We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights away to relax”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 nights away to relax”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Was looking to get away for a few days in Kilarney for both shopping and relaxing . Hotel was a bit further than I expected out of town . On past reports I seen it was 10-15 mins outside the town . It was a small bit further than that and you would have been very tired by the time you got to town. The hotel has lovely grounds but unfortunately the weather was terrible with rain when we were there . The bathroom was the highlight of our stay with heated floors / towel rails , a jacuzzi bath which was too die for . The restaurant was closed on both nights of our stay . Ate in the bar on the first night - I was happy with my food but my Fiancé had at least one issue with each of the courses - none of them serious or hygiene related just the food on the plate did not match the price or reflect the price paid for the dish. Beds very comfortable and nice wake up call .... cock-a-doodle doooooooooo....

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    88
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
105
240
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just back from a stay at this lovely old hotel. It has character and style, so much more than a soulless chain hotel and the staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and the food was of a very high standard. The receptionist even managed to arrange for a jarvey car to collect us at the hotel and bring us on a tour to Muckross House.

The library and drawing room have open fires and positively invite one to sit and relax. The location at the edge of the National Park is unbeatable.
Hens roam the grounds, providing free range eggs for breakfast! Cows and sheep graze the fields outside the windows.

We ate both in the bar and in the grander dining room and both were excellent. One of our party remarked that the hotel was more like staying with friends in their country retreat! I look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel overlook the National Park, get a ground floor room and you will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Literally. The weather in Killarney and area was atrocious when we visited, but Cahernane House was a lovely place to shelter. Our room was very posh, consisting of two rooms, one with kingsize bed and reading lamps on both sides. The other was a sitting room with television, a writing desk, a couch, easy chair and a coffee table with complimentary still and sparkling water and a jar of cookies. The bathroom was very posh with heated floors and towel bars, a claw-footed tub and separate shower. Our room was on the ground floor so we had a lovely balcony with table and two chairs. Alas, the weather dictated that we just look at them from inside. The grounds are lovely even when windblown and pooled with water.
From things we heard, I gather we got very lucky with the room we were assigned. Some guests complained about not having TV. Wifi was available only in the common areas but they were grand, a la Downtown Abbey, so we didn't mind at all.
Would go back in a heartbeat, assuming we got the same deal (two nights for the price of one) that we got this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Cahernane House Hotel! The hotel is absolutely beautiful--inside and out. The grounds were lovely--so peaceful. I felt like we were staying in a miniature Downton Abbey! We were greeted by an extremely helpful staff. They made phone calls/arrangements for us and were spot-on with their recommendations for pubs and shopping. We ate at the bar and the restaurant. Both were fabulous! That wasn't surprising with 2 Michelin stars under their belts. Breakfast was superb. I loved the fact that we were able to order from the menu in addition to the buffet at no extra charge. If you are at all inclined toward French toast, try theirs. It's amazing!

I would absolutely stay here again--and tell anyone I know to do the same. Even our teenaged sons loved it! They enjoyed the common rooms, where they played checkers and cards when they weren't using the WIFI. We loved to sit by the fireplace in the common areas and read, check emails, chat, and relax. We couldn't have been happier with our stay here!

Room Tip: We requested rooms with a view of the national park, and I'm so glad we did! What a beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel was in a gorgeous location outside of Killarney. Great if you want to take a couple days to relax in their very large rooms. The two minor issues we had, was it is not within walking distance of anything, and there is only WIFI in the lobby. Our mobile internet did not even have service (which was rare for Ireland). The breakfast was amazing and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsuskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here on 21st March - unfortunately only for one night. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel is very warm and welcoming and we stayed in a lovely room overlooking parkland. The room was huge, and the jacuzzi bath very relaxing! We had dinner in the main restaurant and the meal I can honestly say was one of the best I have had for ages! After dinner we had coffee and liqueurs in the drawing room in front of a blazing log fire. Finding our room afterwards proved to be a bit of a problem, partly because of the rather rambling arrangement of room numbers and split level floors! If we are ever back in Killarney we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baytreefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing