We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and l have just returned to England after spend a few days in this hotel. We could not fault the hotel or the staff, We stayed on bed, breakfast and evening meal basis the food we had was of a good standard for a three star hotel, the entertainment was acceptable but the pub over the road had live traditional Irish folk groups playing so we went over there occasionally. Over all the hotel excellent, the jaunty cars good, the ring of Kerry beautiful, dingle peninsular also lovely and Killarney was a quaint place to spend an afternoon. A pleasant trip. Raymondo

Room Tip: We stayed in room 213
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Raymondo187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

During our booking, we at the oppertunity to write some extra wishes in the comment section. We asked for a non-smoking bedroom.

During check-in the lady behind the counter gave us a smoking bedroom, which we at first didn't know. Once we opened the door to our room, the smell was terrible. We immediately went back downstairs to ask for a non-smoking bedroom, but there were none available. So a night in a disgusting smell had to be spent.

Breakfast was actually very nice, with a large variation of foods including porridge and croissants. A shame there were bits of food on the ground and benches. This clearly indicates the staff does not clean the restaurant before breakfast.

The fitness center was fairly well equipt, but the hygiene again was absolutely dreadful. Mould in the corners, water marks on the ceiling. The pool was unclean, together with the Sauna and no persons under the age of 16 were allowed in the jacuzzi, which is nonsense. Teens at 16 are old enough to know if the water is to warm and if it affects their body.

The pub was loud, kids running around at midnight (as adults, shouldn't you have put your 3 year old sun to bed by 23:00 ?? ) and a stressful atmosphere was floating around.

The Wifi coverage was very poor, as it only covered the entrance and lobby. For Holiday Inn, definitely under standards.

A shame, they could've made more out of it. Sadly, I would not return to Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joshyisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear joshyisland,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We loved Killarney and the surrounds but the Holiday Inn was probably everything I thought it may be - average in all respects. It's all a bit 1980's, staff were ok but not enthusiastic and rooms were small for 2 adults 2 kids. We only went there because it would accomodate the 4 of us but I'm sure we could have done much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PTH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear PTH73,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently spent two nights in this hotel. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Staff were very efficient. Saddlers Pub was great with very good Pub Grub. The hotel is very well situated within easy walking distance of Killarney and the National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barrycork32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The location is OK but the hotel is below standards for a Holiday Inn. Furniture is worn out, service is not good, food was terrible. They want you to pay extra for Wifi which is not the norm. The receptionist we had was possibly recovering from a lobotomy. She saw us coming in with small children and 100kg of luggage yet pointed to the stairs and let us go up and down the stairs omitting to say that the lift actually reached the mid floor too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCEAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear CCEAbuDhabi,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I am very disappointed to hear about your experience with us. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and as such, I apologize if you didn't find some amenities to your liking and if the level of service provided didn't meet your expectations.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. I assure you that we take every comment seriously and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed during the Puck Fair, which is apparently the busiest time of the year in Killarney. The service was slightly disappointing, but I would actually give this hotel a "good" rating if Trip Advisor provided the option to do so. The attached Saddlers Pub was great. The hotel is only .7 miles from where we walked to get the shuttle bus to the Puck Fair, so I'd say the location was the best ting about the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 154, which had no view but it did have a separate bedroom for me and a twin bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolAnnBrynMawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear CarolAnnBrynMawr,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding our pub.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and for the property being dated. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Paying for Breakfast was too much and not worth it. We only tried it once and with three kids it was much better to walk down to the Lir cafe for excellent coffee and fresh pastries for a fraction of the price. The family room / suite was a good size and reasonably comfortable. Staff were really nice and very helpful. The pool was brilliant for the kids, but it is a bit cold early in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear MichaelDuff,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Our hotel is committed in providing the best service and amenities to all our guests and we are very happy to know you appreciated the room you had as well as the service you received from our staff. Please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations with the breakfast. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,401 reviews
3.2 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
781 reviews
1.4 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
865 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £45 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing