We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is simply the best in killarney , from the moment you enter the doors you feel welcome . I can't count the number of times we have stayed here, it's our first choice for killarney .This time we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite , such a luxury . Everything and more than we needed , with the benefit of a mountain view . The breakfast is excellent , made especially for you , we usually have the fish , but here is the full irish , eggs Benedict, plus fresh soda bread , and pastries , and the usual juices and of course porrige. All served by the friendliest of irish women . The only disadvantage with this hotel is the lack of parking , but we used a local car park 3e for 24 hour parking . Don't miss a special experience , visit the international killarney .

Room Tip: Front room , with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank louCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Louise,
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments, you are our biggest fan and we are always delighted to see you back.
We were very happy to be able to allocate you our Killeen Suite on your last visit, its a lovely treat and we're so glad you enjoyed it.
Hope to see you back before the end of the year and in the meantime, wishing you all the best for the remainder of the Summer,
Best regards
Anne Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,219 - 1,225 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent service and accommodation our room was upgraded to a suite for my husbands 60th birthday we thoroughly enjoyed our stay hope to go back soon. Had birthday meal in restaurant it was excellent. We came for the racing and this was an excellent base. Great music on an evening

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Kathy & Dave,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and once again, Happy Birthday to Dave on his 60th! We were very glad you chose the International Hotel to celebrate at and we were happy to be able to upgrade your accommodation in honour of the occasion.
Delighted you enjoyed the Races, its a great week and we hope you had good luck at the Tote!
Best wishes
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location . It's in th heart of town and a short drive to area attractions, such as Muckross House and Killarney National Park, as well as the start of the Ring of Kerry. The room was nice and the hotel staff friendly, particularly the servers in the dining room where breakfast was served. Would recommend for anyone staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear TravelerSteve,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we're delighted you enjoyed it and your time in Killarney. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff, particularly our breakfast team.
We hope to see you back again at another time in the future.
Kind regards
Anne Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This has long been a favourite fo mine but a year ago it was badly damaged in a gas explosion at a nearby premises and closed for months, only finally reopening in March this year.
It is to the huge credit of the staff, and the Front Desk team managed by a superb lady named Anne Marie that everyone in a superb team held together- i cannot imagine how hard it must have been without seeing a guest for months- and it is every bot as good as it was if not better. Food, drink,location and service are all outstanding. But it is the people that make this, in my eyes an icon for the tourist industry on which a town surrounded by unparralled beauty, depends.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MikeVLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Frank,
We are always delighted to see you back and it is great to have such appreciative guests!
Thank you for the fantastic comments, it is the team here that make the hotel what it is, from our General Manager downwards, all our staff work together for the benefit of our visitors.
We're so glad you enjoyed your few days with us and looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from a weekend in Killarney, The international hotel is located in the centre of the town which is great. The staff are friendly & very accommodating. We stayed in an executive room which was spacious, clean & the bed was very comfortable. We only ate breakfast here & it was tasty the only thing that bothered me about it was it's a set menu & not buffet. I would recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: The bed in the executive room is huge & the bath has jets, would recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Kieran C,
Thank you for your very good review. We're very pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and got a good nights sleep.
We are just a little surprised by your point that you'd prefer Buffet to table service breakfast. Our served breakfast is one area that is so highly commended by our guests, who love the personal touch. That said, it is all a matter of individual choice and we appreciate all feedback.
We hope we'll see you back again to the International and thank you again for taking the time to give us your thoughts.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm here with a group tour. I am pleased with the room, food, and services. Very charming; very clean. However, according to fellow travelers, there is some qualitative differences between rooms: some very small, few rooms have AC. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marietta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Marietta,
Thank you so much. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Just regarding your comments on room size and AC, our Executive & Superior rooms are slightly larger than our Classic rooms and you possibly got a Complimentary upgrade to one of these. None of our rooms are very small, they meet standard size requirements for Irish hotels.
We have AC in approx. 50% of our rooms, and we're more than happy to pre-allocate one of these rooms if required.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your Ireland tour and returned home with many happy memories!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is a combination of Old World Charm updated with modern conveniences. Railtours of Ireland booked us into the International for 2 nights during our tour and we were very pleased. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Our room had 2 double beds and a single so there was plenty of space to spread out.

Room Tip: We werre assigned a room on the first floor of rooms, one up from the lobby. There is an elevator t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touringfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Touringfolks,
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. Railtours offer excellent trips, backed up by first-class Customer service and we are delighted to be their main partner hotel in Killarney.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
998 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £82 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing