We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Week in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We spent 6 nights in Ireland travelling from Dublin to Galway and after asking for an upgrade the International at Killarney was probably the nices hotelt. Our original room was very small. It is very centrally located, but it would be better if we knew where the parking was prior to arriving. Having the best room in the hotel was a treat and well worth it. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Towel rail was great to dry the washing

Room Tip: Careful if you get a room overlooking the side walk way, can be noisy as everyone leaves the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBeachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear AussieBeach
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your upgrade! Our Executive rooms and Suites are indeed of a very high standard.
Regarding the car parking, I am sorry if you had difficulty with this, there are 3 carparks within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.
We hope you enjoyed your Ireland trip and had a safe journey house.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    406
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
462
847
84
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We entered this elagant Hotel and were greeted by a smiling front desk clerk named Maria. What a joy after the long train ride from Dublin.we were given a great up grade because the three person rooms were all booked. Well this room was the height of comfort. Lovely decorated and spotless. Looking for some fresh seafood reasonably priced.Maria sent us down the street to East Ave Cafe top see her friend Cathy. Well she did an excellant job of steering us to a fabulous restaurant. Great food ,great service. When we arrived back at the Hotel there was Maria smiling that winning smile inquiring about our evening.. Great hospitality. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Deborah K,
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed it as customer service is our first priority and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Marie.
All our rooms are furnished to a very high standard with our Executive rooms having that little touch of luxury including Jacuzzi Baths.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and if you have the opportunity to visit our way again, we'd be delighted to welcome you back to the International
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Near everything and the hotel bar has great food. Great hotel and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonePalm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear LonePalm07,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel so positively on Tripadvisor and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hannigans Restaurant is very popular with visitors and locals alike in Killarney and our Head Chef uses only the best of fresh, local produce.
We would be very pleased of the opportunity to welcome you back at another time
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

While handicapped rm unavailable 1st night, would transfer for 2nd if I wished. We were upgraded to, unrequested, superior rm and I would not move to another. Beautiful room, old school, furnishings understated yet elegant. Manager stopped us to inquire as to comfort of room and distance for me (walker). Cannot address comfort of standard room but if price is right, superior is laaarge, has two separate sleeping areas, sitting area between ea, two tv's, whirlpool bath and stall shower, etc. Dining room and pub quite nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaybeeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Kaybeeboston,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us which we are delighted you enjoyed.
All our rooms are fully renovated but our Superior and Executive rooms do have that extra space and little bit of luxury. Going by the information given, I am not fully sure of the reasons for your room change after your first night, but I am very glad it did not take from your enjoyment of your stay with us.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at the International Hotel in Killarney for two nights mid-week as part of a tour-Ireland package. The front desk staff was very helpful check-in, to directions, to check-out. The hotel was a great stay, comfortable and typically appointed. Our room was a queen-room on the second floor and included hot water pot for tea, blow dryer, wireless internet and plenty of other typical comforts.

The staff went above locating a power adapter for me, and was always quick to greet me by name. The only offer of improvement is parking - there is no designated point to let out, and only street parking is available near the hotel. Up the road about 250 meters is a municipal parking area (1 euro per hour during day), or covered park at a higher rate. Also, A/C was not available in this room, which made the mild afternoons a bit warm. With the window open the adjacent walk-lane was a bit noisy in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris12360763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Chris,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay and we are delighted you enjoyed it.
Our staff are always happy to assist with any queries and thank you for commenting on this.
Just finally regarding air-conditioning, we do have AC in approx 50% of our rooms so if it is specifically required we do ask that it is requested in advance, and we generally have fans available too.
So we thank you again, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and that we get to see you again at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at the International Hotel for five nights. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was friendly and very helpful. They are a 5 minute walk from the train station, and the rental car agency is located at the entrance to the hotel. They are on the main road so getting in and out of town was so easy! The restaurant service was excellent, from a light breakfast, to tea and an amazing dining experience - and a gym to work off the dessert! For convenience and quality I absolutely recommend the International!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrefairy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Fyrefairy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the International Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted you had a pleasant stay with us, customer satisfaction is our number one priority and our staff are always commented on very favourably.
Thank you also for commenting on our Hannigans Bar and our food, both of which are very popular with our locals and visitors alike,
I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the International and to Killarney at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a great stay at the International Hotel. The staff were so friendly and the service was wonderful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula11163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Paula,
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to the International Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, customer satisfaction and first-class service is extremely important to us and we hope to see you back at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing