We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Killarney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Beautifully appointed breakfast room...classy with wholesome,natural breakfast choices Hannigan,s restaurant and pub was first rate. Rooms extremely quiet and very nice beds, bedding was new. Ask for Megan or Louise at reception...very competent

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Nancy D,
Thank you very much for your great appraisal of the hotel. We love to hear back from satisfied guests and yes - you are quite correct, all our beds are new, handmade by an Irish Company and the feedback from our guests has been phenomenal.
I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to all our team, especially our Reception girls and we hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
There are newer reviews for International Hotel Killarney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,497 - 1,503 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Beautiful hotel in a terrific location. The room I had was top class. The staff were really helpful and pleasant, particularly the reception staff. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and would certainly stay there again. Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Pat W,
Thank you for your glowing review. We really appreciated your comments, all rooms have been recently renovated and the we're very pleased with the results.
We would be delighted to have you back to stay anytime.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here while on a Railtours tour. What a wonderful stay!!! We enjoyed the room, restaurant and wonderful breakfast. This was our first time in Killarney and we loved the great location and fun pubs and the shopping. We had wi-fi problems, but the young lady at the front desk arranged for us to go to another hotel and we were able to retrieve our email! Our last tour morning was early and the hotel arranged for a great breakfast!
We loved Ireland and would love to come back to this Killarney hotel!!!

Room Tip: Killarney is a fun place and if you want a quiet room, ask for courtyard view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAmom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear CAmom56.
Thank you for your wonderful comments on the hotel. Railtours are a fantastic company to work with and where possible we Upgrade all their guests, so we were delighted you enjoyed your room. Our food ingredients are all sourced locally and freshly cooked on the premises to order.
I am sorry you had WIFI problems, but glad that they were resolved so quickly and satisfactorily for you. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable time in Ireland and would of course be delighted to welcome you back to the International anytime!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The charm and grandeur of this hotel is surpassed only by its friendliness and comfort. This place is truly special. Grand but not snooty. A hard mix. We were upgraded by Railtours to the magical, mystery third floor. We followed halls, around corners, over steps, and ramps to the secret elevator. Fantastic room, with a state of the art bathroom with jacuzzi. The breakfast buffet is
really nice. Staff is friendly. What a wonderful treat.. Did I say wonderful?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookwormten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Bookwormten,
We are all delighted with this review as it describes the hotel perfectly- probably better than we could have done it ourselves (modesty preventing!)
The building dates back to 1864 and was opened as a hotel in 1906. We try very hard to maintain the classical look and feel and to combine this with providing the best of modern facilities can be a difficult balancing act at times, so we are delighted with your endorsement of the hotel.
We hope you enjoyed your Railtours trip - they are the best at what they do - and had a safe journey home.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was excellent and good value. The hotel itself is ideal as a base to get anywhere. Even though they were very busy I was served expediently. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazingminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Amazmingminds,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments on our staff and service, both of which we always get very good feedback on.
We hope to see you back again at another time and of course all recommendations are very welcome and appreciated!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Boutique hotels are my favorite and this hotel fit the bill. I loved the look and feel of the lobby as well as the small "living room" tucked away in the corner. It was fun to sit in there in the evening and watch people stroll by.

The rooms were nice and the beds very comfortable. The staff was definitely friendly and pleasant to speak with. Although our stay was short (2 nights), we would certainly stay here again.

The coffee shop two doors down is a great place for morning coffee and/or evening coffee and dessert. Laurel's Pub around the corner is a fun place for dinner and drinks.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Amy W,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Your description illustrates us perfectly - while the hotel is one of the oldest in Killarney and completely renovated, we find our guests love that we have managed to retain many of the original and unique features and ' nooks and crannies' of the hotel. Killarney is a great, bustling little town as you discovered - and the International represents a little slice of history in the middle of all of that.
We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we would of course be delighted to have you back for a longer stay!
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Clean and modern, with a huge bar area downstairs. It's located near a bunch of traditional restaurants and pubs.
I also loved that our room had a nice view of the town square (or what I'm guessing was the town square)
But our other two friends weren't so lucky with their view - it was a wall. I guess that can be beautiful too??

Breakfast - the scones were really good! All of the scones I've eaten at other places during this trip were dry and mealy. But these were warm and moist. And with just the right amount of raspberry jam on it, I devoured the whole thing (along with some scrambled eggs and sausages, like a fatass)
Also at breakfast time - I had my first Irish coffee ever. At 9 a.m.
When in Ireland, right?
It was pretty good! Not too strong but had the right amount of kick to it.

My only complaint - my U.S. adaptor broke during my trip so I asked the front desk to borrow one. They charge 2 Euros to do so! I mean come on! I'm going to give it back and even if I don't they'd have my credit card info to charge it to the bill anyway. However, since one of the outlets in our room didn't work, they waived the fee. That was nice of them but I guess I was just taken aback when they wanted me to rent one. It's the principle!

I would definitely recommend this place. Just make sure you have an extra adaptor handy!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Meltam,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we're very glad you enjoyed it.
Yes, the hotel overlooks the Jaunting cars and horses and is located at the entrance to Killarney National Park, it is not exactly the Town Square but close enough to it! About one third of our rooms have a view onto this area, so unfortunately all guests cant have one, but these front rooms are very popular as you can imagine.
All our baking, scones, breads etc is done onsite here and it definitely makes a difference to our guests dining enjoyment, in fact we use only fresh local produces in all our offerings, this is very important to us.
We're sorry for any confusion with the Adaptor, we request a small refundable deposit on these items, which we believe to be the norm. In fact I believe many hotels do not even supply Adaptors and Convertors anymore, guests have to bring their own.
So to finish, we thank you again for your kind comments and recommendation and hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your Irish trip.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
926 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £84 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing