We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were delighted with our stay at the holiday inn in Killarney. The lobby was tastefully decorated. Even the lobby restrooms were beautiful wood and marble. The room was updated. The staff saw we had a child and immediately rushed up an extra bed. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff very attentive and helpful. There were games for the children. The manager offered me coffee while I waiting in the lobby, and took care of every request I made of him. This is the best place in Killarney for a traveler who appreciates value, beauty, and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Naplestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Went with family to hotel, they had family meal deal for 59 euro, 2 adult &2 children eat of the set menu, sounds good, however when bill arrives in morning because kids did not eat of children's menu 20 euro supplement, receptionist attitude poor, very disappointing

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear flyer94,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We deeply regret the disappointment you had with the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the holiday inn, in June for three nights with our son. We had a good few days but the only bad remark I would give this hotel is the price of the kids breakfast as my son is only three and don't eat a load we where charged €15.00 for his breakfast for the three mornings, all he had was one glass of orange juice and two rashers on each morning, so €5 is very expensive, when I said it to the girl on the reception her attitude was whether he eats hardly nothing or eats alot it's €5 but I feel there should be a cheaper price for under 5's, as they don't eat as much as a ten year old.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louloukel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Killarney for two nights, and we had a suite; that is two bedrooms and a bathroom. Our stay was fine, nothing bad happened. BUT ... this place needs some serious renovation. When the high point of your room is the bathroom, you know there is room for improvement. So, let's start with the not-so-good: Our room, while spacious, was in dire need of updates. Some of the furniture was actually falling apart (see photos) and the interior doorknobs were falling off and inoperable. The mattress on the pull-out sofa was so thin and lightweight that it slid right off the frame a couple of times. And while the room itself smelled fine, in the corridors and stairwells there was a distinct musty, mildewy smell, and the baseboards throughout the property needed paint and repairs. This is pretty easy stuff, and I'm amazed that in a town like Killarney (full of Americans, full of upscale hotels and B&Bs all over the place) that the Holiday Inn wouldn't spiff this place up. Also worth noting that there is WiFi in the lobby, but *not* in the rooms. Another strange choice, but obviously a business decision. Now for the good: The lobby is spacious and clean, the front desk staff is helpful and attentive and the breakfast was hot and plentiful, if not home-cooked. Also, there is an indoor swimming pool, which was awesome for the kids on the day when it rained for 6 hours. And, as stated earlier, our bathroom was the high point; it actually did look like it had been renovated recently, it was clean and the shower was hot and strong. Overall, an OK stay, but the Holiday Inn really should get on the ball and do the updates. It's surrounded by other, nicer-looking properties everywhere in Killarney.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Ohagan,
thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Killarney. We take your comments on board and i am very happy to confirm that we are planning a full refurbishments of our rooms this autumn, covering rooms and public areas of the hotel. We are always striving to provide a great experience and to take action when required. we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights (August 2nd and 3rd). Plentiful supply of free parking when we arrived. Check in was speedy and the staff were friendly and informative. Room was spotless, spacious and comfortable. Found the location fine, ten minute walk in to the main areas, perfect for us! Hotel bar had music on both nights, we caught a bit of it the Friday night, wasnt all that impressed, could have been better. Ate breakfast in the hotel the Saturday morning, this was nice enough, hot food as well as cereals, fruit, breads, etc. Service was average, staff need to realise that its standard to bring tea/coffee to the table to start off with. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzywuzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have stayed in many hotels in Killarney, but this hotel was the best by far. The staff at this hotel are amazing, fun and so friendly. The hotel itself is great, rooms are spacious clean and the beds are so comfortable. Breakfast is very good and the bar food was excellent. The bar has a pool table and games for the kids and there was music each night. The swimming pool is not huge but the kids loved it and I was able to keep an easy eye on them. I would highly recommend this hotel for a great stay in Killarney. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lysaWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We went to Killarney for a wedding, not quite realising that the place is like Disneyland for Ireland....tour buses everywhere, mainly American (in fact, heaps of restaurants and hotels in the nearby area fly the US flag outside...actually a bit annoying for visitors from elsewhere!).

Anyway, the reason for mentioning this is that with all the tourists here, it seems that many hotels just don't seem to have to try that hard - Holiday Inn included. It looks like it hasn't been renovated for years, and the first room we checked into smelt so musty we had to ask to change rooms. The second (a suite) was fine, just a bit old and tired looking.

It's not really all that central compared to other options, and whilst the staff are lovely, the bar/restaurant/breakfast area was just so-so.

I think there are better options than this in Killarney - do a bit of research before you go and try and work out which are making a bit of an effort and not just blindly processing tour buses.

Room Tip: Ask to change if you're not happy....the staff are happy to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCDC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear DCHC99,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the condition of the property. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#30 of 38 in Killarney
428 reviews
3.2 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
538 reviews
1.4 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £44 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing