We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This place was very nice in a great location. It is a short walk to the center of town, where there are great restaurants. It is also located near the ring of kerry, near Killarney National park which is beautiful, and the muckross house. Check in was a breeze, room were clean, beds were nice and so were the pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoziNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Cahernane was recommended to me by a tour company representative. The location is great just minutes to the town of Killarney and the national park. The house itself is very quaint and charming with beautiful views. Our room was okay--had to ask to split the beds and when we walked in it wasn't ready even though they gave us keys. Asked for more towels and never got them. Staff don't seem on top of things which they should be especially since it's considered a 4 or 5 star place. Wifi only worked in the lobby area which was frustrating. The main restaurant was very good and you should eat there--breakfast included was excellent and dinner by the fireplace was beautiful mountain views and a nice menu. Not sure I'd stay here again--Sheen Falls Lodge which is further away from Killarney was much nicer.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor so it was a little warm if you go in the summer and don't want to be ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tlenihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

i was torn between giving this 2 or 3 stars. 2 won out simply because its supposed to be better. from the outside teh building looks great. so does the lobby. they have a sunroom that is strangely out of place in a manor house. the problem starts when you walk down the hallway to your room
old worn out carpets in the hall. stains visible on the ceiling.
when we got into our room the carpets were no better. the room was a nice size with a comfortable bed,you just had to ignore the peeling wallpaper,the worn out upholstery and a toilet that barely worked.
very thin towels.
the breakfast was skimpy. when my wife asked for potatoes with her eggs she was told they weren't available. no potatoes in ireland? that may be illegal.
also there in no wifi in the rooms,the only wifi is in the lobby. come on this is 2014 and its supposed to be an upscale hotel.
overall a very disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonshinejeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The drive to the 'Hotel' although impressive is only the beginning of a fantastic experience. The staff is there for your pleasure and makes your stay as comfortable as possible. From the time Mary met us upon our arrival to her final goodbye, she couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DrDJPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We do not recommend this hotel. Stayed there 3 nights Aug 12, 13 and 14. No internet access. in room and was told internet access in foyer, dining and sitting room. This was poor and it was unbelievable to see guests sitting and standing around in foyer to get access, which was slow anyway. Room was ok and bed comfortable. Food was fair.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed two nights with my wife and daughter in this wonderful manor house. From the moment you enter the door of the manor, you experience a warm ambience from the charm of the home and warmth of the staff. Several seating areas greet you - the library, the sitting room, and garden room all invite you to relax. The room we were assigned was beautiful - large and well appointed. The beds were comfortable and storage was plentiful. Breakfasts were delicious - both hot and cold. We dined our first evening in the pub; thoroughly enjoyed our pasta dishes in a relaxing atmosphere along with a good bottle of wine. The next evening we dined in the main dining room and were not disappointed; a generous fixe priced menu with many choices. Food was well prepared and service was attentive.
Location of the manor is good for visiting the Killarney National Park and Muckross House.
Cahernane House was our favourite place to stay and we have promised ourselves a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mschmitt255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had, sadly, just a single night at the Cahernane House Hotel staying in a beautiful room with views over the mountains, towards the Killarney Natl Park. This is a wonderful place to stay. We had superb service with all the staff we encountered going out of their way to make our stay as tremendous as possible. Merilyn, the manageress, was the kindest and most caring person we met on our trip through Ireland. The hotel is a beautifully converted stately home and the surrounding grounds are simply stunning. Breakfast was excellent. We had an relaxed meal in the cellar bar, the food was good and again the service there was 1st rate. I would give this hotel 6 stars if I could. Don't go past it if you are staying in Killarney.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the mountains if possible, truly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £121 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing