We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A group of us stayed in the International recently and I was surprised by how good it was. I grew up fairly locally but have been gone for a long time now. The hotel was arranged by another member of the group and at first I wasn't so sure of the choice as my memories of the hotel would have been that it may be a bit dated. It certainly isn't.
The interior is very nicely decorated with the billiards room and library giving it a touch of opulence. The rooms themselves are pretty decent, we stayed in twin and had a great couple of nights sleep.

The buffet and Irish breakfast in the morning was very very good although the bacon was a tad too salty, nevertheless everything else was spot on.
We made good use of Hannigans bar which is adjoined to the hotel and it's a great place to meet up and start your evening off.
I have to give a mention on how friendly the general staff were, from the waitresses, room service and especially the porters, all top notch people. The only exception being that the receptionist (possibly manager?) could do with pretending she likes her job and smile now and again, a few of us did remark on her coldness and curtness when we arrived for check in, especially when I was waxing lyrical to my colleagues about the land of 'cead mile failte'!.
Regardless, overall I would definitely recommend a stay at The International and I would like to visit again sometime.
However, If I had to make one complaint about the hotel is that they could do with revamping the showers as the water pressure is very low, but that's just a minor fault in an overall thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David1976LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear David,
We're very glad you enjoyed your recent visit and that we were able to change your opinion of the International! The hotel has undergone a huge renovation project over the last number of years and is now a firm favourite with visitors and locals alike. However we feel we have managed to retain all the charm and elegance of its features which date back to the early 1900's making the International one of Killarney's first hotels.
Hopefully we'll get to see you again when you get an opportunity to return home to Killarney and in the meantime thank you for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    420
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
491
896
88
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Such a lovely hotel. It's unique and very European. Breakfast each morning was wonderful. The staff could not do enough for you. We met with Terrance Mulcahy, General Mgr., and he is fantastic. The location of the hotel is perfect. Outside the door are horses and wagons in case you wish a ride to see some of the sights. We would definitely stay here again.

Maureen & Tony
Tucson, AZ

Room Tip: Our room had three beds so it seemed a bit small for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ny2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear ny2az,
Thank you so much - what a kind and generous review.
Customer service is our Number One priority and this holds true from our General Manger who you met, to every member of our team.
The hotel is styled to retain as much of its traditional elegance and ambience as possible and we are delighted you like it. The International is one of the longest-standing hotels in Killarney, serving visitors and locals for well over 100 years.
So, we thank you again for taking the time to give us your thoughts and we hope you had a safe journey home,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Friendly, professional reception and restaurant staff. Comfortable public lounges, good double bedroom, fabulous bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate shower. Delicious breakfast and fine dinner. Right in town within easy walking distance to shops, pubs, churches. We stayed 2 nights, and plan on returning next summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sally C,
Thank you for your great review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and of course even happier to hear that you will return.
Please be sure to contact me directly when booking and I assure you we will guarantee you another enjoyable visit!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A group of 12 of us stayed here on a golfing trip. We arrived late for dinner and they called us to see when we would be arriving and then kept the restaurant open for us. Food was excellent as was service. Rooms were large, bright, clean and very comfortable. Staff were all very friendly from the reception to the restuarant to the Breakfast crew. They even had unsolicited snack packs for us as we checked out for our days golfing! Very nice thought! Manager Anne Marie was very helpful in arranging our booking and ensuring we had a great stay. Couldn't have had a better stay to be honest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golftrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Golftrip2014,
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments, we were delighted to have you stay with us - only sorry it was such a short visit - hopefully next time it will be longer.
We look after a lot of golfing groups - our hotel owner and Manager are very keen golfers and so we have a vested interest you could say and we have lots of facilities that golfers enjoy including snooker room and golf simulator.
I know you were on a golfing tour of Ireland and hope that you enjoyed the remainder of the trip and have many happy memories.
Best regards
Anne Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Centrally located, clean and tidy, but dated decor. Friendly staff, good size room.......but room far too hot, to the point of uncomfortable. Shower pressure ordinary on day one, barely a dribble on day two. With plenty of choice available in this town would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We thank you for taking the time to review your stay and only wish it could have been more satisfactory for you.
We sincerely apologise for the poor water pressure which we were aware of ( an external situation which unfortunately affected us, approx 10 days ago ) and which has since been totally rectified. Regarding the room being over-hot, I can only assume you did not mention this to Reception as the heat can easily be turned off. Our weather presently is extremely changeable and has varied from 9 to 20 degrees over a few days - so we prefer to err on the side of comfort for our guests and keep the heating available.
I do have to comment on your point that our décor is dated Style and taste is an individual matter but as all our bedrooms have been refurbished in the past 4 years and our public areas recently fully renovated there is no possibility of this. Possibly not to your taste certainly but not dated. We have a traditional style which our guests love as it is restful and relaxing but again this is a personal choice and there are plenty of modern style hotels in Killarney also.
However all feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to give us yours.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Recently on our trip to Ireland, we had the experience to stay at this particular hotel, I truly do not see how it has a 4-star rating, our experience was anything but.

1. NO PARKING! I realize that you can't just materialize a parking lot, but you should have something in place to help assist your guests with this serious issue. There was no one at the door to help us find a parking spot and when my wife went inside to inquire, the front desk lady was very apathetic and just said you have to find a spot on the street somewhere. She did mention a parking lot just up the road a way, which was kind of helpful, so thanks for that at least. Also nobody there to greet guests, suggest parking areas or help with luggage. This would go a long way after walking two blocks from our eventual parking spot.

2. No air conditioning in the room (ours didn't have it, others supposedly do). I think this is a basic convenience if you're going to be a 4-star hotel. When I went to ask about a fan for our room, the front desk lady said she would send one right up...but never did. After waiting for more than half an hour, I went back down and asked someone else for one and took it up to our room myself.

3. Slow internet. Basically to the point it was unusable. About 0.2 Mbs when it was working, which was only half the time when we were there.

4. Rooms and hallways were small, but clean. Nothing special here.

5. The positive experiences that we did have were the next day during breakfast. They were very nice and the food was quite good. There was also a different lady at the front desk, she was much more friendly and helpful than her counterpart the day before.

I would rate the entire stay for us as poor to average. I was expecting a 4-star experience, and what we got was something much less.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilandMandyAun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear PhilandMandy,
We read your review with huge disappointment as your experience is genuinely a rarity at our hotel. Nevertheless all feedback is important to us and if I may, I would like to address some of your points.
1. We have a Porter on duty at all times to assist with parking as we understand how important this is when arriving at a new town. Unfortunately it appears our system broke down that day and there was no-one available to assist you getting parking and for this, we sincerely apologise
2. We have Air-conditioning in approx 50% of our rooms. It is not a requirement of a 4 star hotel in Ireland and in fact a lot of Killarney hotels have no air-conditioning at all. It is required so seldom in Ireland that generally fans are sufficient and I am sorry you did not receive one when you requested it.
3. We have tested our WIFI in all areas and it is fully functional and working to a high speed.

Finally, thank you for commenting more positively on your morning breakfast and our staff - this is the standard we aim for at all times, and we are truly sorry you did experience this for the whole duration of your stay.
However again, we thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts, it is all valuable to us.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My two night stay at the International Hotel was simply lovely! The rooms were spotlessly clean and updated, yet with just the right hint of character. The downstairs restaurant was both convenient and very delicious! I would definitely stay again and recommend the International to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyeraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Greyeraven,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
You mention that our rooms are modern and spotlessly clean but still with character - this is exactly what we aim for and we're delighted you agree!
We hope to see you at another time and thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Best regards
Anne Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing