We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joy in KIllarney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Joy in KIllarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have stayed in Killarney about 20 times in the last 10 years and truly love this little town.
This past April I visited again and stayed at the International Hotel right in the downtown.
The premises were perfectly clean,the food excellent, and the staff was outstanding. From reception where I was greeted by Anne Marie to Dennis the lad who helped with my bags, everyone was as friendly as could be.

I will make sure that on my next visit that I return to this wonderful hotel

Peter Welch
USA

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galavaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Galavaly,
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again recently and thank you for your lovely comments. We have been delighted to be your hotel of choice in Killarney for the last number of years and you have recommended us to so many people who have also become friends of the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you during the Races next month!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    404
    78
    27
    12
See reviews for
457
843
84
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I had my hen in Killarney at end of June. A small group of us stayed on Friday night and we had 30 girls stay on Saturday. We also had our meal in the hotel Saturday evening. From the moment we arrived till we left we could not have been shown more hospitality. The staff were fantastic so nice and helpful and let us use the balcony upstairs to avail of the nice weather. All the girls commented on how accommodating & friendly staff were on arrival and throughout our stay. They I would have no hesitation to recommend the hotel to everyone! The location of the hotel is perfect. We could easily walk everywhere as it is in the middle of town. The room we stayed in was amazing and beautifully decorated. Thanks so much to everyone. I had a fantastic wend. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you so much Irene, we're delighted we were instrumental in making your hen night in Killarney so enjoyable and we would like to wish you and your fiancé every happiness in your future life together.
Hopefully we might have the opportunity to welcome the two of you to the hotel at another time!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were staying at this Hotel when the gas explosion happened. It was very frightening but we were not hurt and all other hotels in the area were great at helping us - especially the Killarney Plaza. We were on a coach trip and departed that day but enjoyed our stay and found the International to be a friendly place to stay with excellent food. Hopefully they will soon be back in business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Margaret M,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, our staff friendliness and excellent quality of our food. We are very glad that the accident which occurred at a neighbouring business did not encroach on the enjoyment of your time in Killarney.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and the lovely weather and we hope to welcome you back again at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at The International in Killarney in June for two nights and I have to say it was amazing. My husband and I couldn’t recommend it highly enough. The hotel is right in the middle of town, close to restaurants and bars and everything else you would need. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are the best I have experienced in a hotel. The staff are friendly and service is first class. We ate in Hannigans one night, great food, good price, live music after and we joined in with a gang from Canada for a sing song! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Vicki M,
Thank you for your fantastic comments on the hotel, we're delighted you had such an enjoyable experience with us, this is our wish for all our guests as your comfort and satisfaction is our Number One priority at the International Hotel.
We hope to see you back again soon and hope that you are having a great Summer,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for the Ring of Kerry cycle in July and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are professional, the rooms are very impressive and the location is perfect.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant as we were cycling early the next morning however we passed the bar where there was live music and it looked like a great atmosphere – next time for sure!
Special mention to Pat in the breakfast room who went above and beyond to arrange what we wanted for breakfast ahead of our cycle.
Definitely recommend this for location, quality and excellent staff...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Dublin Runner,
Thank you for your great review following another stay with us. The Ring of Kerry Cycle was a great success again this year and we had a large number of guests who were participating in it, we hope you enjoyed it.
We're glad Pat was able to help you with an early breakfast, and don't forget we have live music in our Hannigans Bar 7 nights a week in Summer so you will definitely be able to join in the sing-sing next time!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Sunday July 7th, 2013 just right after the football game and Ring of Kerry Cycle event and in the middle of a heat wave. Our first impression of the hotel was that it was a really nice looking hotel located in a good, central location. The staff member at the front desk however was very unfriendly, she gave us our keys and room number without once smiling. Once we were in our room, we realized that there was no air conditioning and the room was very stuffy. We were unable to open the windows due to the partying that was occurring in the alley behind the hotel. We went down to inquire about changing rooms but were told that there were no air conditioned rooms available and that they would try to provide us with a fan. We were not made aware at the time of booking that there was a choice of AC and non AC rooms.

We went out to dinner and when we came back to the room, a fan was indeed provided. We were in a family room which consisted of two twins and one double bed. The room was narrow and long. Due to the shape of the room, the location of the plugs, and the length of the cord there was no way for us to place the fan in such a way that all the beds could be reached. In addition, even with the windows closed we were disturbed throughout the night by the bar patrons exiting through the back alley.

The next morning, when asked by the same staff member at the front desk about our evening, my husband told her how uncomfortable it was and that we were particularly unhappy as when we booked the room we did not notice any indication that the room did not have air conditioning, she merely said "Well, it was a busy night." then proceeded to run our charge card.

Throughout our vacation, with the exception of this hotel, everyone we've encountered has been very friendly. We didn't have a chance to interact with anyone else at this hotel so I can't say if the other hotel staff members were more customer oriented . Regardless, I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trix43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Trix43,
Thank you for your email and your feed back and while it is not as positive as we would like, it is all appreciated as this is our best way of monitoring ourselves.
Unfortunately, I can only repeat what I said to you when I responded to you personally on July 14th in that this weekend was an exceptional one in a number of ways, firstly two big events in Killarney, including a big football game bringing an additional 18,000 people to town plus the extreme heat we have been experiencing which is totally out of character for Ireland. This is in no way excusing any casual behaviour on your check-out which we totally find un-acceptable, our staff are our best asset as borne out by numerous TripAdvisor comments and we rate customer service very highly.
I will be investigating with the staff member on duty on your departure and thank you for bringing this to our attention again,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager


Just a point regarding air-conditioning – in Irish hotels, it would be the exception rather than the norm, it is just not required 50 weeks of the year so it would not generally be mentioned as a facility that a hotel would not have, but I do apologise that it was not brought to your attention on the very warm day you checked in.



Kind Regards,

Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel with really great staff. The location is EXCELLENT, and the public spaces are phenomenal. We visited during a heat wave and unfortunately, like pretty much everyone else in the country, the hotel was not expecting such temperatures so they were not able to provide every guestroom with A/C or a fan. Thus, we spent a lot of time in the bar and adjoining eating area, where there was live music and a great atmosphere. The bed was comfortable and the room was well-appointed.

Unfortunately, we ended up switching hotels simply because the location of our room and the lack of circulating air kept the interior temp around 90. The staff members were EXTREMELY apologetic and even offered to move our room but we'd already made other arrangements.

When we returned home from our trip I was greeted with a VM from their reservations manager offering to refund the second night that we had prepaid. That was not necessary (we had chosen to switch hotels), but it was a kind gesture that I think really represents the quality of staff.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the summer you could try requesting one of the rooms that does have A/C just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asuzannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Asuzannek,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay so positively, and the offer still stands for the refund if you wish to contact me.
The heatwave has left us for now, and we miss it already! But in seriousness, we thank you for your understanding and hope that your alternative hotel was to your satisfaction,maybe we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at another time.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing