We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A lovely hotel -- 2 wings, one in the original building and one in a newer addition. We stayed in the older wing, in a room with antique furniture but modern conveniences. Great staff who never seemed to go home -- they were always there, smiling and ready to help. A fun pub in the basement with casual dining. Great breakfasts. Only 5 minutes from Killarney center and very convenient to the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    91
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
112
246
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After driving from Waterford we reached Cahernane House in Killarney. It sits on the edge of the national park and our view from the fourth floor turret windows was one of the most spectatcular vistas. The green pasture with goats, sheep, cows and rabbits was too good for words. The food in the dungeon bar for dinner was great. This place was by far my favorite of all the castles we stayed in in Ireland. There was a feeling that you lived there, not just stayed there. I truly didn't want to leave and will defintely return. Rent a bike and explore the national park...... amazing. Ask about the short walk to reach the lake. We did it and saw wild red deer feasting on the lily pads.... !!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

From the historic entry to the luxurious room we loved the entire 5 nights that we stayed at the Cahernane. Located with easy access to Killarney, the Ring of Kerry and the entire region we were thrilled by the facility. Its ambiance made the stay perfect and the staff seemed well oriented to make=ing each dya and night memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a badly needed break on our own without the kids. We had been here before 5 years ago and really liked it and we were hoping our experience would be as good. We were not disappointed !

We were met on arrival by the very helpful and friendly Marion. We were given Room 14 which is in the Main House overlooking the back gardens and the National Park beyond. This was actually the room we had stayed in previously.

The hotel is situated within walking distance from Killarney and we walked to the National Park and also through the town of Killarney. Although very close to the town it does not feel like it when you are in the grounds of the hotel. It was v peaceful and relaxing there. There is a great "Couples Swing" in the garden !

We had booked a table in the Hotel Restaurant for that night. We had a lovely table - one of the round ones in the first part of the Dining Room. The food was fantastic. The Quail Starter was one of the best things I have eaten in a long time. My husband had the Rabbit Terrine and for Mains we had the Lamb and the Steak - also excellent. The presentation of the food was also excellent. We had the Languedoc Merlot and the Californian Dessert Wine which were very good. We had a Cheeseboard for Dessert which was a little disappointing considering the standard of the previous 2 courses. The cheeses were very standard and it could do with some more imaginative additions.

The bedroom was large and very comfortable and the bed itself was good. I normally find it difficult to sleep in hotel beds but I slept happily here. The Bathroom had heating under the floor which is great and the shower was very good. However, the Bathrobes provided were stained and frayed and really need to be replaced.

Breakfast the next day was very good. Good selection to choose from the self-service part and excellent produce in the hot food. No shortage of extra toast or coffee.

We had enjoyed the meal in the restaurant so much the previous night that we decided that instead of continuing with our plan to visit Gaby's in the town that we would cancel and remain in the hotel for dinner on the 2nd night. This was done with a minimum of fuss by the very friendly Receptionist whose name I did not get.

Although I had requested that we get a similar table to the lovely one we had the night before this time we were in the 2nd part of the Dining Room and although we were beside the window, we were basically hemmed in for want of a better way of putting it by 2 larger parties at the 2 tables nearest to us. It led to a very different feel from the night before and the intimacy of the previous night was not there. This time I had the Duck for Mains which was cooked to perfection but my husband had the Salmon which was disappointing in comparison to the Lamb, Steak or Duck Mains. For Dessert we shared the Pistachio Creme Brulee which was fantastic ! We had the same Wines as the previous night.

The Wi-fi was another slight issue. It is only available in the common areas downstairs and to be honest coverage is patchy there. They have a note on the Menu for Breakfast requesting Guests not to use Smart Phones, IPhones, Tablets etc while dining which the vast majority of people including myself ignored. The reason being that the Dining Room had the best Wi-fi Coverage. Perhaps a better idea would be to make it available in the Bedrooms and therefore you wouldn't have people walking around and sitting with all sorts of electronic gadgets in the Common Areas desperately trying to get online.

It would be nice if perhaps there could be some reading material made available perhaps in the Library and the Sitting Rooms on the history of the house itself as we would have liked to learn a bit more about it.

Check out was smooth and there were no issues with the Bill.

However we were part of the way home when I realised I had left my Amazon Charger in the bedroom. I phoned the hotel and Marion very kindly located it and mailed it to me.

Overall we really like this hotel. It has a great combination of a relaxing environment with excellent food and very friendly staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 14 ! Or any of the Rooms in the Main House facing the back gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greekwife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cahernane House for two nights in September. We LOVED it. The location was wonderful - just close enough to the village and just far enough away. The staff was superb - thoughtful and friendly. Our room was enormous and comfortable (the cookies are excellent). Breakfast was a delight each morning. We chose to eat ALL our meals on the property because the food was so good. We had breakfast in the dining room upstairs, and lunch and dinners in the Cellar Bar where we had the absolute best seafood chowder ever. We recommend highly and would return on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymckay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel room was large and elegant. The bathroom was clean and up to date with heated floors. It is walking distance to town, but it's a walk. It is nicely situated in Killarney on the main road. Nice drive to the gap and a great starting point for Dingle. Downfall, only can get WiFi in the small registration area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, TX
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Cahernane House is lovely and elegant and all of the staff that you deal directly with are attentive and very, very helpful. My traveling companions caught a virus and were in pretty bad shape and the staff even ran to the store to get sports drinks to help with dehydration. Other than the illness, we greatly enjoyed our stay. We were there for 3 nights and felt like we were living in a more gracious time. I expected a horse and carriage to collect us at any time. I loved the Pub in the basement. It was very cozy and a great place to eat at odd hours. Great bathrooms in the spacious room, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCH469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,526 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,143 reviews
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing