We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - fabulous location, service and wonderful grandeur”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect - fabulous location, service and wonderful grandeur”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had, sadly, just a single night at the Cahernane House Hotel staying in a beautiful room with views over the mountains, towards the Killarney Natl Park. This is a wonderful place to stay. We had superb service with all the staff we encountered going out of their way to make our stay as tremendous as possible. Merilyn, the manageress, was the kindest and most caring person we met on our trip through Ireland. The hotel is a beautifully converted stately home and the surrounding grounds are simply stunning. Breakfast was excellent. We had an relaxed meal in the cellar bar, the food was good and again the service there was 1st rate. I would give this hotel 6 stars if I could. Don't go past it if you are staying in Killarney.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the mountains if possible, truly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    90
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
108
242
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a wonderful experience. Our room was spacious with King bed and beautiful sitting area. Merilyn (sp?) in reception was so kind and lovely, she and all the staff did everything possible to make you feel at home & welcome. We had dinner in the dining room and it was also 5 star.
The public rooms are authentically decorated and a pleasure to see. The scenery was beyond beautiful, We enjoyed watching the sheep and cows also. A truly 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at The Cahernane. From start to finish the staff were helpful in every possible way. We had a first class room with a huge bed with fantastic views of fields with the mountains in the background. The hotel has a number of charming lounges which are full of antiques. The breakfasts were always excellent. We had dinner at the hotel on a couple of occasions and the food was always very good. Whilst we were in Killarney all the locals we spoke to mentioned that The Cahernane was one of the best - if not THE best hotel in the area.
There were one or two parts of the hotel which need a bit of TLC and a coat of paint but that would be our only criticism. This is a very good hotel and is thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the rear of the hotel with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjacksonEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here two nights last week. Our room opened up to a patio an we had a great view of a pasture with sheep, cows, and the mountains in the background. I see others here found the room décor a little tired, but I thought it was perfect. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel has an indoor pool and a bar, but we did not use either of these. The restaurant was cozy, but we only ate breakfast there, and there was a good selection of food.

We didn't spend much time on the grounds because there is a lot to do in and around Killarney. The hotel is just a 15 minute walk or abt. 5 euro cab ride into town. It's a great location for doing "touristy" things during the day and enjoying the lively, fun nightlife in Killarney.

If I ever go back to Ireland, I would definitely book this hotel again and spend more time in Killarney!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's not easy planning a driving tour of Ireland for 14, when you know a good location, a great meal and secure parking is required. Any we were very pleased with the Cahernane House, although the rooms looked slightly tired they were comfortable and spacious and we had an excellent dinner and full Irish for breakfast - all served with fresh local produce.
A very good location to stay when visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPHWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

At the end of a tree-lined lane, you know Cahernane House will be a great place to stay. Our room opened to a balcony overlooking a pasture of sheep and cows. The room was large and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Cozy public rooms. Great restaurant. We spent three nights using the Cahernane House as our staging point for western Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacyspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Cahernane House Hotel in Killarney. The staff were really efficient, friendly and just make you feel so welcome and at home.
The rooms are lovely, decorated to a high standard and the hotel while busy with guests it was quiet at night - which we love. The bar was welcoming and guests chatted about their day (its a kind of intimate setting), yet you could bury yourself in a corner with a book and a glass of wine and be quite happy. Lots or rooms to sit back and relax in, including the conservatory. Its a lovely relaxing break away with beautiful gardens to sit outside.
Cahernane's excellent rating is down to its food. Breakfast both days was superb; fresh local ingredients and all hot courses were made to order. From the eggs from their own hens, to the home made porridge, breads and preserves it is hard to find a fault. We had dinner in the bar on Friday night and the quality and food choice is way superior to bar food in many 5 star establishments. The crowning glory was dinner in the Herbert Room on Saturday night! This wasn't our first visit to the restaurant for dinner and it certainly won't be our last - again everything is prepared by the chefs on site - a range of savory breads are made, chutneys, ice creams and sorbets - if they can make it there the do - this is a true testament to a head chef that clearly has a passion for food and amazing skill. Somewhat of a hidden gem - I almost think I should keep it my secret!

Room Tip: Wifi I think was only available in the library - but it was free! This hotel is well in off the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing