We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing!!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I stayed in the International Hotel, Killarney for a 2 night weekend break with my husband and it was fantastic....relaxing, comfortable, friendly and above all else great value for money.
The hotel is central to everything and great shopping nearby.
We were met with a friendly smile, all staff were soo friendly it really made us feel welcome. The bar is a great place to have a drink and unwind and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Our room was on the 1st floor and facing out onto the road were you could see the jaunting cars all lined up, the room was spotless and everything was fresh and modern, a really beautiful room with a great ambience and the plate of chocolate dipped marshmallows awaiting us on arrival was a real treat we did not expect. We both had dinner on the Saturday night in the hotel restaurant and the service and food was exceptional, we could not fault a thing.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to all for the friendly staff , relaxing atmosphere and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear Margaret,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to have you stay with us again last weekend and hopefully we will see you a few more times this year!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    419
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
483
885
86
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Just back from my hen weekend, location was perfect, short distance to other pubs. Food was excellant and service was very efficient. Staff coudn't have been nicer, it was like home away from home. Only thing missing was leisure facilities but then did'n't have any time for that anyway...!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear_Ahern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear Eimear,
Thank you for taking the time time to post your review of the International Hotel.
We are delighted you all enjoyed your weekend with us and we hope to see you back here again.
In the meantime, enjoy the Wedding!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Checked in to The International Hotel for a few days last week
was in Killarney for the Gathering. Got a lovely front room really
bright and airy. Very comfortable and lovely to be able to look
out at the horse drawn carraiges. We dined in the bar.
and the food was very tasty and very reasonably prices. The blonde
girl in reception booked us on the ring of kerry tour which we thoroughly
enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hnwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear HNWH,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the International Hotel.
Your positive feedback is much appreciated. All our front rooms have been redecorated and we are delighted with the feedback we have received to them, being able to watch the Killarney Jarveys in action is a bonus.
I will also pass on your favourable comments on your food and dining experience to the Food & Beverage team. Hope you enjoyed the Gathering , it is a great event and looking forward to welcoming you back to the International in the near future.
Kind regards
Terence Mulcahy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed with a large group at the International. The Jaunting Carts line up right across the street and the entire town was within walking distance. The rooms were kind of small and odd shaped but very comfortable. The pub was extremely nice and the staff was very attentive and friendly. It has free internet service for guests, which is a rarity, but it was painfully slow. The hotel advertised a sauna, but admitted that it had never been used and no one seemed to know if it even worked or how.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasbear1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear lucasbear1104,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments are much appreciated.

We are a traditional style hotel in operation since 1906, the building dates back to 1864, so there are indeed some irregular shapes with bay windows etc and this adds to the character of the building and, as you mention, the rooms are very comfortable.

Hannigans Bar is very popular with locals and visitors to Killarney, and again, it’s very traditional in style serving fresh local produce.

We very much appreciate your favourable comments regarding the food and service and I will pass on your comments to the team. We are very fortunate to have an excellent team in Hannigans.

I apologise if the internet was slow during your stay. We have just installed an 8GB wireless system in the hotel, offering free WIFI in all 90 bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. I have passed on your comments to the Engineer as I am not sure if you stayed before or after the installation of the new system.

Regarding the staff member who informed you about the sauna, I can assure you it is working perfectly and once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Terence Mulcahy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Great place to stay - very central and nice fresh decor. We took an upgrade and got a lovely room with jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your positive feedback and comments.
Our Executive rooms are very comfortable and worth paying a little extra for.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Killarney and the International Hotel.
Kind regards
Terence Mulcahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week-end in this hotel and boy were we pleased.The staff could not do enough for us such hospitality.We arrived from Tipperary on a Saturday and stayed until Monday we wished we could have stayed longer but had to get back to work.The food in the hotel Hannigans bar was so good we ate there every day.All the staff were so pleasant you would think you knew them all your life.We will definitely be back.We had some great games of snooker in the hotel,Everything about this hotel is to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank failte52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear Failte 52,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your positive feedback is much appreciated. We are very fortunate to have such a professional team who really enjoy their work.
Our food offering is very popular with both locals and visitors and it is an area we pay particular attention to.
I will pass on your comments to all department Heads and we look forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Terence Mulcahy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

great rooms!! stayed here recently. really enjoeyed my stay here as I was not planning on staying in Killarney. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alihen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,125 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing