We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot find fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cannot find fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We took four rooms in the hotel just after Christmas between 7 adults and three children and ate in the restaurant also. From the minute we checked in, every staff member we encountered went above and beyond our expectations. The reception staff, restaurant and bar staff were polite, helpful and patient especially with our three children. The food was outstanding also. We have recommended your hotel many times since our return and hope to stay there again in the near future.

Room Tip: No pool or spa so we marked this as average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear John G,
What a marvellous recommendation! Thank you so much, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and indeed, our aim is to provide this level of service to each and every guest.
We wish you a very Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you back again.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    404
    78
    27
    12
See reviews for
457
843
84
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I can't say enough good things about our stay. The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The desk staff were friendly and one very helpful gentleman kept us in enough ice to keep our celebratory champagne cold as there were no refridgerators for the rooms. The room was not luxurious but was clean and comfortable. It was so quiet that we felt like we were the only guests in our section of the hotel. Internet was free but not dependable. They have several routers but we kept losing wifi signal every few minutes. The hotel location was excellent, only a minute or 2 walk to the central downtown section and about a 5 minute walk to the train station. Be aware that there is no car park though if you are driving. We would stay here again without hesitation. Overall a very good hotel and a very good value.

Room Tip: We had asked for a quiet room and it was quite a long hike from the lobby and involved stairs even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Worldtravelers003,
Thank you for your lovely comments on our hotel, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.
Our WIFI is a new system and we are very happy with it, so I am sorry you found it troublesome, but overall, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would return.
Wishing you a very happy New Year,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We went to Ireland on a Groupon, with the hotels already pre-selected for us. We did our homework, but we weren't sure what to expect. Out of the four hotels we stayed in on our 7 day/6 night trip, the International Hotel in Killarney was our favorite - it exceeded our expectations! We went the first week in December so the Christmas decor was so beautiful. The lady at the front desk was very helpful on where to go, what to see and restaurants we had to visit. The rooms were very warm and cozy - the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms had upgraded amenities such as towel warmers. There was a bar inside the hotel which had a warm fire and plenty of places to sit. They also had a bakery to get fresh items and coffee. Their traditional Irish breakfast was out of this world. And most of all the hotel is walking distance to all the shops/restaurants and conveniently located to the Muckross House and Torc Waterfall. We will definitely stay at the International if we ever make it back to Killarney - we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. The room was quiet, warm and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Jessica C,
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We work closely with Sceptre, the company you booked your holiday through and look after a lot of their clients, they operate very good vacations and so we're delighted to be your favourite hotel!
Our Management decorate the hotel beautifully at Christmas- and of course we have our log fires and comfortable, cosy corners to snuggle up in - and this year in particular we have got a fantastic amount of great feedback back which was lovely.
We'd love to see you again if you get to make another trip and in the meantime, wishing you a great 2014,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the International several times in the past , but on our way home from a funeral in south kerry to-day we decided to stay for one one night in the international. We found the rooms seemed to have been refurbished to a very high standard, The staff were very friendly as usual. the hotel was nicely decorated for christmas and was spotless. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone, and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 131
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Aidan R,
We are sorry to hear of your recent loss, and we thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us which we are very glad you enjoyed.
All our rooms have been renovated over the last couple of years and are very comfortable and as you note, finished to a very high standard- thank you for remarking!
We hope you have a happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

A very cosy, warm & welcoming hotel. Absolutely spotlessy clean!!

Location is just ideal its a shame about the parking situation really.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The dining room for breakfast is a little dated alright & waiting staff seemed like they had a very late night the night before perhaps as they were really 'not with it' & not in the best of form to say the least.

Overall we will go back....

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back as the boilers ( i think) will keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassyLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Classylady30,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay,we're very pleased that overall you enjoyed it and more especially of course, to hear that you will return.
Our Breakfast Room is done in a traditional style in warm welcoming hues and has in fact been renovated this year. Taste is of course subjective and it may not be to everyone's liking which we appreciate but we do feel we have to make this point.
We hope you had a very enjoyable Christmas and wishing you all the best for the New Year,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The International Hotel in Killarney is fabulous! I stayed two nights during the first week of December. The holiday decorations are magnificent and added to the beautiful decor. My room was on the street, but the street is not that busy so there was no street noise. The room was quiet and comfortable. The only drawback was that the hot and cold fausets are separate, but standard for the time the hotel was built. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful to direct me to points of interests and good food in the area. The hotel does not have separate parking but I had no trouble finding a spot on the street. I would highly recommend this hotel. I plan to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junesully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear June,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we're delighted you enjoyed it and that you're already planning a return trip.
We're getting some great comments on our Christmas decorations this year, I have to agree, they're gorgeous and along with our cosy fires create a wonderful festive atmosphere.
Our team are always happy to assist and I'm glad that you were given helpful information on the area, while we believe our Hannigans has the best food and drink around, there is lots to experiece in Killarney and our town centre location is ideal for this.
We look forward to seeing you again and would like to wish you a wonderful Christmas and New Year,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Killarney,The staff were excellent and the rooms were spotless. Great location Central to everything in Killarney.
There is a car park about 100 metres up from the hotel so that was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin323649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Kevin,
Thank you for your great comments, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and of course, recommendations are always appreciated!
We'd love to see you back again and in the meantime, wishing you a very Happy Christmas.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing