We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family suite for 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family suite for 2 nights”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our regular room (121) was going to be a squeeze for us (family of 4, kids aged 9 and 6) so were able to upgrade to junior suite for extra e30 per night.
We stayed 2 nights.
Lady at check-in was very helpful. (Irene, I think?)
Room 151 on ground floor was adequate with separate double room for mum and dad, kids were in a single bed and a camp bed in the living room. The sofa was also convertable if required, although not at all supportive for sitting on! The fridge was very useful for our kids' snacks etc.
1 wall light in living room needs a bulb fitted. I forgot to tell reception about this.
Extra pillows etc were delived immediately when requested.
Bathroom was nice clean and bright, but we showered at pool changing rooms after swimming (we went 2 times every day!)
Room 151 is very close to the pool and gym, with no nuisance noises at all.
Pool- water was clean and warm. Got a little busy during swimming lesson times, but on sunday morning was nice and quiet. Our kids had a blast in the pool. Us adults enjoyed the steam and sauna baths also.
Hotel corridors were a bit tired, carpets are a bit 'lived in'.

Dinner was included 1 night and was very nice.
Kids food (extra @€9 ea for 3 courses) came very quickly and was good too.
We had sirloin steaks (€5extra) which were lovely. Vegs and desserts etc v good too.

Breakfast was included (kids extra €5 ea per day) was great, porridge on request and lovely hot cooked buffet, cereals breads juices etc. The self serve toaster machine was quick and actually worked! :-) -unlike most other hotels'! Tea & coffee were hot and freshly served. No fruit available when we ate.
Padraig the waiter was very attentive at dinner and breakfast, well done him!
The bar/pub was clean and well operated, good beers and soft drinks, and was well supported by guests and locals too, friendly atmosphere.
Our kids enjoyed a game on the pool table.
Lobby was comfortable, with plenty seating and open gas fire.
-Perhaps the lobby furniture could be rearranged in a more informal style? No complaints though.
But as a budget hotel Holiday Inn Killarney fitted the bill just fine.
We would consider staying again as a family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    201
    149
    58
    21
See reviews for
224
182
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I recently stayed in the Killarney Holiday Inn with my wife and kids, and overall was not impressed.
On arrival, nice lady at check-in, friendly and efficient. Room (a family room) was clean and fresh. Bathroon clean and basic stock. The single wall light in the room was not working - basic room cleaning should see this. All table lamps were hard wired and working. Only one double socket available - not much use in a family room where kids want to plug in and charge/play electronic items. One socket of the double not working - switch broken - again basic maintenence. So one available socket in the entire family room. One spare pillow available - request for more not followed up.
No wifi in room - only internet through tv or wired connection to tv unit (RJ45 cable supplied ) and charged extra for it - € 4.95 for 1 hour or € 9.95 for day. Total ripoff. "Free" wifi in bar not working.
2 cups and 1 spoon in this family room - take turns having a cuppa. Room service breakfast on time and nice food. Charged € 5 per person to deliver breakfasts. Starting at a reasonable rate, when all the extra charges were added it became quite expensive. Room cleaning did not replenish, tea/coffee sachets or sugar sachets.
Very little storage space in room. Open unit behind door to hang clothes and one shelf over this. Could use a shelf unit.
A number of small annoyances but together they mean we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinKerry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

stayed two nights , staff were very good.room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was very good. ideal base for walking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baglanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed in the holiday Inn killarney for two nights. There was a group of nine of us and we were all impressed by this hotel.All our rooms were next to each other which was brilliant.The staff were so helpful and friendly, the food in the bar and restaurant was fantastic really tasty and big portions. The breakfast was also really good and breakfast was served until half eleven which was great. We also used the leisure centre which we also enjoyed.The rooms were very spacious and clean. There was music in the bar both friday and saturday night which really added to the atmosphere. Overall we had a fantastic stay and would certainly go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed at Holiday Inn, Killarney for 1 night during our recent UK & Ireland trip. We didnt have any booking, but looked at a few B&Bs along the same road before deciding on the Holiday Inn. We were able to view the room before making our decision of staying for the night. As we had looked at a few other B&B's, the rate we were offered was very good, considering it included both breakfast & a 3 course meal in the hotel restaurant.
Our room was decent in size with 2 big queen beds & flat screen tv.
We were pleasantly surprised with our dinner as we didnt really expect too much but both of our meals were very nice.
We made use of the indoor pool & jacuzzi - though we had a little trouble locating the pool & had to go via an outdoor carpark - perhaps there was another way to get to it, but we couldnt find one.
I had no issues with the free wi-fi in the public areas, it worked fine when I used it.
Overall, we found the Holiday Inn to be very good & clean & would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneKaren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

OK, so we were on a 'Bed Deal'. 3xB&B 2xD plus a bottle of wine (€24 house wine) plus a 'suite' upgrade - all for just €199. Given the above, it was incredible value. First the meals: the dinners were good - well cooked, tasty, good choice: the breakfasts were not quite so - if you like the 'full irish' then breakfast was excellent. If you wanted crusty bread, cold meats and cheese you would be very sadly disappointed. Tea was of course very good but the coffee left a lot to be desired.
The room, like the hotel generally, was a bit tired and worn. But it was clean and the upgrade gave us lots of space. The TVs in the room (apart from RTE) were unwatchable - snowy black & white. Also the free wi-fi in the lobby was almost unusable.
It's only a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Killarney so it's a good location. Killarney traffic is to be avoided.
Reception staff were OK but had little local knowledge. Restaurant staff were much more friendly.
OH! if they recommend Murphy's Pub in Killarney, don't believe them!!

Room Tip: Ask how far your room is from Reception. We were two VERY long corridors away from the lift - and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer009Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connemara
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here during the recent good weather as a base to climb Carrauntoohill. Friendly helpful receptionist on check in, rooms fine !! In the bar we met Masya the manager, when we told him that we planned to climb Carrauntoohill he told us that he is a keen walker and has climbed it many times . he gave us lots of helpful tips etc After a good breakfast we headed off with good packed lunches ( from the hotel). On our return we enjoyed the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, a great option to ease our weary bones ! Altogether an enjoyable stay, would recommend to anyone heading to Killarney especially walking groups etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
3.2 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Property: Holiday Inn Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing