We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Ross(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scotts Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Failte Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Arbutus Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Fairview(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,329)
Filter reviews
2,329 results
Traveller rating
1,746
456
84
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,746
456
84
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshannigans bargreat hotelanne marieexecutive roomjacuzzi bathjaunting carscentral locationwould highly recommend this hoteltour groupfavorite hotelloved this hotelwould definitely stay here againthe pubhotel restaurantold world charmlocation is excellentbeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,511 - 1,516 of 2,329 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent in every way. Staff, Location, Bar, Service, Food were all excellent. Only issue is the parking but the staff helped us out with that also. Ate in the restaurant the friday night and the food was A1, room service for breakfast was also brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mike K,
Thanks for your great comments on our hotel and food, we're delighted you enjoyed your short break with us, hopefully you will return for a longer stay next time!
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in February of 2014. The hotel is situated in a convenient place in Killarney that is near many attractions such as Killarney National Park and Muckross Abbey. The only downside of the hotel's location is that the hotel itself does not provide parking. Thankfully there is a parking lot about a block away.

Upon entering, the receptionist at the desk was very formal, to a point where she came off as cold. We were given our keys to our room with no problem.

The room itself was great. The floor was clean and carpeted and the windows were large, offering an arresting view of Killarney at its busiest. The television was a modern flat screen offering a decent amount of channels and the usual amenities were there: tea and coffee maker, instant coffee, tea, and milk. The bed was a good size for two people. The bathroom was well made, even offering heated poles in which to warm your towel on, which was welcomed considering how chilly the weather was. Overall, International Hotel comes off as a luxury hotel without seeming pretentious.

The only downside, however, is a major one and one that is the reason for such a low score. Throughout our stay, my girlfriend complained of the noise outside of our room, specifically doors slamming, and told me it sounded like people, or someone was trying to enter our room in the night, despite the "do not disturb sign" on our door. I reassured her and told her that it was only people from the adjacent rooms making noise. Her claims were proven true, however, when in the morning of our departure a male entered our room as we were getting dressed. He looked like a construction worker. He apologized when he realized we were in the room, but preceded to ask if anyone was in the bathroom. I told him no and was surprised when he took a quick look in the bathroom, apologized again, then closed our door. I checked to see if the "do not disturb sign" that I put on the door that night was on the door handle, and it was, only it was turned over by someone to indicate the room needed to be serviced. This hinted that during the night someone was tampering with our door yet again.

To have someone as simple as a construction worker, if indeed he was one, having access to our room even though the door was locked is completely and utterly dangerous and unacceptable. The only reason we didn't complain about our experience was that we were checking out and the receptionist who assisted us in checking out, different from the one we spoke to when we checked in, was so kind to us. If we were to stay at Killarney in the future unfortunately it would not be at International Hotel. Hopefully someone from the staff reads this review and address this issue, so it wouldn't happen to anyone else.

Room Tip: The restaurant inside the hotel is excellent and as a guest in the hotel, you will receive a discount.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoRoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear MoRoNYC,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us as all feedback is much appreciated.
Thank you also for the positive comments on your room and amenities - we take great pride in the quality of our product and professionalism of our team.
However we were very disappointed at what we feel is unfair criticism of what you call security concerns.
While we appreciate you come from New York City where security is a priority, Killarney ( and the International ) is a very safe to visit with zero crime.
Regarding the Maintenance Manager entering your room, he assured me as is procedure, that he knocked on your door without response and as the Service My Room sign was on the door, he mistakenly thought the room was vacant. Also just for clarification, the reason our Maintenance Manager entered your room in the first place is that we have a Maintenance Programme in place whereby a number of rooms are inspected on departure on a rotating basis and yours was on the list that day.
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. If you are back in this area, please contact me directly and I will ensure you have a hassle-free stay.
kind Regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for one night. Hotel was excellent room was small but lovely staff were excellent Great breakfast in the morning would definitely go back there again Great location in the centre of town and excellent value

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank charlie3514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Charlie3514,
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on our hotel - there are a lot of ' Greats' and 'Excellents' in your review which of course we're very happy with!
We hope we'll see you back again at another time for a longer stay.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had an great stay at this hotel. Its in a perfect, convenient location in Killarney. It was the best hotel we stayed in on our trip to Ireland. My Mom, Aunt and I shared a room with 3 beds and it was a very nice suite. The staff was friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed bar and restaurant in the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 150Travelgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Travelgirl,
Thanks for your great comments on your recent stay. We're flattered that you found us to be the best hotel of your trip - thank you very much.
We hope your mom and aunt enjoyed their time with us too and that you might have the opportunity to return to us at another time.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for a two night break last weekend very relaxing Hotel , Staff very frendly and helpfull , We had food in the Bar with the big open fire on the first day would highly recommed to eat here and also on the second night we had a meal in the restaraunt the food and service was excellent and there was even music all under one roof we didnt have move out into the cold . We would recommend this hotel if visiting Killarney .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batgirl12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Batgirl,
Thank you for a great review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. We like to think we are a one-stop shop for luxury accommodation, great food and drink and lively entertainment!
We hope to see you back again at another time.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews