We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience surprised me!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is in a prime location which would leave no worries for taxi's at the end of a night. The cinema is across the way and the town centre is always buzzing. There are many nearby car parks.
The hotel is a bit of a maze and we were on the third floor which took a while to get to. The room was very nice with a double bed and two single beds. It was very spacious and the bathroom was lovely too. There was no view from the window and the beds were only ok for comfort. The air conditioning was in perfect working order.
The staff were very accomodating even when we arrived down a little late for breakfast.
The reason it surprised me is that the hotel never stood out to me as an option before however on staying there I would defineately consider returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelle0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear ChelleOK,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Judging from your description of your room, I believe you were in our Executive section which was newly built in a courtyard area of the hotel a few years back. The hotel is one of the oldest in Killarney, obviously completely renovated but maintaining many of the original features which make the hotel unique.
While we're pleased you liked your room, I am a little surprised that you did not find the beds particularly comfortable, they are usually commented on very favourably and are all handmade in Ireland with memory foam mattresses, that said, we appreciate the comfort of a bed is definitely a personal choice.
So, we thank you again for your favourable review, and now you have 'discovered' the International we hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in Killarney.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
There are newer reviews for International Hotel Killarney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,518 - 1,524 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

A very enjoyable stay over Easter , extremely friendly and good service. Food good with a nice bar and always served with a smile !
Excellent location though the parking situation not ideal. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Dear ChisBC17,
We're delighted you enjoyed your break over Easter with us and thank you very much for your great comments.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you back again at another time,
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

About 20 girls stayed for a night in March. We had dinner booked in the hotel too for the girly together, great 3 course meal was served for very good value for money.
The staff were very helpful and friendly right from booking stage to check in and in the bar/restaurant. The hotel has a brilliant location in the town.
Any time I stay in Killarney it is the only place I stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Leonora,
We're delighted you all enjoyed your night and thank you for your wonderful review.
We really appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and hope to see back again soon.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just a one night stay but the staff were so helpful and obviously love their jobs.Food in Hannigans
restaurant was excellent quality and staff the best we ever experienced.The rooms were of good quality,the only little quibble it was too warm. The breakfast selection and service was first class .We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Eat in restaurant
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Tim B,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review, and compliments on our staff, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Hopefully your next one will be a little longer and we look forward to having you back at another time!
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

A bit of a bother navigating to our room, but it was well appointed and very clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful, a shout out to the very proper Englishman on early morning duty at the front desk, helped me purchase cigarettes in a machine, made change for me, and insisted that I got the brand I wanted. A gentleman in every sense. Had drinks outdoors, in the sidewalk seating, impeccable service. A short walk to shopping and dining. Great breakfast, the usual fattening Irish fare, waiters were wonderful. Also, help with luggage, a rarity, it seems, in Ireland. A great stay, throughout!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Tom M,
Thank you for your great comments and I will be sure to pass them on to our team - Peter especially ( who incidentally is not English but does not very cultured!).
We have Front Hall Porters on duty 24 hours to assist with all requests, including luggage as you kindly pointed out.
The International is all about great service and I am delighted you found this to be the case and again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is much appreciated,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the International Hotel, we had a warm welcome from all the staff and a lovely room with everything we needed. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was very good and the service was excellent. We especially liked the hotel pub - very handy! The only minor drawback was parking, I was directed to a public car park nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriafawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Victoriafawcett,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on the hotel, we're very pleased you had a good stay with us - and enjoyed our Hannigans Pub! It's a very popular spot with locals and visitors to town alike.
Just regarding parking, while we don't have our own private parking, there is a good selection of carparks all within a three minute walk of the hotel and the charge is reasonable, €7 per day, one of the cheapest in Ireland.
So, we thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we would be delighted to have the opportunity to see you back again,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The rooms were spacious and the bed was comfortable with nice fluffy down comforters. Unfortunately it was god awful hot in the room. We couldn't turn the heat down (nor could the bellman) and had to sleep with the windows open. The street noise kept us up late and woke us early. The buffet breakfast was plentiful with hot and cold items but many items were not kept refilled. There is no parking so you have to drive in circles looking for street parking or pay an arm/leg in the car park. Overall, very disapointing.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kathy4559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Kathy4559,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and while we appreciate your comments on the room and our beds (which are handmade in Ireland by the Ultimate Sleep Company with flotation mattresses), we are disappointed that overall your stay did not live up to your expectations.
Just to reply to a few points - the heating in each room is individually controlled so please accept our apologies that this was not explained to you properly. As you are aware I am sure, the weather in Ireland is very changeable and we had experienced a week of warm weather. We do keep the hotel at a constant comfortable temperature for all our guests comfort,
Generally street noise is not a problem for us as all our windows are extremely well insulated, but I appreciate if you had to keep the windows open, that it could be an issue.
Finally on the parking, overall parking in Killarney is relatively easy to find and we feel reasonably charged at €7 per day, the only exception to this is a local underground car park which is quite expensive so possibly you parked there....
To finish, we thank you again for your feedback as it is all appreciated and we hope that overall,
you enjoyed your time in Ireland
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
926 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £84 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing