We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Killarney

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed in killarney for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it.We could not find fault with anything about the hotel.the staff could not be more friendlier and the food was of a high standard.Plenty of park for all of the guests.

Room Tip: it would be hard to find nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    193
    139
    53
    21
See reviews for
213
172
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice friendly hotel near the town centre. The staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean and water pressure good. Great bar atmosphere with lovely friendly and attentive staff. Pool very small but very nice friendly lifeguard called Philip. Breakfast was varied.
Good value too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

had promised grandchildren a visit to killarney stayed at holiday Inn in one of the family suites. Very spacious , clean . Pool etc was a great bonus. Only hiccups were no hairdryer in room (staff got one for us ) and sofa-bed had seen better days , springs missing.

Room Tip: family suites well worth it - excellent space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan_toma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and to be honest we very disappointed and did not live up to the fantastic HIs I have stayed in in USA, Canada, UK, Asia and Europe. We were 2 adults and 3 children and naively believed if we booked a suite that we would be getting an upgraded room. Nothing could be further from the truth. It was most disappointing to be charged a 4 * supplement on already 4* prices for what I can only describe as a 2* hotel. Serious deficiencies were noted in

1) Maintenance - torn wall paper, a sofa bed that was beyond its useful life, bathroom tiles needing grouting and doors where the paint had turned from white to yellow over time.

2) Sanitation - the hotel was not clean, the carpet on the stairwells was filthy

3) Staff Personal Hygiene - Twice I noticed a staff member picking their nose and then handling the food. Another member of the wait staff used the public toilets and did not wash their hands afterwards

We complained that the sofa bed was not usable and hotel did not correct the matter. Tbh I do not think it is up to a client to highlight this shortcoming - it was so bad that room staff should have it already highlighted to management before we were forced to.

That said, once these issues were brought to the GM's attention, he demonstrated a can-do attitude and advised that many of the issues were part of an action plan for repair etc. That said, in the meantime, they should refrain from charging 4* prices until the hotel is brought back up to a 4* standard.

Room Tip: Expect a 2* experience and therefore negotiate the rate accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IE123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear irishcruisefanatic,
thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn. I am very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay as most of our guests do. As we discussed, i do very much appreciate you highlighting issues to me that i need to rectify and issues that i have already dealt with since your departure. As most reviewers here paint a positive picture of their stays with us, i do assure you that your experience is not exemplary. I do hope we can show you soon that we have a great hotel that guests love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a bus tour, and at the end of the day, it was a place to rest my head.
The location of the hotel was about a 15-20 minute stroll into town, which wasn't a problem - a nice way to stretch my legs after being in a bus for hours.
The downstairs area of the hotel is clean and updated, however the same could not be said about the rooms. This is an older Holiday Inn, so the rooms are a bit dated and in need of modernisation. Having said this though, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the rest of the room was a good size.
The receptionist on duty when we arrived was awesome - she informed us that they offer a laundry service (which was much needed, especially while on a bus tour), and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDevil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear RedDevil1978,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable room with a nicely appointed bathroom. The hotel location is an easy walk into town. The lobby area is pleasant, the bar enjoyable, and the breakfast buffet was satisfying. Dinner was good but not great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AllisonL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRAND RAPIDS
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here last week for a night while visiting the area on our tour through Ireland. Bottom line --- typical older Holiday Inn that you'd find in the states, in need of remodeling/general updating. They advertise that WIFI is available (internet access via wire is available in the rooms) - but when you can get a signal, it's SLOW. Breakfast is good --- but it's not covered in the room bill. On the plus side -- the staff that checked us in was friendly and energetic - made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear CHARLES M,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our staff commendable and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.

It is regrettable to hear that your stay was negatively affected due the internet service and conditions of our facility. Please accept our sincerest apologies for falling short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the facilities and services that we offer to our guests.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#36 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
6.8 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#26 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Property: Holiday Inn Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing