We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I recently spent a couple of nights at the International Hotel Killarney with my parents while on a three-week trip of Ireland and the UK. Our welcome to the hotel was excellent and we were allocated a large room with three beds that was clean and well decorated. Hotel wi-fi was great and we had an excellent view from our bay window.

Parking is a bit of a walk - about a block down the street - but it's worth it as there is plenty of it and it is very inexpensive given the city center location. The lot does not charge between 6:30 PM and 8:30 AM so as long as you feed the pay and display machine before and after that time, you can often park for a minimal rate. The hotel is located next to Killarney's high street featuring many shops and excellent restaurants. Additionally, we found the drive to the national park is only ten minutes.

The hotel offers many extras including the snooker room (we enjoyed a game one evening - the use of the table is free but there is a small refundable deposit to use the set of balls), a golf simulator and a full library. The building retains its historic charm but the rooms are modern and contain all the necessary amenities.

Breakfast was included in our rate and of good quality. We enjoyed chatting with our waitresses each morning who often asked us about our plans for the day or kindly inquired after my elderly parent's health. Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this place to other travelers. Great stay in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Domer2007
Thank you so much for your lovely detail review of our hotel.
The hotel is traditional in style, over 100 years old,and great attention has been put into retaining all the original features which you kindly commented on.
Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and our staff are always commented on very favourably. We genuinely aim to provide the very best service possible at all times and we truly appreciate when it is recognised
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,726 - 1,732 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Beautiful hotel in the middle of everything in Killarney. Stayed there for 4 nights and they made sure our rooms were neat each day. In walking distance of great shops and fun bars. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriK904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Lori K,
Thank you for taking the time to review the International Hotel so favourably on Tripadvisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on housekeeping, I will be sure to pass on to our Head Housekeeper.
Hopefully we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at another time.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed at the International Hotel for a week with my family for my wedding. All of the staff were helpful, accommodating, and friendly. They went over and above for myself and my guests, not only in terms of our rooms, but also for my reception which was held in the hotel restaurant. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay and for your events.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katelyn1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Katelyn and Bill,
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We were delighted to host your Wedding Reception here at the International and to be a part of such a happy occasion.
Again, we would like to wish you both all the very best for your future together and to thank you for choosing our hotel for this most important day.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Me and my husband joined rail tour in Ireland and they have us stayed in this hotel it was a great exprience to be there I definitely go back and recommended it highly the location was great and the resturant had great choices the staff were very helpful it s a beautiful city and it left a great memory for me

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahrzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Shahrzad K,
Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us though Railtours, who run excellent tours.
To us, the real proof of a persons enjoyment is if they would choose to return and we're delighted you would as customer satisfacton is genuinely our main priority.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the International and to Killarney on your next visit.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were booked here by CIE Tours for two nights in lieu of another hotel we were suppose to stay. What a wonderful change it plans. The room was huge with a jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable. The food was fantastic. Having an exceptionally warm week in Ireland it would have been nice to have had airconditioning but that did not seem to be the norm in the rooms we stayed in and actually it cooled off very nicely during the night. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Without airconditioning it is nice to open your windows so make sure you get a room high enough that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Nanajan,
Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel. We work closely with CIE Tours and value their custom so we're delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We do have airconditioning in approx 50% of our rooms but fortunately (or unfortunately I am not sure!) we do not get the weather that requires it very often.
We also believe that a good nights sleep is essential and all our beds have memory-foam mattresses and pillows.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to Ireland and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to us at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were booked here by a tour company for two nights - fantastic! Room included jacuzzi tub and all the things that make a room comfortable. Hotel staff were terrific, food was great. Really the nicest hotel we stayed at in Ireland - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandMary42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Mark and Mary,
Thank you both so much for your wonderful review of the International Hotel, we really appreciate your very positive comments.
Our wish is that every guest has a relaxing and pleasant experience with us and happy memories of their visit and we know that first class customer service, good food and a good nights sleep are an important part of that.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and hope to see you both again at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great location with a very helpful staff. The view from our window was inspiring. The bathroom was large and the shower was great. The bed was very comfortable. My only small issue was that I am a spoiled Texan and would like to have had air conditioning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpcvrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear rpcvrn,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us , our front facing rooms are very popular as they are overlooking the Jaunting cars and horses and a small area of the National Park so plenty to see!
We do have air conditioning in approx 50% of our rooms, just not in this section unfortunately - a lot of our US clients do request it, so not ' spoiled' at all!
Thank you also for your recommendation of the hotel, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home to Texas,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,315 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing