We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Ever Hotel - Yes, Literally” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Hotel Killarney

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Best Ever Hotel - Yes, Literally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The charm and grandeur of this hotel is surpassed only by its friendliness and comfort. This place is truly special. Grand but not snooty. A hard mix. We were upgraded by Railtours to the magical, mystery third floor. We followed halls, around corners, over steps, and ramps to the secret elevator. Fantastic room, with a state of the art bathroom with jacuzzi. The breakfast buffet is
really nice. Staff is friendly. What a wonderful treat.. Did I say wonderful?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookwormten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Bookwormten,
We are all delighted with this review as it describes the hotel perfectly- probably better than we could have done it ourselves (modesty preventing!)
The building dates back to 1864 and was opened as a hotel in 1906. We try very hard to maintain the classical look and feel and to combine this with providing the best of modern facilities can be a difficult balancing act at times, so we are delighted with your endorsement of the hotel.
We hope you enjoyed your Railtours trip - they are the best at what they do - and had a safe journey home.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    401
    77
    27
    12
See reviews for
449
829
84
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was excellent and good value. The hotel itself is ideal as a base to get anywhere. Even though they were very busy I was served expediently. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazingminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Amazmingminds,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments on our staff and service, both of which we always get very good feedback on.
We hope to see you back again at another time and of course all recommendations are very welcome and appreciated!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Boutique hotels are my favorite and this hotel fit the bill. I loved the look and feel of the lobby as well as the small "living room" tucked away in the corner. It was fun to sit in there in the evening and watch people stroll by.

The rooms were nice and the beds very comfortable. The staff was definitely friendly and pleasant to speak with. Although our stay was short (2 nights), we would certainly stay here again.

The coffee shop two doors down is a great place for morning coffee and/or evening coffee and dessert. Laurel's Pub around the corner is a fun place for dinner and drinks.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Amy W,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Your description illustrates us perfectly - while the hotel is one of the oldest in Killarney and completely renovated, we find our guests love that we have managed to retain many of the original and unique features and ' nooks and crannies' of the hotel. Killarney is a great, bustling little town as you discovered - and the International represents a little slice of history in the middle of all of that.
We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we would of course be delighted to have you back for a longer stay!
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
496 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Clean and modern, with a huge bar area downstairs. It's located near a bunch of traditional restaurants and pubs.
I also loved that our room had a nice view of the town square (or what I'm guessing was the town square)
But our other two friends weren't so lucky with their view - it was a wall. I guess that can be beautiful too??

Breakfast - the scones were really good! All of the scones I've eaten at other places during this trip were dry and mealy. But these were warm and moist. And with just the right amount of raspberry jam on it, I devoured the whole thing (along with some scrambled eggs and sausages, like a fatass)
Also at breakfast time - I had my first Irish coffee ever. At 9 a.m.
When in Ireland, right?
It was pretty good! Not too strong but had the right amount of kick to it.

My only complaint - my U.S. adaptor broke during my trip so I asked the front desk to borrow one. They charge 2 Euros to do so! I mean come on! I'm going to give it back and even if I don't they'd have my credit card info to charge it to the bill anyway. However, since one of the outlets in our room didn't work, they waived the fee. That was nice of them but I guess I was just taken aback when they wanted me to rent one. It's the principle!

I would definitely recommend this place. Just make sure you have an extra adaptor handy!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Meltam,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we're very glad you enjoyed it.
Yes, the hotel overlooks the Jaunting cars and horses and is located at the entrance to Killarney National Park, it is not exactly the Town Square but close enough to it! About one third of our rooms have a view onto this area, so unfortunately all guests cant have one, but these front rooms are very popular as you can imagine.
All our baking, scones, breads etc is done onsite here and it definitely makes a difference to our guests dining enjoyment, in fact we use only fresh local produces in all our offerings, this is very important to us.
We're sorry for any confusion with the Adaptor, we request a small refundable deposit on these items, which we believe to be the norm. In fact I believe many hotels do not even supply Adaptors and Convertors anymore, guests have to bring their own.
So to finish, we thank you again for your kind comments and recommendation and hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your Irish trip.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

My room was very nice and newly decorated. Just a tad small but that was okay as I had the room to myself. My dad and brother shared a room which was quite expansive. We were all impressed by how large their room was.

Restaurants were good. Staff were very attentive and on the spot. My room had a soiled towel when I checked in. One call to housekeeping and it was replaced in less than 5 minutes.

The hotel is right next to the Killarney National Park which was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cunningtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Cunningtim,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and that the small issue with the towel was resolved promptly and to your satisfaction.
Yes, some of our rooms are larger than others, the hotel is over 100 years and while it has been completely renovated with all modern facilities expected, we have retained lots of the original features and layout of the hotel which give it its unique ' Old World' charm.
Also as you correctly mention, we are located right at the entrance to the National Park which is a fantastic natural amenity to have in Killarney.
We hope you all enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home and we would love to have you back to stay with us at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and find it very good. The staff are so friendly and would go out of their way to help. The food is excellent. The only one draw back we find with this hotel is that it does not have a car park. There is always good music in the bar and the hotel is very central. Overall a very enjoyable stay is always had by ourselves and our friends.

Room Tip: Room 117 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Trudy C,
Thank you so much for your great review, our return guests are very important to us and we're very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We hope to see you back again soon to the International and to Killarney!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, clean, comfortable. Quaint. The staff was so helpful. I will stay there again. The bath had a built in jacuzzi. I loved that! Very near to shops, restaurants and pubs, easy walking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayodaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Mayodaley,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel so favourably and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
While the International is fully renovated with all modern facilities expected, it does retain many of its quaint & unique charms - it is a traditional family owned hotel - and our aim is to make all our guests feel welcome and at ease, which we are delighted to hear was your experience.
We hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future,
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing