We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We just returned after a 2 night stay in the internaional Killarney Staff were very friendly, breakfast excellent, and dinner in the restarant was excellentent. It is a very convenient hotel for walking in killarney & less than 5 mins from train station. The weather was wonderful which helped. Entertainment in the bar was great easy listening & very enjoyable. Would recommend
to anyone.

Room Tip: people with walking difficulties would need to inform hotel about this as i found a few steps up &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Ann M,
Thanks so much for your great review. We're very glad you had such a pleasant stay with us, and yes - good weather certainly improves the experience, Killarney is such an ' outdoors' town with so much to see and do.
We hope you to see you back again to the hotel and to Killarney at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    412
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
469
864
85
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have stayed at the International Hotel, Killarney a number of times, I have always enjoyed my experience. It is a comfortable hotel and the staff are very friendly and obliging. We had dinner in the restaurant on previous occasions and the food was excellent. The hotel enjoys a very central location which is a huge advantage if you are hoping to enjoy some of Killarney's night life. We were not disappointed in this respect either, there are many excellent venues including the hotel's own bar, with life music on Saturday night. Breakfast was excellent also, I recommend the Eggs Benedict! If I were to give one fault it is that the hotel does not have its own parking, but here is ample on street parking and several nearby car parks. All in all I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Maureen O,
Thank you for your lovely comments but more importantly, thank you for your continued support of the International Hotel. We really appreciate our return guests and as we always say, we could not continue to operate without you.
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hopefully many more to come!
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weimar, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

From the moment we checked in... such a friendly front desk. Anyway they could help no matter what. And the General Manager, we realized later, insisted on taking our luggage up to the room and he did it himself. Without a doubt this GM leads by example. The rooms, certainly not standard European, nice sized rooms and very upgraded. Beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast served in a very elegant room with both the standard continental and full Irish. The food was very good. We ate in the hotel restaurant one of the two nights we were there and what a pleasant surprise... not only was the food superb but the service phenomenal. The restaurant manager even took time to come and visit. The hotel offers a library to relax in as well as a large relaxing living styled room with a gorgeous pool table. Bottom-line, great hotel and even more important... phenomenal team! When we return to Ireland we will definitely return to Killarney and this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the street in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiveMeSunNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear GiveMeSomeSunNorCal,
What a phenomenal review! Thank you so much - couldn't have said it better ourselves!
Yes, our whole team operate as one unit here and it works very well for us, most of our core staff have been with the hotel for many years and genuinely care about our guests.
We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and have a safe journey home,
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to shops, pubs, the outlet mall, the castle, churches, etc. My only complaint would have to be that the hotel did not have a parking lot. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. We requested to not have room service and were surprised to find fresh towels hanging in a bag on our door. The hotel staff was very helpful.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EverWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear EverWalt,
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us.
All customer feedback is appreciated as it helps us continually improve our service to our clients and I will tell our Housekeeper that you appreciated the fresh towels.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the International Hotel at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and accommodations were arranged by Railtours. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel in the nice little town of Killarney. The rooms were a great size and that bathrooms were up to date and very clean. Service was great as the front desk mailed out some postcards for us. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Rumple S,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments and recommendation, we work closely with Railtours and look after a lot of their guests.
The hotel is over 100 years old and as you mention, is full of quirky corners and old-world charm but I hasten to add, completely up-to-date with all modern facilities and amenities.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home,
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

had a very enjoyable few days over the may bank holiday, staff were very friendly, had dinner in the restaurant, the food was excellent, and reasonably priced. would defnitely stay there again, it is in a prime location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Phyllis,
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend, and thank you so much for your great review.
We aim to provide a top-class service throughout the hotel and we're happy you found this to be the case.
We hope to see you back again another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Killarney and is close to the cinema and various other place. The staff in this hotel are so helpful and always happy to chat with you and make you feel at home. The meals are gorgeous and the rooms are lovely. We have stayed in this hotel a few times and will be going back to stay there the next time we are down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noeleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Noeleen J,
Thank you very much for your great review. Our return guests are very important to us, we appreciate the loyalty and all our staff work together as a team to ensure only the highest of standards for each and every stay.
We hope to see you back again next time you are in Killarney and again, we thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing