We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend destination...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My husband and I spent Valentines weekend (also our Anniversary!) at the International Hotel in Killarney after seeing their 2 night offer on their website and It was just a fabulous weekend from start to finish.
We arrived on Friday night, quite late but the young lady on Reception made sure we got a table for dinner as we did not really want to head out again. We stayed on in Hannigans bar where there was great live music, a brillant atmosphere. the following morning, we had breakfast in our bedroom. We had upgraded to an Superior room with Jacuzzi bath, these rooms had just newly renovated and we were the first guests to stay in them apparently! We had dinner in the hotel again that night, part of our Valentines package with champagne included again fabulous.
We checked out the following morning after being given Disount Vouchers from the very friendly receptionist towards our next stay. And we'll definitely be back to use them!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,032 - 2,038 of 2,158 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

We spent 3 nights recently at the International Hotel in Killarney and I cannot praise the hotel, in particular the staff highly enough. We were in Killarney for the Dancing Championships and my daughter's costumes got missing in transit. The hotel pulled out all the stops to make sure we got them back in time for her to compete. While this was undoubtedly the most important thing, every area of the hotel was first class from the welcome on arrival to the delicious Irish breakfast each morning to the high standard of accommodation. I am hoping to return in the summer with my husband and our 2 other kids as he is keen see what I have been raving about since I returned home!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Just returned from a lovely midweek stay at the International hotel with my husband, we booked through Supervalu breaks and were offered the chance to upgrade when we arrived for an extra €10 per night, so we decided to upgrade. Well the room was only gorgeous it had a big bed and a whirlpool bath in the bathroom, it was a bit of a walk from reception but worth it.

Our package included breakfast each morning and one dinner, the food was lovely, I'll be walking the roads to burn it off. All the staff were so kind and accomadating especially in the bar, Dave and Danny, and at reception, Claire, Diane and Anne Marie (I hope I got the names right!)

The only downside was the lack of parking but this seems to be a problem for every hotel in Killarney, so we'll probably take the train next time its just up the street, saying that it only cost us €9 for the parking for the few days we were there.

Hoping to be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneofCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Stayed for one night (thank God!); group of 14 as part of a friends hen night celebrations. We were not rowdy or raucous, we were very respectful of the other guests staying at the hotel. Rooms were small, old and dated, receptionist aka manager(! imagine our surprise!) on duty was Diane-the most unfriendly, unwelcoming, dour faced woman I have ever encountered within the hospitality industry, none of that true Irish welcome they are renowned for. 5 of the group checked out that night and went across the street to the Plaza where the rooms were cheaper, very spacious, modern and most importantly- they were welcoming! Nobody received a receipt at time of payment, then tried to catch us for 50 euro extra when we were checking out after everyone had paid in full. We requested that Diane look back at the video footage to prove that we had all paid in full and eventually the 50 euro was voided. The restaurant could not facilitate us in the evening for a meal as they were fully booked even though at the time of booking we were informed that there would be no bother, that we didnt need to book in for a meal. So we were left with no table booking on a Sat night in Killarney for a group of 14. Disgraceful and very dissappointing treatment from the Best western international hotel as this is a hotel that has won awards in the past.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killarneyinter, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2010

Thank you for your review of The International Hotel.
It is disappointing that your experience of our service was not up to our usual high standards. Our staff training places great emphasis on being courteous, sincere and helpful towards guests at all times and I apologise that this was not your own experience at our hotel. I am not here to defend poor service, however Diane has been with us for six years and has always enjoyed a positive rapport with our guests and excellent feedback.

From my understanding of events, the problem arose when the group arrived and requested triple rooms rather than the twin rooms originally booked. As we were almost fully booked, it was not possible to accommodate all of the group members in triple rooms. The triple rooms accommodate three adults and accordingly the rate per person for those rooms was slightly cheaper. A number of group members who were not happy to pay the agreed twin bedded rate decided to leave. No cancellation fee was charged.

It is surprising that you were not advised to book dinner in advance as our restaurant is always busy at weekends and it is our policy to take advance bookings where possible. However, I was happy to hear that a member of our team did organise a table at a nearby restaurant for your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Stayed in the International Hotel just after the New Year with my wife and child (aged 4). We got a great deal for an upgraded Room with Bed and Breakfast included. Our room was gorgeous and my wife was highly impressed with the Jacuzzi bath!! When checking in at Reception, we were informed of the different parking options available. I decided to get a weekly ticket for just €8, the car-park is a little further away than some but once i had parked the car- i didnt have to worry about it for the remainder of the stay. The Ice skating rink was just a minutes walk from the hotel and everything we needed was close-by. Every member of staff we encountered during our stay was very friendly and helpful. We are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Nice hotel and a good location. Bed wasn't too comfy but ok. Stayed the night and booked at the last minute. Fun city-great place to buy those gifts and souvneiers but also some nice wool items. Definitely check out the nearby waterfall, nd the sites. O'Connors pub had local entertaining musicians at night that encourage the crowd to play along! Ireland is beautiful--see as much as you can and enjoy!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank takemeaway1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This is my sixth trip to Killarney and the International Hotel - I honestly would not stay anywhere else. The International Hotel is my favorite hotel in Ireland and its because the staff are so incredibly friendly. They truly welcome you as a valued guest and treat you with concern not found in many hotels.

The hotel itself is fantastic - a beautiful old building updated to modern standards. Every room is a little different but all are spotlessly clean. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station, the town, and the national park. From the moment that you walk through the doors you feel as if you are home. My visit to killarney and the International hotel helps me find the best of the "old Ireland" that is quickly fading away.

There is a great pub (Hannigans) and restaraunt on site, and many beautiful public rooms. The hotel is about a block from the train and public parking lot (non onsite). You can walk to Ross Castle in about 30-40 minutes - a great walk. Dero's tours is just around the corner for the ring of Kerry tour. Again - its just the staff that are so great you just hate to leave the hotel.

If you go to Killarney there are many many hotels, but I truly believe this is the best for the price ranges.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelweeklyforwork2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
928 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £84 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing