We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply loved it.”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cahernane House for two nights in September. We LOVED it. The location was wonderful - just close enough to the village and just far enough away. The staff was superb - thoughtful and friendly. Our room was enormous and comfortable (the cookies are excellent). Breakfast was a delight each morning. We chose to eat ALL our meals on the property because the food was so good. We had breakfast in the dining room upstairs, and lunch and dinners in the Cellar Bar where we had the absolute best seafood chowder ever. We recommend highly and would return on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marymckay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Cahernane House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel room was large and elegant. The bathroom was clean and up to date with heated floors. It is walking distance to town, but it's a walk. It is nicely situated in Killarney on the main road. Nice drive to the gap and a great starting point for Dingle. Downfall, only can get WiFi in the small registration area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Cahernane House is lovely and elegant and all of the staff that you deal directly with are attentive and very, very helpful. My traveling companions caught a virus and were in pretty bad shape and the staff even ran to the store to get sports drinks to help with dehydration. Other than the illness, we greatly enjoyed our stay. We were there for 3 nights and felt like we were living in a more gracious time. I expected a horse and carriage to collect us at any time. I loved the Pub in the basement. It was very cozy and a great place to eat at odd hours. Great bathrooms in the spacious room, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCH469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Driving onto the grounds of the Cahernane Manor House is like stepping back in time. The fields on both sides of the road were full of sheep with a herd of deer crossing on one side. The facility and staff were very accommodating. The location of the Manor House was extremely relaxing. If you are driving on your way back to the Dublin area would highly recommend the drive to Dingle and on down to Fahan and the Dungeag Fort. The Stonehouse Cafe overlooking the bay and fort has the best crab cakes and worth the stop and barman Jack can pull a Guinness like no other.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magelleantravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for a night and wished we had more. Originally we planned on walking into the center of town, but once we got to Cahernane we fell in love and stayed there throughout our stay. Its grounds are a perfect backdrop to unwind and wander about. The whole main house and our room had such old-world charm that was unexpected. Instead of our walk into town, we ate at the bar downstairs and had good food with better service. The following morning as well we received a filling and good breakfast with pleasant service. It was a breath of fresh air to drive away from the busy street and down their lane into what seemed like a place way out in the country. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friend and I stayed for one night at Cahernane House. The lady was very nice on check-in and directed us to our room on the ground floor. The room was quite spacious but a musty smell was prevalent throughout our stay. The beds and bathroom were really warm and comfortable. No tea/coffee facilities in our room. The following morning (breakfast was served between 8 and 10.30am) we arrived at the restaurant at 10.30 and waited to be shown to a table for 2 or 3 minutes. The waitress then informed us where the cereals were but said the kitchen was closed so we could not have anything cooked. There were two tables near us who were served full irish breakfast 15 minutes later so they must have just ordered before we sat down. I think this service was very poor for the sake of a few minutes. It was the first time this ever happened to me at any hotel and for this reason I would not return to Cahernane House. The prices are not cheap to stay here and the service could have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst travelling through Ireland with our cousins from Canada. Having already experienced the delights of Inch House, just outside Thurles, the bench mark had been set. We were completely overwhelmed by the character and warmth of Cahernane House. The view from the windows of our bedroom which was in the main house were just spectacular and we were totally in awe of the changing light and mist formation over the surrounding countryside that greeted us each morning and late afternoon. If you enjoy a comfortable, characterful hotel with friendly staff, superb food and are visiting this area then you will not be disappointed with Cahernane House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 38 in Killarney
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,234 reviews
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £117 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing