We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential Security Issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in February of 2014. The hotel is situated in a convenient place in Killarney that is near many attractions such as Killarney National Park and Muckross Abbey. The only downside of the hotel's location is that the hotel itself does not provide parking. Thankfully there is a parking lot about a block away.

Upon entering, the receptionist at the desk was very formal, to a point where she came off as cold. We were given our keys to our room with no problem.

The room itself was great. The floor was clean and carpeted and the windows were large, offering an arresting view of Killarney at its busiest. The television was a modern flat screen offering a decent amount of channels and the usual amenities were there: tea and coffee maker, instant coffee, tea, and milk. The bed was a good size for two people. The bathroom was well made, even offering heated poles in which to warm your towel on, which was welcomed considering how chilly the weather was. Overall, International Hotel comes off as a luxury hotel without seeming pretentious.

The only downside, however, is a major one and one that is the reason for such a low score. Throughout our stay, my girlfriend complained of the noise outside of our room, specifically doors slamming, and told me it sounded like people, or someone was trying to enter our room in the night, despite the "do not disturb sign" on our door. I reassured her and told her that it was only people from the adjacent rooms making noise. Her claims were proven true, however, when in the morning of our departure a male entered our room as we were getting dressed. He looked like a construction worker. He apologized when he realized we were in the room, but preceded to ask if anyone was in the bathroom. I told him no and was surprised when he took a quick look in the bathroom, apologized again, then closed our door. I checked to see if the "do not disturb sign" that I put on the door that night was on the door handle, and it was, only it was turned over by someone to indicate the room needed to be serviced. This hinted that during the night someone was tampering with our door yet again.

To have someone as simple as a construction worker, if indeed he was one, having access to our room even though the door was locked is completely and utterly dangerous and unacceptable. The only reason we didn't complain about our experience was that we were checking out and the receptionist who assisted us in checking out, different from the one we spoke to when we checked in, was so kind to us. If we were to stay at Killarney in the future unfortunately it would not be at International Hotel. Hopefully someone from the staff reads this review and address this issue, so it wouldn't happen to anyone else.

Room Tip: The restaurant inside the hotel is excellent and as a guest in the hotel, you will receive a discoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoRoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear MoRoNYC,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us as all feedback is much appreciated.
Thank you also for the positive comments on your room and amenities - we take great pride in the quality of our product and professionalism of our team.
However we were very disappointed at what we feel is unfair criticism of what you call security concerns.
While we appreciate you come from New York City where security is a priority, Killarney ( and the International ) is a very safe to visit with zero crime.
Regarding the Maintenance Manager entering your room, he assured me as is procedure, that he knocked on your door without response and as the Service My Room sign was on the door, he mistakenly thought the room was vacant. Also just for clarification, the reason our Maintenance Manager entered your room in the first place is that we have a Maintenance Programme in place whereby a number of rooms are inspected on departure on a rotating basis and yours was on the list that day.
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. If you are back in this area, please contact me directly and I will ensure you have a hassle-free stay.
kind Regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for one night. Hotel was excellent room was small but lovely staff were excellent Great breakfast in the morning would definitely go back there again Great location in the centre of town and excellent value

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank charlie3514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Charlie3514,
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on our hotel - there are a lot of ' Greats' and 'Excellents' in your review which of course we're very happy with!
We hope we'll see you back again at another time for a longer stay.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had an great stay at this hotel. Its in a perfect, convenient location in Killarney. It was the best hotel we stayed in on our trip to Ireland. My Mom, Aunt and I shared a room with 3 beds and it was a very nice suite. The staff was friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed bar and restaurant in the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 150Travelgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Travelgirl,
Thanks for your great comments on your recent stay. We're flattered that you found us to be the best hotel of your trip - thank you very much.
We hope your mom and aunt enjoyed their time with us too and that you might have the opportunity to return to us at another time.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for a two night break last weekend very relaxing Hotel , Staff very frendly and helpfull , We had food in the Bar with the big open fire on the first day would highly recommed to eat here and also on the second night we had a meal in the restaraunt the food and service was excellent and there was even music all under one roof we didnt have move out into the cold . We would recommend this hotel if visiting Killarney .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batgirl12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Batgirl,
Thank you for a great review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. We like to think we are a one-stop shop for luxury accommodation, great food and drink and lively entertainment!
We hope to see you back again at another time.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hi I had an excellent stay at the international .staff very friendly. Especially when I hadn't stayed there for a good while.I was also impressed that they recognise me .lovely bar food and ex excellent service and value

Room Tip: The newly done up rooms are execellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear John,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay last week, we're very glad you enjoyed it. We were delighted to see you back, and hope that it won't be as long next time!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Easy to walk to good restaurants. Room was very nice and staff was friendly and helpful. They had good recommendations on where to go and what to do. The breakfast was especially good and offered many choices.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank married96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Married96,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and your kind comments on our hotel and staff.
Many of our team have been with the hotel for many years and have the best tips and advice on places to visit at dine. Nothing like local knowledge we say!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe return home.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is deceivingly large. From the outside, it looks quite small, but it is very large. The main lobby is beautiful, traditionally decorated. Our staff was wonderful. The amenities were fantastic...the gym and sauna were so nice. Our room was lovely with beautiful bedding. The bathroom was large and well equipped. Even though the hotel is large, we were not disturbed by any noises in the night. The restaurant was fantastic... Best soups we had in Ireland. The staff there were so helpful. The hotel itself could not be more conveniently located. As a whole, this was one of my favorite hotels..if not the favorite in Ireland. Definitely where I'll stay on my next trip to Killarney!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Bonnie,
Thank you so much, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. All our food is locally sourced and produced to the highest standards and no expense has been spared in renovating our bedrooms and public areas to the highest standards over the last few years.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Killarney!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
929 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing