We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Beautiful older hotel - easy walking to town. Rooms were large with very comfy beds and good size bathrooms. Enjoyed group dinners at the hotel -- food was very good and service excellent. Fun pub within the hotel with live music nightly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Iamw,
Thank you for taking the time to review the International Hotel so favourably on Tripadvisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on our food,service and Hannigans Pub.
Hopefully we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at another time.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    406
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
461
847
84
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just returned from a stay at this hotel and I have to say it is one of the most charming hotels I have stayed in. Its location is perfect, right in the heart of Killarney town . We were welcomed by a very friendly and helpful receptionist called Ann.. she went out of her way to help us out and was such a pleasure to deal with. We were given a beautiful room with a single and double bed.. The bathroom was beautiful with bath and shower in it. Breakfast was very good and again staff very polite and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel if your thinking of staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Dav,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel has been completely renovated over the last few years and we have been getting fantastic feedback. We have also recently enhanced our breakfast buffet and this is working really well too.
Many of our staff have been with us for many years - including Ann and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them all.
Hopefully we may have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel and Killarney at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nice, quaint older hotel. Very friendly staff. Classic old wood work, great plaster work, very charming. Cant comment on price, as was part of tour package, but did see a sign in window for 89 Euro for night due to cancellation. Food in dining room included in package was pretty good & service was friendly & efficient. Only thing didnt like was the half shower door on tub, but know thats common in European hotels & the maze in hallways getting to room. Did have live music in their pub, which was nice. Very close to downtown action area. Everything was VERY clean!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Frank
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel followng your recent stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
The Hotel is traditional in style, over 100 years old and while retaining most of its original features, it has been fully renovated. Also our location is undoubtedly among the best in town and we are conveniently located close to all amenities and attractions.
We also appreciate your very kind comments on our staff, who are definitely our best asset.
I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your tour of Ireland and we hope to maybe have the chance to welcome you back at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

There is so much character to this hotel with it's dark wood panelling, red carpeting, sweeping staircase and lovely stained glass. It is indeed a charming old place. Our room was cozy, warm and comfortable. So clean you could eat off the bathroom floor..... it was gleaming!! I liked the heated towel rack. One complaint would be the half shower glass that did not prevent us from getting water all over the floor. And since we were literally at the end of a long hallway it took a long long time for the hot water to arrive. But minor details. The bed was very comfortable and I liked that we had a sheet on our bed instead of only a duvet.
The dining area was huge with high ceilings surrounded by stained glass windows and dark pannelled wood that was very elegant indeed. They had an entrance into the neighbouring pub thorugh stained glass doors. The service again as in all of Ireland that we experienced was impeccable. I love the Irish hospitality. Delicious dinner meals on hot plates and great breakfast buffet. Close walking distance to all shopping and pubs in town.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandytoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Sandytoez,
Thank you for taking the time to review the International Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We endeavour at all times to preserve the traditional atmosphere of the hotel while ensuring first-rate modern facilities along with the friendly personal service you commended.
Thank you also for commenting so favourably on our cooked breakfasts and our Restaurant, our food is all sourced locally and freshly cooked to order to the highest standards.
We wish you a safe journey home to Canada and hope to see you back again at another time.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, central location and a very good restaurant and bar and an active cleaning service. However the cons outweigh the pros. The wallpaper was pealing, the bed was hard, the shower curtain was disgusting, the shower was broken, the food and decoration is nicer in the "Ross Hotel" next door. Also, it's not secure. I opened the door in the night, as I was expecting someone to return to the room and an old, drunken man shoved the door open and had a stroll around the room, thinking it was the bathroom. When I complained about the issue and that the rooms should have peepholes, they said he was probably just lost or confused and displayed no sympathy or regret about the issue and did not offer any sort of reimbursement, not even a free drink in the bar, which I thought I was entitled to.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenN778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear StephenN778
Thank you for taking the time to review your latest visit to the International Hotel as all reviews are considered when making decisions on future policy and product change.
However you leave me a little confused as you start off saying the Restaurant and Bar are very good, and that there is an active house keeping cleaning service . Then you reverse this train of thought.
Cleanliness together with service is our number one priority. Our Housekeeper has been with the hotel for over 20 years and takes great pride in her work. All rooms are checked regularly by Management to ensure maintenance is to a very high standard.
We also have a full-time Maintenance Manager so any items reported not working or broken are repaired or replaced immediately.
As regards decor, the International is a traditional /classic style hotel with a warm, homely atmosphere which the majority of our guests appreciate. However hotels are a matter of choice and the Ross Hotel is a beautiful modern boutique hotel which may better suit your taste.
I apologise if we didn’t meet your expectations on this visit and once again thank you for your comments and we would love to see you back at a future date
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macroom, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed in the International Hotel Killarney on numerous occassions and always the hospitality and reception was brilliant.
It is so close to the town centre yet its so tranquil and relaxing.
Lastly the staff were excellent,so pleasant & helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the side of the hotel are quieter besides the walkway to Killarney town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Tony,
Thank you so much for your very kind review of the International.
We cannot stress enough how much we appreciate our repeat visitors, we understand that getting away to a hotel for a few days is a treat now and we want to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant relaxing time with us and leave with happy memories of their stay.
I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our staff and looking forward to welcoming you both back next trip.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I recently spent a couple of nights at the International Hotel Killarney with my parents while on a three-week trip of Ireland and the UK. Our welcome to the hotel was excellent and we were allocated a large room with three beds that was clean and well decorated. Hotel wi-fi was great and we had an excellent view from our bay window.

Parking is a bit of a walk - about a block down the street - but it's worth it as there is plenty of it and it is very inexpensive given the city center location. The lot does not charge between 6:30 PM and 8:30 AM so as long as you feed the pay and display machine before and after that time, you can often park for a minimal rate. The hotel is located next to Killarney's high street featuring many shops and excellent restaurants. Additionally, we found the drive to the national park is only ten minutes.

The hotel offers many extras including the snooker room (we enjoyed a game one evening - the use of the table is free but there is a small refundable deposit to use the set of balls), a golf simulator and a full library. The building retains its historic charm but the rooms are modern and contain all the necessary amenities.

Breakfast was included in our rate and of good quality. We enjoyed chatting with our waitresses each morning who often asked us about our plans for the day or kindly inquired after my elderly parent's health. Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this place to other travelers. Great stay in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Domer2007
Thank you so much for your lovely detail review of our hotel.
The hotel is traditional in style, over 100 years old,and great attention has been put into retaining all the original features which you kindly commented on.
Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and our staff are always commented on very favourably. We genuinely aim to provide the very best service possible at all times and we truly appreciate when it is recognised
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing