We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the perfect location!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our South Ireland tour. We stayed at 4 different hotels and this was definitely our favorite! It is in the perfect location in Killarney, within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We enjoyed the hotel pub on our last night- very warm and inviting. Our room was immaculate. We wish we could have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Lindsey L,
Thank you so much for your great comments on your recent stay. ' Charming' is a word used quite often to portray our hotel and we think it's probably a perfect description, the hotel is over 100 years old but of course has been totally refurbished with great sensitivity to maintain its original and unique features. This along with our attention to detail and commitment to customer service is what our guests notice and return for time and time again.
We hope to see you back at another time and in the meanwhile, would like to wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    418
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
477
883
86
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have had the good fortune to stay at the International Hotel for 2 days each, on 2 consecutive annual CIE tours of Ireland. It is the custom of the Hotel Owner to step on the bus to officially welcome all guests to his Hotel before we even check in. His pride in his Hotel and his genuine interest in making your stay an event to remember is a touching thing to experience. The rooms are absolutely lovely, and the stairways and elegant lobby are immaculately clean and sparkling. The pub always has great local Irish music, mixed with conteporary tunes played with an Irish flair. The location is central to anyplace you want to go in Killarney, and the staff is accommodating and gracious. Lovely, lovely Hotel with Management that has an obvious commitment to excellence.

Room Tip: Overlooking front street all rooms seem just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Eurogirl,
We're delighted that you have just enjoyed your second stay with us. We work closely with CIE Tours who share our commitment to excellence and customer service and operate fantastic trips. Yes, our Manager likes to personally greet as many guests as possible, it's our way of thanking people for choosing our hotel and welcoming them to Killarney.
We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your Irish trip and we we thank you for taking the time to review us. Hopefully we'll have the opportunity of welcoming you back again for your third visit in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork,Ire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here last night as part of Super-Valu getaway break scheme and while the hotel itself is fabulous the room we were given was tiny for 2 adults and a child......Dining area was beautiful,staff were very good and bar area was very hospitable.Food was excellent and reasonably priced and had a nice 'feel' about it.Very well located and excellent parking facilities.Would stay here again but would have preferred a bigger room.

Room Tip: Check out your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Gerard O,
Thank you for your mostly very positive review, but we're sorry that you found the room too small.
Unfortunately based on the information given above, I was not able to verify with accuracy the room you stayed in so I cannot respond accurately to your review - was the booking under another name I wonder? Generally our rooms are of a comfortable standard size, but due to the age and layout of the hotel, some are larger than others certainly.
However we're very glad you enjoyed your stay on the whole and should you have the opportunity to visit us again, please contact me personally and I will make sure your get a larger room, more suited to 3 people
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a knitting tour of Ireland with Irish Tourism. The lobby is welcoming, well-lit and spacious. There is a cozy bar and spacious dining room.

The room we had was large and had every amenity one could expect including a towel warmer in the bathroom and a jet tub in addition to the walk-in shower stall.

There were lots of electrical outlets, two chairs a little table and a large desk. The WiFi signal was strong.

The hotel was only steps away from the shopping district.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowdygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Rowdygirl,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review. We work with IrishTourism frequently and they operate very good tours, so between the two of us you were in safe hands if I may say so!
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the rest of your trip went well.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I were in Ireland for a leisure trip and stayed in eight different hotels--without a doubt, this was our favorite one. The staff are friendly, efficient, and helpful; the common areas are quaint yet elegant; the rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable; the restaurant offers great food at a reasonable price; the bar is lively and has great entertainment; and the location is ideal. The only minor knock I have is that you are pretty much on your own to find parking. Although this wasn't a problem for us either night as we found parking on the street nearby, it could be difficult in high season and you have to have to feed the meter during business hours.

Room Tip: You do get a modest amount of street noise on the front side of the hotel. Also, if you retire early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Willam M
Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us, we're truly delighted that your experience with us was so enjoyable.
Just to respond to your point regarding parking, yes, it is a slight drawback to our fantastic town centre location, but it is generally not a problem. We have porters on duty at all times to assist and there are 3 long-term car parks within a 4 minute walk of the hotel where you can pay daily or weekly at reasonable rates.
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home.
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of Ireland and when I return I will choose to stay here again. We weren't able to take advantage of the shopping in Killarney because we were so busy and most of the shops close at 6:00pm. This hotel was fantastic, a great location and so comfortable. The restaurant downstairs was great, the laundry service was prompt, accurate and affordable. The staff was very nice and wonderfully accommodating. The jaunt picked us up right out front. What more could you ask for???

Room Tip: Just ask for the rooms with the most square footage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Jenny,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
It sounds like you packed loads into your two days and that you need to come back for a longer stay!
Hope to see you if you do, and in the meantime, wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The International Hotel in Killarney was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Ireland. The location was fantastic, the staff very welcoming and friendly and the food/bar was great value for money. We spent two days at this hotel and throughout the whole stay everyone made us feel welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were huge and very well presented. They would have to be the cleanest rooms we had throughout Ireland.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying or travelling near Killarney. The mixture of staff and their attention to detail really shines through at this hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Kylie D,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're truly delighted to be praised so highly and that you had such an enjoyable experience with us.
Our staff, ambience, rooms, location and food and drink offerings do provide an unbeatable combination though, if we say so ourselves and we'd be delighted to have you back to stay again should the opportunity arise.
We hope you had a safe journey home,
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing