We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel for the price”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Simple, the rooms are outdated, but the price and location were good. Breakfast was very good. Easy walking distance or short cab ride to Killarney town center and Ross Castle. A longer (but doable) walk to Muckross. Major downside is internet...free wireless in the lobby but you have to pay for wired access in the room. But we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dulacdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    197
    145
    55
    21
See reviews for
218
175
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed there for a two night break, really enjoyed it, used the leisure centre facilities, found Irene very helpful at hotel reception, we stayed for the horse racing festival and will return. It's a very short stroll into Killarney and if you do order a taxi you won't be waiting long. There was no problem getting a late drink in the residents bar either. Breakfast was self service which is very good. Overall we were more than satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murfmoister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghlin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent only one night (August 12th, 2012) at this hotel, but I wish I spent more! It was just a dream, from the pic's I see before I go there until the reality. Killarney is a nice city and this hotel reflects the same nature as the city. Facilities are new, clean and nice. I felt cozy in the bedroom and I enjoyed dinner as well as their swimming pool, sauna, ...
There was no WiFi available from the bedrooms, only in the lobby which was a large and comfortable space.
Very friendly staff! I would certainly recommend this hotel and if I go back to Killarney, no need to look for any other accommodation.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Papy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

He used this hotel as our base when traveling through Killarney and Kenmare. The hotel was located within reasonanle driving distance to all the things we wanted to visit. Hotel was clean, quiet and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed one night while on business in the area. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. They recommended restaurants and gave great advice on Killarney. Room was at the standard you would expect, was clean and practical for a short stay. Handy for Killarney centre being 10 mins in a taxi. Seemed to be a popular hotel for tour buses which is OK, but need to watch for large groups suddenly appearing at Breakfast. No wifi in the rooms but a cable connection, speed was a little slow

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked the Holiday Inn Killarney based on the price. We booked for a group of 13 people on a hiking weekend. Prior to arrival, the General Manager Misja contacted us to check if we had any special requirements. On arrival, he came to greet us and to make sure we had all we needed.
The receptionist was very friendly and for the whole weekend we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful without exception.
Our two nights at the hotel were great and the breakfast and evening meals were very good.
All of our group commented on how good the staff were and we will definitely return.
We did not get to use the leisure facilities but did hear that they were good.
the rooms were up to a good standard and clean. Bathroom was clean and also good standard. The mattress was a bit bumpy but we had no real problem sleeping.
It took us 10 minutes to walk into town and the price of a taxi from town centre to hotel was €6.
We will definitely return to the Holiday Inn. Well done to the Misja and his staff for great service on a very busy full house weekend!!

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaOTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

PLUSES
Check-in handled well for large bus tour group.
Bathroom
Breakfast
Cleanliness
Comfortable Bed
Accommodated special diet (soya milk)

MINUSES
Dinner for bus tour group.
Did not accommodate special diet (soya milk)
Internet access slow to the point of uselessness.
TV
Location --- at the edge of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank energizer0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear energizer0_0,

Thank you for your honest feedback following your recent stay here. I am pleased that you have mentioned the cleanliness of our hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, it was extremely disappointing to hear of the problems that you encountered. Our aim is to deliver the best service to all of our guests and your experience is most untypical of our usual standards. Please be assured that we will be looking into the issues raised in your feedback and carrying out any necessary to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Please accept our apologies for this lapse in service. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Property: Holiday Inn Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing