look better. Our room was also meant to be handicap accesible, but that meant adding a pvc pipe screwed into the wall in the shower. Shower curtain was not long enough so water spilled out on the floor where mold was growing on the door trim.
On the plus side: the service in the on site pub was good and our daughter enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbec22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Only gave it a 2 for the great bar and food in the lobby. Otherwise stay away! Once they know you are from the US they totally rip you off! The pool is tiny and packed with crazy vacationers, the rooms are tiny and over priced, and the front desk staff are just plain RUDE. Stay some place closer to town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EF156RHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Dear EF156RHH,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Killarney. I am disappointed and very surprised to read your comments regarding the value and the facilities offered by the hotel as we always offer the best rates available, as many reviewers have assured. We always strive to offer superior service and value to visitors from all over the world including of course guests from the US as one of our most important markets. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the issues you raise with you and would be happy if you want to contact me personally via the hotels contact details.
I will share your comments with my team as only through feedback i can target specific areas within my operation. Thank you again and i am looking forward to have the chance in the future to show you that we are a great hotel that guests love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just home after spending 3 nights here with my 5 year old daughter and 1 year old son (and the hubby of course!). Smooth check-in - lovely receptionist. Went up to our room (double bed for us, sofa bed for little lady and cot for little man) - and still had space to walk around. Room was spotless, bathroom was spotless, bed was comfy with different pillow options available. We had been told that Breakfast is normally 5euro a child, and on day one we queried this in the morning as neither child would have ate much - baby munched on some of our toast, and the other fussy madam only had a couple of sausages! We were quickly told that we wouldn't be charged (thumbs up!) Dinner that night was lovely - did think at the time that the fish and meat portions could have been slightly bigger BUT came away feeling full at the end. Restaurant staff were so lovely, and so nice to both ourselves and the kids - which was very much appreciated. Buffet Breakfast was yummy. Went to the pool for an hour on day 2 and the kids loved it. Honestly couldn't recommend this hotel enough - and if we head back to Killarney I wont even look at other hotels - I'll be booking straight back into here! Well done to all the staff - together ye make a great team!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear Marlytina,
Thank you very much for reviewing the Holiday Inn Killarney. I am delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay and i am sure so will my team! We are always aiming to deliver great customer service and to offer a great hotel that guests love. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back to the hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

from the time of arrival at the holiday inn to departure couldn't fault the hotel or the staff.the hotel is spotlessly clean & the service is excellent. as this was my first visit to Ireland i was very pleased that the company i work for had chosen this hotel. Food always piping hot & served very Quickly varied choice of menu each evening' & a Buffet Breakfast all in all a good hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndymanLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Andyman,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Killarney. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and its facilities, particularily it is good to get feedback on our recently launched new summer menu. I will share your comments with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel while touring Ireland. The rooms are nice, and clean. They are the size of a typical Holiday Inn room. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location is great for a base to tour this part of Ireland. It is close to the Killarney National Park and the Ring of Kerry. The hotel is about a half mile walk into town.
We really enjoyed the Pub at this hotel. The food is good and the place is very family oriented. There is free WiFi in the lobby. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdwacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear rdwacw,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Killarney. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and i will share your comments regarding the food with my kitchen and service teams. We always strive to offer superior service in comfortable surroundings. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Property: Holiday Inn Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing