We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Great place to stay - very central and nice fresh decor. We took an upgrade and got a lovely room with jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your positive feedback and comments.
Our Executive rooms are very comfortable and worth paying a little extra for.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Killarney and the International Hotel.
Kind regards
Terence Mulcahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    420
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
491
896
88
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week-end in this hotel and boy were we pleased.The staff could not do enough for us such hospitality.We arrived from Tipperary on a Saturday and stayed until Monday we wished we could have stayed longer but had to get back to work.The food in the hotel Hannigans bar was so good we ate there every day.All the staff were so pleasant you would think you knew them all your life.We will definitely be back.We had some great games of snooker in the hotel,Everything about this hotel is to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank failte52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear Failte 52,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your positive feedback is much appreciated. We are very fortunate to have such a professional team who really enjoy their work.
Our food offering is very popular with both locals and visitors and it is an area we pay particular attention to.
I will pass on your comments to all department Heads and we look forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Terence Mulcahy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

great rooms!! stayed here recently. really enjoeyed my stay here as I was not planning on staying in Killarney. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alihen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at the International Hotel in Killarney the night of February 16th (Booking.com # 278804760). Based on the location and the reviews we were highly optimistic that this would be a lovely hotel.

When we got to the hotel we were promptly checked in. We were given a room on the first floor. We were offered no assistance with our bags. When we got to the hallway on the first floor, there was a set of stairs down and then another set of stairs up before we reached our room. A bit arduous to navigate with two heavy bags. And a little unexpected.

A few observation about the room -- it was quite run down. It certainly did not meet any of the expectations of a three star hotel. The furniture was old and tired. There was no remote control for the television and the television did not work manually. I seem to recall that the room safe did not work. The room was small and really had no charm what-so-ever.

What made the biggest impression is that when we got in to the room it was FREEZING. The windows had been left open and there was not heat on. We tried to turn on the heater (which was quite aged and antiquated) and nothing happened. We called the front desk to report that there was not heat and they said someone would be right up to check on it. We waited in the room for 20 minutes in our hats and gloves and nobody came. Wanting to explore Killarney, we made our way back down to the front desk and once again reported the problem. They seemed unaware that we had even called down. They then explained that the heat did not turn on in any of the rooms until later in the night.

While at the desk we also checked to see about breakfast. At the original check-in the lady who checked us in mentioned that breakfast was included. However our confirmation from Booking.com clearly indicated that it was not. We asked again and we were informed that the breakfast was indeed INCLUDED in our stay. We were quite happy with this.

After dinner and drinking in Killarney we headed back to the hotel and our room. The hear must have just kicked in as it was still quite cold in the room even with the windows now shut. This seemed odd as it was nearly 10:00 PM. However the room did warm up. But as with all old heaters, it made a rather annoying sound that we had to live with all night.

The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel. The continental breakfast was quite sparse though the full breakfast had some traditional choices. After breakfast we went back to our room packed our things and met our guide downstairs for checkout. At checkout we were informed that 17 Euros were due for breakfast -- the breakfast that was supposedly included. We were pressed for time so rather then arguing the point we paid the bill and left.

Overall I found our stay at the International to quite disappointing especially given all the positive commentary on TripAdvisor. I'd certainly love to see a refund of the breakfast if not the entire booking. It seems like perhaps we simply got a bad room -- I can imagine this indicative of the day-to-day operations of this hotel.

Should we find ourselves in Killarney again we'll most likely seek alternative accommodations. If the hotel does anything to rectify the situation we'll be sure to post that information as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebo617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear rebo617,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very disappointed that your experience did not meet the high standards we have set for ourselves and our guests.

As you may have observed during your stay, we are in the final stage of refurbishing all of our bedrooms which has been ongoing over the past three years, and unfortunately the room you were in is in the final batch of rooms to be refurbished, which will be finished by late March 2011.

I apologise for the misunderstanding regarding breakfast and I will pass on your comments to the relevant Head of Department.

Our breakfast buffet is always complimented as we offer a very substantial selection of fruit, yoghurts, freshly baked breads, juices, cheeses, cereals and oatmeal, in addition to a selection of fish and eggs and a freshly cooked-to-order Irish Breakfast.

Again we thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts as customer feedback is very important to us.

Kind regards,
Terence Mulcahy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay for my husbands birthday. We had an absolutely great time. Checked in before 2pm and allocated a room immediately. The room was lovely, not a great view but was raining heavily so we weren't missing much. Very comfortable bed, loved the power shower.
Unfortunately we hadn't thought ahead and made a booking in the restaurant but the very friendly and polite restaurant supervisor asked us to have a drink at the bar and we would have a table in approx 20 mins, 15 mins later we were sitting down to a lovely dinner.
Breakfast was lovely, very impressive, excellant coffee. Staff were very friendly and really took care of us.
Would def recommend this hotel.
Only negative was the lack of a hotel car park but we used the public car park 5 mins away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshmallowhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Got the executive suite for valentines born special "jacuzzi" was just a bath and when we entered the room the window had been left open n the room was wet. We were moved to a smaller room. As it was raining we decided to eat inthe restaurant. I looked through the "valentines" menu and it was similar to the la carte. That was until it came to paying. They decided to add around €15 to €20 to the price of a three course. €40 for 3 courses is a bit Irish. Food was mediocre at best. Breakfast wasnt great and the executive suite is not worth the hefty price tag.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenceMulcahy, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear petma1,
I am disappointed and surprised to read your review of your stay with us on Feb 12th.

Firstly, let me apologise for the window being left open as it was a particularly wet evening and some rain did get in. You were immediately allocated an identical room, both 25 sq metres in size.

All our Executive rooms have Jacuzzi baths as explained on our website. I apologise if there was a misunderstanding regarding the actual size. The Executive room itself is fitted out to the highest standard with handmade Italian furniture, Flatscreen TV, Geothermal heating, Air Conditioning, King size bed, personal LED reading light, Safe, Ironing Centre, Hospitality Tray, Hairdryer and 110 volt socket for our American Visitors. Bathrooms contain Jacuzzi bath, Power shower, Heated Towel rails, De-mister mirrors and International Hotel toiletries.

With regard to your dining experience in Hannigans Restaurant, your stay with us was booked on a B+B basis only, so you were free to choose from either our A La Carte menu which is extremely competitively priced with main courses from €14.95, or the Valentines menu you mention. Our set Valentines Dinner Menu with multiple choices included a glass of Champagne & chocolates and was priced clearly at €39. It proved very popular with guests over the weekend.

I am disappointed that you referred to us as ‘Rip Off’ as one of our goals is to constantly give excellent service and value for money as we are well aware of how difficult it is to get away in the present climate. This is borne out by the majority of reviews we receive and our return guests which account for 60% of our business.

Obviously this was not your experience and therefore, I would very much like if you could contact me personally and discuss your stay in more detail as Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

Kind regards
Terence Mulcahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

i stayed in the hotel with my family and my elderly mother, their were three teenagers and two younger childern..Every member of staff was so helpful. The service on new years was excellent from the lovely food which everyone loved, to the table that the a member of staff reserved for us to enjoy the new years eve celebration ( thank you) When we go to killarney again this is the only hotel we will be staying in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,147 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing